Kingdom of Mamuju / Prov. Sulawesi Barat – Kab. Mamuju

The kingdom of Mamuju is a kingdom of the Mandar People; connected to Pitu Baqbana Binanga. District of Mamuju, prov. of West Sulawesi.
The title of the king is Maradia.

District of Mamuju

* Foto kingdom of Mamuju: link
* Foto Rumah Adat kingdom of Mamuju: link

Line of kingdoms on Sulawesi: link

Foto kingdoms on Sulawesi

* Foto kings on Sulawesi today: link
* Foto kings on Sulawesi in the past: link
* Foto old sites on Sulawesi: link

Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi

– Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi, 40.000 BC – 2018: link
– Video history kingdoms on South Sulawesi, 1AD – 2020: link
– Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi Tenggara, 50.000 BC – 2020: link
– Video history kingdoms on North Sulawesi, 4000 BC – today: link


About the king

8 september 2020
King Andi Maksum Dai, died 8 september 2020.
The title of the king is: Maradia.

12 juy 2017
Coronation of the crown prince 12 July 2017
Maradika (King) Mamuju Andi Maksum Dai, officially crowned the Crown Prince for the Kingdom he leads,
With his crowning, Bau Akram Maksum Dai officially is a Crown Prince, who would be in charge of accompanying and representing the King in carrying out royal duties, if the King was unable to attend.

King Andi Maksum Dai, died 8 september 2020.


Installation of the Crown Prince, 12 juy 2017

History of the Mamuju kingdom

Google translation

The Mamuju Kingdom was not formed by Tomanurung, but the result of a merger between the two kingdoms, namely the Kurri-Kurri Kingdom and the Langga Monar Kingdom.

The Mamuju Kingdom was founded by a Tomakaka with the title Tomojammeng after defeating the Kurri-Kurri kingdom in the Simboro region which later became the forerunner to the establishment of the Mamuju kingdom.

The reign of the kingdom of Mamuju was in effect since the establishment of the Mamuju kingdom around the 14th century AD. The head of the royal government was called Maradika.

At the beginning of the twentieth century, the Netherlands established its colonies with a residential administration system, that was divided according to Afdeling, Landschaap, Onder afdeling, and districts. Afdeling was headed by a Resident Assistant, and under afdeling it was divided into several Afdeling Parts which were headed by a Controlleur and Afdeling parts are divided into several Swapraja regions according to the territory of the kingdoms, and the king is given the authority to become the head of a separate government (Zelfbestuurder), under Swapraja has a district and a king who appoints the district head and village head. Mamuju and Tapalang are part of the Onder area under Mandar Afdeling.

List of kings

Rulers (title Maradia)

1674:  Mamuju Founded

* c.1820 – 1840: Ammana Komba
* c.1840 – 1860: Tomappelei Kasu Ditana
* c.1860 – 1870: Panre
* c.1870 – 1890: Nai Latang (f)
* c.1890 – 1895: Na E Sukur (d. 1895)
* 1895 – 1908:    Karanene
* 1908 – 1950:    Jalala Amana Inda (b. 1875 – d. 19..)
* Nov. 2015: H Andi Maksum Dai

– Source: link

Traditional Ritual washing of the heirlooms, Masossor Manurung

Masossor / Manossor Manurung is a keris washing ritual, performed by the Mamuju kingdom. The heirloom keris which was cleaned during the ceremony, is from the Badung Kingdom on Bali. The series of traditions is carried out every two years in Mamuju district.
The tradition of the keris cleaning is a legacy that was passed down from the relationship between the Kingdoms of Mamuju and Badung, Bali in the past. The meaning of the Masossor Manurung tradition itself comes from the word Masossor which means purification or cleansing and Manurung which means royal object.

The palace

The custom house compound itself consists of the king’s house and the main house behind which is joined by a small bridge, guard house, several huts for blacksmiths, goldsmith, rice barn, deer stables, and stables. The condition of the building is quite well maintained, unfortunately in it there is no display any empty alias empty.
* Foto palace kingdom of Mamuju: link

17 Kingdoms of the Mandar Region

Mandar tribe consists of 17 kingdoms: 7 kingdoms called “Pitu Ulunna Salu”, 7 kingdoms called “Pitu ba’bana binanga” and 3 kingdoms called “Kakarunna Tiparittiqna Uhai”.
The seven kingdoms belonging to Persekutuan Pitu Ulunna Salu are:

1 Kingdom of Rante Bulahang
2 Kingdom of Aralle
3 Kingdom of Tabulahan
4 Kingdom of Mambi
5 Kingdom of Matangnga
6 Kingdom of Tabang
7 Kingdom of Bambang

Seven (7) kingdoms belonging to Persekutuan Pitu Baqbana Binanga are :

1 Kingdom of Balanipa
2 Kingdom of Sendana
3 Kingdom of Banggae
4 Kingdom of Pamboang
5 Kingdom of Tapalang
6 Kingdom of Mamuju
7 Kingdom of Binuang.

Three (3) kingdoms belonging to Kakaruanna Tiparittiqna Uhai or the region of Lembang Mappi are:

1. Kingdom of Allu
2. Kingdom of Tuqbi
3. Kingdom of Taramanuq


Source (only indon. language)

– Episode baru kerajaan (2013):
Hari Jadi Kerajaan Mamuju: Wiki
Daftar Raja Mamuju:
Tentang Mamuju:
– Hubungan kesejarahan kerajaan Mamuju dan kerajaan  Bali:
– Asal mula kerajaan Mamuju:

– Gelar Raja sebagai Arayang:

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: