Kingdom of Lauli (Loli) / Isl. of Sumba – Prov. Nusa Tenggara Timur

The kingdom of Lauli (Loli) was founded by the “Korte Verklaring” of the dutch government on 25 april 1923 (8 sept. 1912). Located on Sumba, district of West Sumba. Prov. Nusa Tenggara Timur.

Location of Lauli


Location of Sumba

* Video history kingdoms on Sumba and NTT, 40.000 BC – today: link

* Foto kings, today on Sumba: link
* Foto kings on Sumba in the past: link
* Foto old sites on Sumba: link


About the king

Dr Agustinus Dapawole, king of the kingdom of Loli. 2017

History of the kingdom of Lauli (Loli)

The kingdom of Lauli consisted of three regions, namely Lauli Bodo, Lauli Bawa and Waibanggga. Before 1912 the king of Lauli was Umbu Ngailu Beku, later replaced by Dangi Lade, king of Lauli Bawa. After king Dange Lade died in 1920, in each the territories came into power a assistent king (regent): King Toda Leru for Lauli Bodo region, King Keba Buningani for Lauli Bawa region and King Giku Umbu Wolika for region Waibangga.
All three formed a Lauli Kingdom Government Commission. In 1927 the assistent king of Louli Bawa, Keba Buningani was replaced by Koki Umbu Daka. King Giku Umbu Wolika of Waibangga was replaced by King Lede Mude. In 1932 the king Koki Umbu Daka became king for the whole kingdom Lauli,  until the Lauli Kingdom Government Commission was removed, but for the region Waibangga was appointed an assistent king namely Dato Goro, replacing King Lede Mude. 1940 Koki Umbu Daka died in a car accident. In 1941 he was replaced by king Saba Ora, who served as king until the occurrence of a change of government of Indonesia.

Kerajaan Lauli, Raja Drs. Augustinus Niga Dapawole of Lauli-Loli.
Sumber foto: lodu kanu, FB

The kingdoms on Sumba

Google translation

The people of Sumba generally have no kingdom in their traditional system of government. There are only villages led by a head of each village, customary rules that apply in each village. However, during Dutch colonial rule, to facilitate control, the Dutch began to establish relationships with village heads. They entered into a contract of cooperation, in which each traditional ruler who signed the contract (often called the Short Placard Contract or Korte Verklaring) was officially recognized and called the king and given stick as a sign of power. From here tokko (stick) became popular. There are two types of rods of gold-headed stick (tokko ndoko) given to the main king, and silver-headed stick (tokkoamaho kaka) for auxiliary king.

The king, who had the approval of the Dutch government had to recognize the sovereignty of the Dutch authorities and one of his important duties was to tax the Dutch interests. Thus their sovereignty has actually been under the control of other nations, but de facto the kings remain sovereign and highly respected by their people and through them the Dutch powers the entire community. At first there were the heads of the villages, who did not bow to and against the Dutch government, but because of the strong military strength they finally surrendered and submitted to the power of the Dutch.
– Source:

The kingdoms on Sumba are:

Kodi Bangedo: kingdom on south west Sumba
Kodi Bokol: kingdom on south west Sumba
Kodi: kingdom on south west Sumba
Laura: kingdom on south west Sumba
Waijewa: kingdom on south west Sumba
Lauli: kingdom on west Sumba
Wanokaka: kingdom on west Sumba
Gaura: kingdom on west Sumba
Laboya: kingdom on west Sumba
Anakalang, kingdom on central Sumba
Umbu Ratu Nggay: kingdom on central Sumba
Tapundung: kingdom on central Sumba
Mamboru: kingdom on central Sumba
Lawonda: kingdom on central Sumba
Lakoka: kingdom on central Sumba
Rende, Rendi: kingdom on east Sumba
Napu: kingdom on east Sumba
Menyili: kingdom on east Sumba
Melolo: kingdom on east Sumba
Karera: kingdom on east Sumba
Massu: kingdom on east Sumba
Massu Karera: kingdom on east Sumba
Lewa: kingdom on east Sumba
Waijelu: kingdom on east Sumba
Kambera: kingdom on east Sumba
Kanatang: kingdom on east Sumba
Kapunduk, kingdom on east Sumba
Pau, kingdom on east Sumba
Riung, kingdom on east Sumba
Umalulu, kingdom on east Sumba

Traditional domains on Sumba

Old maps of Sumba

For old maps of Sumba, click here

An anonymous map submitted by Arnold de Vlamingh van Oudtshoorn in 1656 double mapping Sumba Island as Nomba and Sandalenbos

Source (only indon. language)

– Kerajaan kerajaan di Sumba:
Sejarah kerajaan Sumba barat:
Sejarah Sumba:
– Sumba masa kolonial:
– Tentang pulau Sumba:
– Suku Sumba:
Suku Sumba:

King of Kauli, Drs. Augustinus Niga Dapawole

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: