Kingdom of Sungai Serut / Sumatera, Prov. Bengkulu

The kingdom of Sungai Serut was locted on Sumatera, Provinsi Bengkulu. 16th Century.

Prov. of Bengkulu

Line history kingdoms on Sumatera: link

Foto kingdoms / sultanates on Sumatera

* Foto sultans and kings today on Sumatera: link
* Foto sultans and kings in the past on Sumatera: link

Video history of the kingdoms / sultanates on Sumatera

* Video history kingdoms on Sumatera, 75.000 BC – today: link
* Video history kingdoms on North Sumatera, 0 AD – today: link
Video history kingdoms on West Sumatera, 0 AD – today, link


History of the kingdom of Sungai Serut, 16th century

In ancient times, in the area of Bengkulu, was established a kingdom called the Kingdom of Sungai Serut. Ratu Agung, a prince from Banten.
Ratu Agung ruled the Kingdom of Sungai Serut with wise wisdom. He was highly respected by his people. He also ruled over the people of Rejang Sawah / Sabah (Rejang Tribe from Lebong in Bukit Barisan highlands spread to the coast). Its people are tall, well-built, and bigger than most people.

Ratu Agung had six sons and a daughter. The six sons of Ratu Agung were Kelamba Api/Raden Cili, Manuk Mincur, Lemang Batu, Tajuk Rompong, Rindang Papan, Anak Dalam,, and the youngest was a princess named Putri Gading Cempaka.
The testament to the throne of the Serut Kingdom was accepted by Anak Dalam.
Then there was a problem, because the daughter of Gading Cempaka wanted to marry a crown prince from the Kingdom of Aceh named Prince Raja Muda Aceh.
After the problem the son of Ratu Agung, Anak Dalam, finally withdrew with his six siblings to Gunung Bungkuk.
Prince Raja Muda Aceh with his surviving troops went back to the Tanah Rencong without bringing any results.

History of the kingdoms in the Bengkulu area

Google translation

The region of Bengkulu was subject to the Buddhist Srivijaya empire in the 8th century. The Shailendra Kingdom and Singosari Kingdom succeeded the Srivijaya kingdom, but it is unclear whether they spread their influence over Bengkulu. The Majapahit also had little influence over Bengkulu. There were only few smalls ‘kedatuan’ based on ethnicity such as in

In the region of Bengkulu once were ethnic-based kingdoms such as: kingdom of Sungai Serut,
kingdom of Selebar,
kingdom of Pat Petulai,
kingdom of Balai Buntar,
kingdom of Sungai Lemau,
kingdom of Sekiris,
kingdom of Gedung Agung,
kingdom of Marau Riang.

They were under the sultanate of Banten, as vazals.
Some areas of Bengkulu, also were under the authority of the Kingdom of Inderapura since the 17th century.
Some areas of Bengkulu, also were under the authority of the Kingdom of Inderapura since the 17th century.

The first European visitors to the area were the Portuguese, followed by the Dutch in 1596. The English East India Company established a pepper-trading center and garrison at Bengkulu (Bencoolen) in 1685. In 1714 the British built Fort Marlborough, which still stands.

In 1785, the area was integrated into British Empire as Bencoolen, while the rest of Sumatra and most of the Indonesian archipelago was part of the Dutch East Indies. Despite the difficulties of keeping control of the area while Dutch colonial power dominated the rest of Sumatra, the British persisted, maintaining their presence for roughly 140 years before ceding Bengkulu to the Dutch as part of the Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1824 in exchange for Malacca. Bengkulu then remained part of the Dutch East Indies.
– Source:

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan di Bengkulu:
– Sejarah kerajaan Sungai Serut dan kerajaan Sungai Lemau:
– Tentang Ratu Agung:

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: