Sultanate of Jambi / Sumatera, Prov. Jambi

Sultanate of Jambi, ca. 1600 – 1903. Located on Sumatera, in the province of Jambi.

Province of Jambi

* Foto sultanate of Jambi: link
* Foto ancient sites, Peoples of Sumatera Sumatera and old Sumatera: link

About the King (2018)

Sultan: Sultan Abdurrachman Thaha Safiuddin
The Sultan was installed in march 2012.

Revival of the sultanate, 2012

18 March 2012: The coronation of the new Sultan of Jambi was held in Hotel Novita in Jambi. The name of  the sultan: Raden Abdurrachman Bin Raden Djak’far Kertopati with the title: Pangeran Mudo.

From 1904 – 2012 there was a vacuum of the throne.

History sultanate of Jambi, 1600 – 1903

At the end of the 14th century Jambi was a vasal state of the kingdom of Majapahit and Javanese influences continued to color the Jambi sultanate during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.

The establishment of the Jambi Sultanate coincided with the rise of Islam in the region. In 1616 Jambi was the second richest port in Sumatra after Aceh, and in 1670 the kingdom was comparable to its neighbors such as Johor and Palembang. But the glory of Jambi did not last long. In the 1680s Jambi lost its position as a major pepper port, after the war with Johor and internal conflicts.
In 1903 Prince Ratu Martaningrat, descendent of Sultan Thaha, the last sultan, surrendered the Dutch. Jambi was combined with Palembang residency. Sultan Taha Jambi Syaifuddin was killed by Dutch soldiers in 1904.
In 1906 the Jambi Sultanate was officially dissolved by the Dutch Hinndia government.

Map of the city of Jambi, 1886


Location of the sultanate of Jambi, and some other sultanates

Structure of the government of the sultanate

According to R. Sahabuddin (1954) in the book History of the National Awakening of Jambi (1978/1979), the government of the Sultanate of Jambi was led by a sultan, who was assisted by the pangeran ratu (crown prince), who headed the Rapat Dua Belas. The Rapat Dua Belas consist of two parts:
1. Kerapatan Patih Dalam (internal affaires)
2. Kerapatan Patih Luar (Foreign Ministerial Council)
Each Kerapatan consists of 6 people, 1 chairman and 5 members.

Patih Dalam is headed by the Crown Prince, who holds the title of Pangeran Ratu with members, who are given the title:
1. Pangeran Duke
2. Pangeran Suryo Notokusumo
3. Pangeran Jayadiningrat
4. Pangeran Aryo Jayakusumo
5. Pangeran Notomenggolo or Prince Werokusumo.

Kerapatan Patih Dalam is the Royal Council (Rijksraad), which serves as the legislative body (DPR) in the present.

List of Kings

* 1790 – 1812: Mas’ud Badruddin bin Ahmad Sultan Ratu Seri Ingalaga
* 1812 – 1833: Mahmud Muhieddin bin Ahmad Sultan Seri Ingalaga
* 1833 – 1841: Muhammad Fakhruddin bin Mahmud Sultan Keramat
* 1841 – 1855: Abdul Rahman Nazaruddin bin Mahmud
* 1855 – 1858: Thaha Safiuddin bin Muhammad (1st time)

* 1858 – 1881: Ahmad Nazaruddin bin Mahmud
* 1881 – 1885: Muhammad Muhieddin bin Abdul Rahman
* 1885 – 1899: Ahmad Zainul Abidin bin Muhammad
* 1900 – 1904: Thaha Safiuddin bin Muhammad (2nd time)
* 1904: Dihancurkan Belanda / Abolished by the Dutch
* 2012: Abdurrachman Thah Safiuddin (installation 18 march 2012)

– Sumber / Source: Wiki

Malayan kingdoms

The period of the establishment of the Malay Kingdom on the island of Sumatra is almost the same as the Sriwijaya Kingdom. The location of the two kingdoms is relatively not far away. In general, this kingdom is divided into two periods, namely the Old Malayu Kingdom in the 7th century centered in Minanga Tamwa, and the Malayu Muda Kingdom in the 13th century centered on Dharmasraya.
The Old Malayu Kingdom or Old Malayu is often referred to as the Malay Kingdom of Jambi. The capital is in Minanga Tamwa or now around Muara Tebo (or Tebo District in Jambi Province, while the Malay Muda Kingdom is often called the Dharmasraya Kingdom, with the capital Dharmasraya.

Kingdom of Dharmasraya, Melayu Muda:

Kingdom of Melayu Jambi, Melayu Tua:

Old maps of Sumatera

For old maps of Sumatera (1565, 1588, 1598, 1601, 1616, 1620, 1707, 1725, 1760), klik here

Sumatera,  1707

Source (english)

– History on Wiki: Wiki
History on Melayuonline: link
History: link
List of kings: link

Source (indon. language)

– Sejarah kesultanan Jambi di Wiki: link
Sejarah kesultanan Jambi di Melayuonline: link
– Bangkitnya kesultanan Jambi:
– Sejarah kesultanan Islam Jambi:
– Sekitar tahun 600: Kerajaan Melayu Jambi Dharmasraya:
Daftar Raja:
Dinobatkan Sultan  baru 2012: