The sultanate of Palembang / Prov. Sumatera Selatan

The Sultanate of Palembang: 1659 – 1823. Located in the region of Palembang City. Prov. of South Sumatera.
Before the sultanate of Palembang, there was the kingdom of Palembang (15th century – 1659).

Location city of Palembang

Province of South Sumatera

* Foto kingdom and sultanate of Palembang: link
* Foto palace (Museum) Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II: link
* Foto Fortress Kuto Besar: link

* Foto Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin III: link
Foto Sultan Iskandar Mahmud Badaruddin III: link

About the sultan (2018)

Today there are 2 rival Sultans of Palembang:

1) Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin III

He is a descendent of the last sultan from the 19th century: Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II. He was installed in march 2003.
7  sept. 2017 this sultan, Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin III Prabu Diraja, died.

2) Sultan Iskandar Mahmud Badaruddin III

He is a descendent of 3 sultan, who once ruled in Palembang. He was installed: november 2006.

Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin III.

Sultan Iskandar Mahmud Badaruddin III










History of the sultanate of Palembang

Before the sultanate of Palembang there was the Kingdom of Palembang (15th century – 1659).

The Sultanate of Palembang Darussalam is a princely state of Indonesia whose capital was the city of Palembang in the southern part of the Indonesian island of Sumatra. It was proclaimed in 1675 by Sultan Abdurrahman (1659-1706) and dissolved by the colonial government of the Dutch Indies on October 7, 1823. In 1825, its last ruler, Sultan Ahmad Najamuddin, was arrested and sent into exile on the island of Banda Neira in the Moluccas.

In the beginning of the 17th-century, Palembang became one of the centers of Islam in Indonesia. The sultanate was founded by Ki Gede ing Suro, a nobleman from Demak Sultanate, who took refuge during the troubles following the death of Sultan Trenggana. On the north bank of the Musi River, he establish a kraton, the Kuto Gawang. The Kuto Gawang is located in present 2-Ilir Administrative Village.

In 1659, the Dutch of the Dutch East India Company took Kuto Gawang and destroyed it. The Susuhunan (king) Abdurrahman moves his court to Beringin Janggut.
During the reign of Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin I, the 50 hectares Kuto Tengkuruk became the main center of the Palembang Sultanate.

During the reign of Sultan Muhamad Bahaudin (1776-1803), the Kraton Kuto Besak was built. Kuto Besak still exists today. It is the largest kraton the Palembang Sultanate ever built.
Following The Palembang War of 1821 and the dissolution of the Sultanate institution on 7 October 1823, the Kuto Tengkuruk was razed to the ground. On top of the destroyed Kuto Tengkuruk, under the order of van Sevenhoven, a new building was constructed and was established as the residence of the Regeering Commissaris. The building is now Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II Museum.

In 2003, the Palembang Custom Community Council inducted Raden Muhammad Syafei Prabu Diraja as Sultan of Palembang Darussalam with the title of Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin III. The coronation took place in Lawang Kidul Mosque, near the tomb of Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin I (reigned 1724-1756).

List of Kings

* 1659-1706: Sultan Abdurrahman Kholifatul Mukminin Sayidul Iman
* 1706-1714: Sultan Muhammad Mansyur Jayo Ing Lago
* 1714-1724: Sultan Agung Komaruddin Sri Truno
* Sultan Anom Alimudin (he was sultan but did not rule)
* 1724-1758: Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin Jayo Wikramo (Sultan Badaruddin I)
* 1758-1776: Sultan Ahmad Najamuddin I
* 1776-1804: Sultan Muhammad Bahauddin I
* 1804-1821: Paduka Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin Khalifatul Mukminin Sayidul Iman (Sultan Badaruddin II)
* 1813-1817: Sultan Ahmad Najamuddin II Husin Diauddin
* 1819-1821: Sultan Ahmad Najamuddin III Pangeran Ratu
* 1821-1823: Sultan Ahmad Najamuddin IV Prabu Anom
* 2003-today (= 2017): Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin Prabudiradja (Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin III)
* 2006-today (= 2017): Sultan Iskandar Mahmud Badaruddin.


There are 2 palaces.

1) Palace Kuto Lamo

Today: Museum Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II
This museum was once the Fortress Kuto Lama where Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin Jayo Badaruddin Wikramo and Sultan Mahmud I (1724-1758) made it a royal palace. In 1821, this palace was attacked by the dutch and on October 17, 1823 it was destroyed by order of the Commissioner Netherlands. It was rebuild in 1825 and became a office for the dutch.

* Foto palace (Museum) Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin II: link

Istano Kuto Lamo - Kesultanan Palembang Darussalam


2) Fortress Kuto Besak

Historically, Kuto Besak was built in two different periods of government, namely the reign of Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin I in 1724 to 1758 and the reign of Sultan Mahmud Bahauddin in 1776 to 1803. Actually, Kuto Besak itself is a palace that in the century the 18th became the center of Palembang Sultanate. The value of history owned by Kuto Besak was very high.

* Foto Benteng Kuto Besar: link

1 p


– History of the sultanate: link
List of kings: link
Website Sultan Iskandar Mahmud Badaruddin III: link
Website Sultan Mahmud Badaruddin III: link