Sultanate of Jailolo / Island of Halmahera – Prov. Maluku Utara

The Sultanate of Jailolo is already know in the 16 century. Located on the island of Halmahera.

* Foto sultanate of Jailolo: link
* Foto funeral Sultan Jailolo, Sultan Abdullah Hariyanto Sjah, 24 oktober 2017, link

About the Sultan

There are 2 rival sultans.

1) Since 9 november 2017: Sultan Ahmad Hi. Abdullah Sjah
Ahmad Hi. Abdullah Sjah was installed as Sultan of Jailolo, after his father Sultan Abdullah Hariyanto Sjah died, on 23 oktober 2017.

2) Since 2015: Sultan Haji Muhammad Shiddiq Kaicil  Shah.

Sultan Ahmad Hi. Abdullah Sjah

Sultan Haji Muhammad Shiddiq Kaicil Shah.














There are 5 sultanates in North Maluku: Ternate, Tidore, Bacan, Jailolo dan Loloda.
Jailolo is a kingdom, established in 1521 AD.
Jailolo’s first king is the king who converted to Islam 9th century, and was named Sultan Hasanuddin.
Its territory covered most of the coastal island of Halmahera and Seram.

Ca. 1550 Jailolo came under the influence of Ternate. One source said,that the last descendant of the kings of Jailolo (then called a raja) died in exile on Ternate in 1715.
But the members of the direct line, or the Doa line claim, that with that fact the rights to the throne of Jailolo had not been ended. From 1715 the rights to the raja title went to a side line. From there the rulers of the restored Jailolo sultanate descended:Raja Muhammad Arif Bila, who helped ca. 1800 the rebellious Sultan Nuku of Tidore;a national Indonesian hero and later after him his 2 sons, who only could rule over a segment of the Jailolo people, who were allowed to resettle themselves in the north part of Ceram and after the last sultan of jailolo there was deposed went back to Jailolo in Halmahera totally.
The last sultan there was deposed 1832 (Sultan Muhammad Asgar;died 1839),because he not really coöperated with ending the piracy in the area. A descendant from that line;Dano Baba Hasan;was pretender sultan 1875-76 and his descendant;Dano Jaeuddin;also was pretender in 1914.
A descendant of Dano Baba Hasan was discovered in in Sumatra by Sultan Mudafar II Syah. He had a plan to make the system of 4 kings/Maloku Kie Raha;of again functioning to give stability again to the area.
So in januari 2002 Sultan Abdullah Syah was installed by the sultan of Ternate as a sultan, but in fact the paramount function of Ternate over Jailolo had not been ended then.
So in fact it was more a coöperation between the 2 sultan systems.
That functioned very good for a long time,but this year the sultan of Jailolo had a different choice for a bupati of a local district and that was not very much liked by the sultan and sultana of Ternate,who felt a sort of betrayed.
After the sultan of Jailolo was deposed, the functions were temporarily taken by an official called Ilham Dano Tokan.
No further real developments were noticed in this matter.
– Source:

List of Sultans

* 1380: Ruler of Jailolo becomes Jikoma Kolano, swapping styles with the ruler of Ternate.
* 1557 – 1796: State under Ternate sovereignty.
* 1803 – ….: State under Ternate sovereignty.
* 1832: Abolished.
* 1875 – 1876: Brief restoration, terminated by the Dutch.
* 2002: Royalty restored.

Penguasa / Rulers  Jikoma Kolano)

* 1605 – 1613: Doa
* 1613 – 1656: Saiuddin
* 1656 – 1684: Alam
* 1684 – 17.. ….: (unknown)

Sultan (Jikoma Kolano)
* 1784 – 1805: Muhammad Arif Bila
* 1805 – 1808: Vacant
* 1808 – 1832: Muhammad Asgar
* 1832: Saifuddin Jehad Muhammad Hajuddin Syah

* 1875 – 1876: Danu Hasan
* 1876 – 2002: Interregnum
* Jan 2002 –  ….: Suba Jou Malamo-Lamo Hj Abdullah Syah

– Sumber / Source: link

The palace