Kingdom of Kapunduk / Isl. of Sumba – Prov. Nusa Tenggara Timur

The kingdom of Kapunduk, 1946 united with the kingdom of Kanatang.
Located on the island of pulau Sumba, Kab. Sumba Timur, Prov. Nusa Tenggara Timur.

Location of the island of Sumba

* Foto kingdoms on Sumba: link
* Foto megalitik sites on Sumba: link

List of kings

c.1869 Kapunduk founded.

* c.1869 – 1901: Umbu Panda Huki Landu Jama (b. c.1834 – d. 1901)
* 1901 – 1904: Umbu Tunggu Namu Praing
* 1904 – 1916: Regency?
* 1906 – 1914: Umbu Deu Jara Belu
* 1914 – 1926: Umbu Nai Taku
* 1926 – 9 Sep 1946: Umbu Nai Haru

1946: United with Kanatang.


Map of Sumba, 1925

The kingdoms on Sumba

Google translation

The people of Sumba generally have no kingdom in their traditional system of government. There are only villages led by a head of each village, customary rules that apply in each village. However, during Dutch colonial rule, to facilitate control, the Dutch began to establish relationships with village heads. They entered into a contract of cooperation, in which each traditional ruler who signed the contract (often called the Short Placard Contract or Korte Verklaring) was officially recognized and called the king and given stick as a sign of power. From here tokko (stick) became popular. There are two types of rods of gold-headed stick (tokko ndoko) given to the main king, and silver-headed stick (tokkoamaho kaka) for auxiliary king.

The king, who had the approval of the Dutch government had to recognize the sovereignty of the Dutch authorities and one of his important duties was to tax the Dutch interests. Thus their sovereignty has actually been under the control of other nations, but de facto the kings remain sovereign and highly respected by their people and through them the Dutch powers the entire community. At first there were the heads of the villages, who did not bow to and against the Dutch government, but because of the strong military strength they finally surrendered and submitted to the power of the Dutch.
– Source:

The kingdoms on Sumba are:

Kodi Bangedo: kingdom on south west Sumba
Kodi Bokol: kingdom on south west Sumba
Kodi: kingdom on south west Sumba
Laura: kingdom on south west Sumba
Waijewa: kingdom on south west Sumba
Lauli: kingdom on west Sumba
Wanokaka: kingdom on west Sumba
Gaura: kingdom on west Sumba
Laboya: kingdom on west Sumba
Anakalang, kingdom on central Sumba
Umbu Ratu Nggay: kingdom on central Sumba
Tapundung: kingdom on central Sumba
Mamboru: kingdom on central Sumba
Lawonda: kingdom on central Sumba
Lakoka: kingdom on central Sumba
Rende, Rendi: kingdom on east Sumba
Napu: kingdom on east Sumba
Menyili: kingdom on east Sumba
Melolo: kingdom on east Sumba
Karera: kingdom on east Sumba
Massu: kingdom on east Sumba
Massu Karera: kingdom on east Sumba
Lewa: kingdom on east Sumba
Waijelu: kingdom on east Sumba
Kambera: kingdom on east Sumba
Kanatang: kingdom on east Sumba
Kapunduk, kingdom on east Sumba
Pau, kingdom on east Sumba
Riung, kingdom on east Sumba
Umalulu, kingdom on east Sumba

Source (only indon. language)

– Kerajaan kerajaan di Sumba:
Sejarah kerajaan Sumba barat:
Sejarah Sumba:
– Sumba masa kolonial:
– Tentang pulau Sumba:
– Suku Sumba:
Suku Sumba:

Old map of Sumba

Sumba (Subao),  15th century


Umbu Rauta, head of the Makatakeri tribe -Kabonduk, 196….. – 2016

Royal ceremonial betel bag (pahapa), East Sumba, Kingdom of Kapunduk, early 20th century