Sultanate of Buton / Prov. Sulawesi Tenggara – kab. Buton

The Sultanate of Buton was founded in 1332. It is located on the island of Buton, District of Buton, prov. South-east Sulawesi.
The sultanate of Buton in ancient times had its own kingdom called the kingdom of Buton and later turned into a sultanate known as the Sultanate of Buton.

District of Buton

Foto sultanate of Buton: link
Video: installation Sultan Buton (2012): link 

Line of kingdoms on Sulawesi: link

Foto kingdoms on Sulawesi

* Foto kings on Sulawesi today: link
* Foto kings on Sulawesi in the past: link
* Foto old sites on Sulawesi: link

Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi

– Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi, 40.000 BC – 2018: link
– Video history kingdoms on South Sulawesi, 1AD – 2020: link
– Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi Tenggara, 50.000 BC – 2020: link
– Video history kingdoms on North Sulawesi, 4000 BC – today: link


Revival of the sultanate 2012

13 dec. 2012
After 52 years vacuum of the throne, a new Sultan was installed on 13-12-2012: dr La Ode Izzat Manarfa, Sultan Buton the 40th.

La Ode Izzat Manarfa, Sultan Buton the 40th, installed 13 dec. 2012


Video Installation sultan Buton, 2012

History of the sultanate of Buton, 14th century

Google translation

Before the kingdom of Buton there was the kingdom of Wolio.
The forerunner of the kingdom of Buton to become a Kingdom was first pioneered by the group Mia Patamiana (the four people) namely Sipanjonga, Simalui, Sitamanajo, Sijawangkati, who by their oral source originated from the Malay Peninsula Peninsula at the end of the 13th century.
The kingdom of Buton was founded in 1332. The beginning of the reign was led by a queen titled Queen Wa Kaa Kaa. Then the second king was also a queen namely Queen Bulawambona. After two queens, there were King Bataraguru, King Tuarade, King Rajamulae, and lastly King Murhum. When Buton embraced Islam, the Murhum King was titled Sultan Murhum.
The kingdom of Buton officially became an Islamic kingdom during the reign of King Buton to-6, namely Timbang Timbangan or Lakilaponto or Halu Oleo.

The Sultanate of Buton had relatively good relations with the VOC. In 1612, the VOC sent its envoy to the Buton region, and in 1613 an agreement was made between the VOC and Buton.

The relationship between the two began to break in 1637, until there was a war that lasted a year. The war caused many casualties on both sides. However, until the war ended, the VOC failed to overthrow and seize the fort of the Buton Sultanate.
War occurred again in 1752, 1755 and 1776, because the VOC committed fraud in the spice trade in the Buton region which was very costly. Under the leadership of Sultan La Karambau, Buton managed to overcome the Dutch.

However, internal conflicts emerged within the kingdom which weakened the power of the Buton Sultanate. Various threats continued to surround Buton until finally Indonesia became independent in 1945.

Map of the sultanate of Buton (year ?)

List of kings and sultans

Mid 14th century:                  I Wa Kaa Kaa
Second half 14th century:     Bulawambona
Early 15th century:                Bataraguru
Second half 15th century:     Tua Rade
Early 16th century:                 Mulae
1491-1537:                            La Kilaponto

The Kingdom of Buton became a sultanate since the reign of the 6th king, namely La Kilaponto or King Murhum (1491-1537).

1) 1491-1537: Sultan Murhum
2) 1545-1552: Sultan La Tumparasi
3) 1566-1570: Sultan La Sangaji
4) 1578-1615: Sultan La Elangi
5) 1617-1619: Sultan La Balawo
6) 1632-1645: Sultan La Buke
7) 1645-1646: Sultan La Saparagau
8) 1647-1654: Sultan La Cila
9) 1654-1664: Sultan La Awu
10) 1664-1669: Sultan La Simbata

11) 1669-1680: Sultan La Tangkaraja
12)1680-1689: Sultan La Tumpamana
13) 1689-1697: Sultan La Umati
14) 1697-1702: Sultan La Dini
15) 1702: Sultan La Rabaenga
16) 1702-1709: Sultan La Sadaha
17) 1709-1711: Sultan La Ibi
18) 1711-1712: Sultan La Tumparasi
19) 1712-1750: Sultan Langkariri
20) 1750-1752: Sultan La Karambau

21) 1752-1759: Sultan Hamim
22) 1759-1760: Sultan La Seha
23) 1760-1763: Sultan La Karambau
24) 1763-1788: Sultan La Jampi
25) 1788-1791: Sultan La Masalalamu
26) 1791-1799: Sultan La Kopuru
27) 1799-1823: Sultan La Badaru
28) 1823-1824: Sultan La Dani
29) 1824-1851: Sultan Muh. Idrus
30) 1851-1861: Sultan Muh. Isa

31) 1871-1886: Sultan Muh. Salihi
32) 1886-1906: Sultan Muh. Umar
33) 1906-1911: Sultan Muh. Asikin
34) 1914: Sultan Muh. Husain
35) 1918-1921: Sultan Muh. Ali
36) 1922-1924: Sultan Muh. Saifu
37) 1928-1937: Sultan Muh. Hamidi
38) 1937-1960: Sultan Muh. Falihi
39) mei 2012-19 july 2013: La Ode Muhammad Jafar
40) 13 des. 2013 – ……. La Ode Muhammad Izat Manarfa.

– Sumber: Wiki

Installation of the sultan of Buton, 2012

Palace: Kamali, or Malige

Located in the Wajo area not far from the city center of Bau-Bau, there is a magnificent and sturdy building, namely the Malige Palace. This place is home to the 37th Sultan of Buton, namely Sultan Muhammad Hamidi Kaimuddin who was in power since 1927-1937.
The palace, which was built in 1929, has 3 floors, almost entirely made of teak wood. On closer inspection, it seems that the Malige Palace consists of parts of the head, body and feet which are full of the philosophy of the Butonese.

Now 81 years since the Malige Palace was built, the building still looks solid as if it retains its charisma as the former residence of the Sultan. The palace, whose name is taken from the title of the sultan who built it, namely Oputa Yi Malige, is now used as a storage area for historical objects of the Buton Sultanate, especially during the reign of Sultan Muhammad Hamidi Kaimuddin.

– About the palace: link

Source (english)

– History of Buton: link
About the palace: link

Sultan Buton ke-38, La Ode Falihi Qaimuddin Khalifatul Khamis, (1938-1960).


Sultan of Buton


Sultan Buton La Ode Muhammad Falihi Khalifatul Khamis during a meeting of kings / sultans from the Bugis People, 1930.

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: