Sultanate of Barus (dynasty Pardosi) / Prov. Sumatera Utara

The Sultanate of Barus: 14th century – 19th century. Located in Barus, Tapanuli Tengah, North Sumatera. This kingdom was a kingdom of the Batak people.

Province of North Sumatera 

* Foto’s ancient sites, tribes on Sumatera and old Sumatera : link

History of the sultanate

In the 6th century, has established a new authority in Barus founded by Sultan Ibrahimsyah coming from Tarusan, Minang, Batak descent from a collection of clans Pasaribu, which eventually formed Dulisme leadership in Barus.
The first king, who became a Muslim, was King Kadir, his children held the title of Sultan.

The Sultanate of Barus was an Islamic kingdom located in Barus, North Sumatra.
In the 14th century, the Sultanate Barus was a port of the Pagaruyung Kingdom, along with Tiku and Pariaman, which became a trading place on the island of Sumatra.
1524, Barus came under the Sultanate of Aceh. The position of the sultanate was a  vassal of Aceh until 1668.
The Sultanate of Barus was ruled by two kings, a king in Hulu, who led the community in Toba-Silindung (inland) and a King in Hilir, for the Minangkabau people, who lived from Barus to Batahan. The formation of these two kings was aimed to provide benefit to the dominance of Aceh in Barus.
Since the presence of the VOC in 1668, the 2 kings had a different attitude towards the Dutch. The king in Hulu rejected the presence of the VOC and was loyal to the sultan of Aceh, while the king in Hilir accepted and was against the monopoly of Aceh in Barus.
In the 19th century, Barus came under the authority of the Dutch East Indies and became part of Sumatra province’s Westkust, which was based in Padang.

List of kings

* Raja Kesaktian (in Toba)
* Alang Pardosi moved to Rambe and founded a palace in Gotting, Tukka
* Pucaro Duan Pardosi in Tukka
* Guru Marsakot Pardosi in Lobu Tua
* Raja Tutung Pardosi in Tukka
* Tuan Namora king Pardosi

During a long period there is no documentation about the kings.

* Raja Tua Pardosi
* Raja Kadir Pardosi (the forst who converted to Islam)
* Raja Mualif Pardosi
* Sultan Marah Pangsu Pardosi (700-an Hijriyah)
* Sultan Marah Sifat Pardosi
* 1644: Tuanku Maraja Bongsu Pardosi
* Tuanku Raja Kecil Pardosi
* Sultan Daeng Pardosi
* Sultan Marah Tulang Pardosi
* Sultan Munawar Syah Pardosi
* 1765: Sultan Marah Pangkat Pardosi
* 1798: Sultan Baginda Raja Adil Pardosi
* 1825: Sultan Sailan Pardosi
* Sultan Limba Tua Pardosi
* Sultan Ma’in Intan Pardosi
* Sultan Agama who was called Sultan Subum Pardosi
* 1853: Sultan Marah Tulang who was called Sultan Nangu Pardosi.

* Sultan Ibrahimsyah
* Sultan Abidinsyah Pasaribu
* Sultan Buchari Muslim Pasaribu

– Source:

Old maps of Sumatera

For old maps of Sumatera (1565, 1588, 1598, 1601, 1616, 1620, 1707, 1725, 1760), klik here

Sumatera,  1707

Source (english)

– History of Barus:

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kesultanan Barus: Wiki
Sejarah kesultanan Barus:
Sejarah kesultanan Barus:
– Sejarah kesultanan Barus:
– Sejarah Kota Barus:

– Kerajaan Fansur: