Kingdom of Purba / Prov. Sumatera Utara – Kab. Simalungun

The Kingdom of Purba was a kingdom of the Simalungun People, Purba Pakpak clan; located on Sumatera, in District Simalungun. Province of North Sumatera.

* Foto kingdom Purba: link
* Foto kingdoms in Simalungun area: link
Foto kingdoms on Sumatera: link

History of the kingdom

Google translation

Formerly the village (dea) of Purba was known as one of the oldest kingdoms in Simalungun; the kingdom of Purba counted 14 kings who ever ruled. This kingdom is not the only kingdom that ever existed in the Simalungun region.
History records, there were five great kingdoms, each of which controled its own territory, spread in several areas: Siantar, Panambean, Tanah Java, Pematang Raya and Purba. The area was inhabited by certain clans as well, such as Saragih, Manik, Sinaga and Purba itself.
Rumah Bolon Pematang Purba was the residence of the first king of Purba Tuan Pangultop-ultop (1624-1648), which then passed on from generation to generation with local cultural tradition. The last king was King Tuan Mogang, who is said to have not found his remains yet. Allegedly he was killed when the social revolution took place in Simalungun in 1947.

District Simalungun today with the boundaries of the old kingdoms

List of kings

* 1624-1648: Tuan Pangultop Ultop
* 1648-1669: Tuan Ranjiman
* 1670-1692: Tuan Nanggaraja
* 1692-1717: Tuan Batiran
* 1718-1738: Tuan Bakkaraja

* 1738-1769: Tuan Baringin
* 1769-1780: Tuan Bona Batu
* 1781-1800: Tuan Raja Ulan
* 1800-1825: Tuan Atian
* 1826-1856: Tuan Horma Bulan

* 1856-1886: Tuan Raondop
* 1886-1921: Tuan Rahalim
* 1921-1931: Tuan Karel Tanjung
* 1933-1947: Tuan Mogang
* 1985-sekarang: Tuan Ricky Herianto Purba

– Source: Wiki

Kingdoms in the Simalungun area

Google translation

In its history there are 3 (three) phases of kingdoms, that once ruled and reigned in Simalungun.
The first phase is the two kingdom phase (harajaon na dua):

NB: Marga = Clan

* Kingdom of Nagur (marga Damanik) dan
* Kingdom of Batanghio (marga Saragih).

The second phase is the phase of 4 kingdoms:

* Kingdom of Siantar (marga Damanik),
* Kingdom of Panai (marga Purba Dasuha),
* Kingdom of Silau (marga Purba Tambak), dan
Kingdom of Tanoh Jawa (marga Sinaga).

The third phase is the phase of 7 kingdoms:

* Kingdom of Siantar (marga Damanik),
Kingdom of Panai (marga Purba Dasuha),
* Kingdom of Silau (marga Purba Tambak),
Kingdom of Tanoh Jawa (marga Sinaga),
Kingdom of Raya (marga Saragih Garingging),
Kingdom of Purba (marga Purba Pakpak) dan
* Kingdom of Silimakuta (marga Purba Girsang) (Damanik, 2010:1-2).

This third phase begins with the actions of the Dutch government to form a government in the Simalungun region, by treating Belsuit Governor General of the Dutch East Indies Stbl. No 531 of 1906 with the arrangement of seven Kingdoms, called “Napal Kings”.

Map of kingdoms in North Sumatera, 19th century

Source (only indon. language)

Tentang kerajaan Purba:
– Daftar Raja kerajaan Purba: Wiki
Asal usul marga Purba:
Asal usul kerajaan Purba:
Sejarah Purba di Wiki: link
– Rumah Bolon, Raja Purba di Pematang:

Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Simalungun:
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Simalungun:
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Simalungun:
– Bangun dan runtuhnya kerajaan-kerajaan Simalungun:
– Sejarah Suku Simalungun di Wiki: Wiki
Marga marga Simalungun: link
Sejarah marga Purba di Wiki: Wiki
Sejarah marga Saragih di Wiki: link
Sejarah marga Sinaga di Wiki: link
Sejarah marga Damanik di Wiki: link
Asal usul bangsa Simalungun: link

Parade kings of Simalungun in Pamatang Siantar, 1930. From left to righta – Sang Majadi (morga Sinaga), Partuanon Silou Kahean – Tuan Gaib (morga Purba), Raja Raya – Tuan Gomok (morga Saragih Garingging), Raja Siantar – Tuan Sawadim (morga Damanik), Raja Panei – Tuan Bosar Sumalam (morga Purba), Raja Dolog Silou – Tuan Ragaim (morga Purba), Raja Purba – Tuan Mogang (morga Purba), Partuanon Bandar – Tuan Desta Bulan (morga Damanik) dan Raja Silimakuta – Tuan Padiraja (morga Girsang)