Kingdom of Tayan / Prov. Kalimantan Barat

The kingdom of Tayan: 1450 – 1960. Located in the District of Sanggau, West Kalimantan.
Title of the king: Panembahan Pakunegara.

District of Sanggau

Foto kingdom of Tayan

* Foto kingdom of Tayan: link
* Foto palace Paku Negara: link
* Video installation king of Tayan, Gusti Yusri: link

Line of kingdoms on Kalimantan: link

Foto kingdoms on Kalimantan

* Foto sultans and kings, still on Kalimantan: link
Foto sultans and kings in the past: link
Foto of palaces on Kalimantan: link

* Foto of Kalimantan in the past: link
Foto war of the netherlands in Kalimantan, 19th century: link

Video history kingdoms on Kalimantan

– Video history kingdoms on Kalimantan, 45.000 BC – 2017: link
Video history kingdoms on West Kalimantan, 45.000 BC – today: link
– Video history kingdoms on Central / South Kalimantan, 1AD – 2020: link
– Video history kingdoms on East / North Kalimantan, 1AD – 2020: link
– Video history of the sultanate of Banjar: link


Revival of the kingdom, 2012

26 May 2012: the coronation of after a vacuum since 1967, when King the 13th died. The vacuum of the Kingdom was a result of Japanese atrocities.

King of Tayan the-14, Gusti Yusri

History of the kingdom of Tayan, 1450 – 1960

The kingdom of Tayan was a kingdom, that was founded early 15th century or around the year 1450. The founder of the kingdom Tayan was the son of Brawijaya from the Majapahit kingdom, named Gusti Likar / Lekar. Together with his brothers, Gusti Likar left the kingdom of Tanjungpura, because there was often war.
The government of the kingdom of Tayan was then held by Gusti Pangeran Ramal with the title Pangeran Marta Jaya Yuda Kesuma, the son of Pangeran Mancar founded the kingdom of Meliau. Originally the capital was located in Teluk Kemilun.
After Prince Marta Jaya Kusuma Yuda‘s death, the oldest son, Suma Judah, ascended the throne with the title of the Panembahan Paku Negara.
After Japan’s defeat in World War II, Gusti Ismail was crowned as Panembahan Tayan with the title Panembahan Paku Negara. In 1960, he still ruled and the semi-independent government ended. Gusti Ismail later was Wedana in Tayan. The capital was moved to Sanggau, while the former kingdom of Tayan became the capital of the district Tayan. 

Kingdoms on West Kalimantan

List of kings

* 1780-1809: Suma Juda
* 1809-1825; regen: 1809-1822: Natu Kusuma
* 1823-1945: Protektorat belanda
* 1825-1828: Ratu Kusuma Surjanegara
* 1828-1854: Marta Surjakusuma (panembahan)
* 1854-1873: Anom Pakunegara Surjakusuma

* 1873-1880: Ratu Kusumanegara
* 1880-1905: Pakunegara Surjakusuma
* 1905-1929: Anom Pakunegara
* 1929-1944: Anom Adinegara (Gusti Dżapar)
* 1945-1960: Pakunegara (Gusti Ismail)

* On 26 Mei 2012 installation king the-XIV, Gusti Yusri, after a vacuum since 1967 when king the-XIII died.

Palace of the kingdom: Istana Paku Negara

Tayan Royal Palace was built by Gusti Jamal. Until now this historic building is still in its original condition and maintained fairly well. Some historic objects contained in it.

* Foto palace Paku Negara: link

Kingdoms on West Kalimantan Barat, 1800

Kerajaan-kerajaan di Kalimantan Barat, tahun 1800.

Kingdoms on West Kalimantan 19th and beginning 20th century

Kerajaan di Kalimantan barat, abad ke-19 dan awal abad ke-20

Source (english)


Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan Tayan di Wiki: link
– Sejarah kerajaan Tayan:
Sejarah kerajaan Tayan:
Sejarah kerajaan Tayan:
Sejarah kerajaan Tayan: link

Keraton Pakunegara:
– Keraton Pakunegara:

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: