Sultanate of Bintan (Darul Masyhur) / Prov. Kep. Riau – Isl. of Bintan

The Sultanate of Bintan (Darul Masyhur) is located on the island of Bintan, province Riau Islands.

Location of Bintan

Province of Kepulauan Riau

About the sultan today (2018)

Sultan: Sri Paduka Tri Buana H. Huzrin Hood.
The Sultanate of Bintan Darul Masyur got a new sultan on December 12, 2012.

* Foto sultanate of Bintan: link

Revival of the sultanate, december 2012

Google translation

The Sultanate of Bintan Darul Masyur was re-established on December 12, 2012. The return of the Sultanate of Bintan Darul Masyur is based on consensus and deliberation of zuriat and relatives of Bintan Sultanate.
Zuriat and kerabat Kesultanan Bintan decided  and validated  to appoint Haji Huzrin Hood S.H. as sultan of Bintan  with the title Sri Paduka Tri Buana.
This endorsement was accompanied by a loyal oath of the sultan’s appointment, “The people will not rebel against their King and the King will not humiliate his people.

The return of the Sultanate of Bintan Darul Masyur had been initiated by the zuriat and relatives of the Bintan Sultanate by reorganizing the findings of the historical sites of the Sultanate of Bintan, which once existed in the provinces of Bintara, Bintan, Riau Islands and other regions. A number of regalia were also found to be well preserved. On December 10, 2007, the zuriat and relatives of the Sultanate of Bintan gave a mandate to Mr. Haji Huzrin Hood as a Traditional Peman of Bintan to restore the fame of the previously defunct Sultanate of Bintan. Along the coronation of the new sultan, the name of the Sultanate of Bintan was renewed into the Sultanate of Bintan Darul Masyhur. It was the result of deliberations and suggestions from Malaysian Malay king counselors.

History of  the sultanate
In the 18th century, merchants from Europe, Portuguese, Dutch and British, each other fighting for the island. At that time, the island was part of the Malay Peninsula controlled by the Johor-Riau Sultanate, which was occupied by alternated Johor (Malaysia today) and the island of Bintan (located in Indonesia today).
In 1884 the British and the Dutch signed the Treaty of London: all territories north of Singapore were given to the English, while the region south of Singapore were submitted to the Netherlands.
Since then the fate and history of the areas north and south of Singapore are separated. Singapore became the center of English trade development, while the Dutch concentrated in Jakarta and Java, left the Bintan islands.

Location of the island of Bintan,  1888

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah Kab. Bintan di Wiki:
Sejarah kerajaan Bentan:
Sejarah kerajaan Bentan:
– Asal usul kerajaan Bentan:
Kesultanan Bintan Darul Masyhur terbentuk kembali pada 12 Desember 2012:


– History of Bintan island: link
The sultanate of Bintan Darul Masyhur revived on 12 dec. 2012: link

Pemangku Adat Bentan (Sultan H. Huzrin Hood)

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: