Keraton of Kasepuhan / Prov. West Jawa – Kab. Cirebon

Keraton Kasepuhan exists since 1662. Located in the city of Cirebon, Jawa.

* Foto Sultan Kasepuhan: link
* Foto complex buildings keraton Kasepuhan: link

There are 4 Keratons in Cirebon.

* Keraton Kanoman: Present Sultan Kanoman Cirebon 12 Kanjeng Gusti Muhammad Emirrudin.
* Keraton Kasepuhan, present Sultan: Sultan Sepuh XIV
* Keraton Kacirebonan, present Pangeran: Pangeran Kacirebonan Pangeran Abdul-gani Natadiningrat
* Keraton Kaprabonan, present Pangeran: Pangeran Kaprabonan Cirebon X Pangeran Hempi Raja Kaprabonan.

Location Cirebon

About the king

Present Sultan: Sultan Sepuh XIV, Pangeran Raja Adipati Arief Natadiningrat.
Since 2010.


The Sultanate of Cirebon was established in 1552 by the commander of the sultanate of Demak, then the Sultan of Cirebon died in 1570 and was succeeded by his son who was very young at that time.
Sultans of the Sultanate of Cirebon:

  • 1479-1568: Sunan Gunung Jati
  • 1568-1570: Fatahillah
  • 1570-1649: Panembahan Ratu I
  • 1649-1677: Panembahan Ratu II

1677: the first division of the Sultanate of Cirebon, occurred during the crowning of three sons Panembahan Girilaya, Sultan Sepuh, Sultan Anom, and Panembahan Cirebon in 1677. This is a new chapter for the palace of Cirebon, in which the empire was split into three and each ruling and lowers the next emperor. Thus, the next rulers of Cirebon Sultanate were:

  • Sultan Palace Kasepuhan, Prince Martawijaya, with the title Sultan Muhammad Samsudin Makarimi Sepuh Abil (1677-1703)
  • Sultan Kanoman, Prince Kartawijaya, with the title Sultan Muhammad Badrudin Makarimi Anom Abil (1677-1723)
  • Panembahan Prince Wangsakerta, as Panembahan Cirebon with the title of Prince Abdul Kamil Muhammad Nasarudin or Panembahan Tohpati (1677-1713). Prince Wangsakerta not appointed but only Panembahan sultan. He does not have jurisdiction or the palace itself, but stands as Kaprabonan (paguron) is a place to learn the intellectual palace.

1807: there was a split because one of his sons, namely Prince Raja Kanoman, want to secede to build the empire itself as the Sultanate Kacirebonan.
The will of the Prince King Kanoman supported by the Dutch colonial government to release Besluit (Dutch: decree) Governor-General of the Dutch East Indies who raised Prince Raja Kanoman became Sultan Carbon Kacirebonan in 1807 with the restriction that the sons and successors are not entitled to the title of sultan, simply by the title of prince.

Partition of the sultanate of Cirebon

List of kings

* 1662-1697: Sultan Sepuh I Syamsuddin, son of Pangeran Giri Laya
* 1697-1723: Sultan Sepuh II Jamaluddin, son
* 1723-1753: Sultan Sepuh III Muhammad Zainuddin, son
* 1753-1773: Sultan Sepuh IV Muhammad Zainuddin, son
* 1773-1786: Sultan Sepuh V Sapiuddin, son
* 1786-1791: Sultan Sepuh VI, brother
* 1791-1816: Sultan Sepuh VII Joharuddin, son
* 1816-1819: Sultan Sepuh VIII Syamsuddin, titular sultan 1819-1843, brother

• Titular sultans of Kraton Kasepuhan since 1819

* 1843-1853: Sultan Sepuh IX Raja Syamsuddin, son
* 1853-1875: Sultan Sepuh Raja Dipati Satria, son
* 1875-1880: Pangeran Jayawikarta, regent-sultan, brother
* 1880-1885: Sultan Sepuh X Raja Atmaja, brother
* 1885-1942: Sultan Sepuh XI Raja Aluda Tajularifin, son
* 1942-1969: Sultan Sepuh XII Raja Rajaningrat, son
* 1969-2010: Sultan Sepuh XIII Pangeran Raja Adipati Maulana Pakuningrat, son
* 2010-sekarang : Sultan Sepuh XIV Arif Natiningrat, son.

Keraton / Palace: Keraton Kasepuhan

Foto keraton Kasepuhan (complex buildings): link

It was built in 1447 and its architecture and interior are a blend of Sundanese, Javanese, Islamic, Chinese and Dutch styles.

Inside is a pavilion with white-washed walls dotted with blue-and-white Delft tiles, a marble floor and ceiling hung with French chandeliers. The legacy of Majapahit is preserved in its small pendopo on soft carved brick bases. The carvings on the pendopo columns are 1940s copy of the ancient originals. An innovation is the use of brackets branching out from the columns. The main building features unusually tall pyramidal column bases. The ornament on the double braces of this building’s pendopo tumpang sari ceiling are picked out by gilt. Another unusual feature in the eclectic complex is plaster and masonry columns feature a decoration that resembles reeding. Like other old sites around Cirebon, ceramics in walls are common here, although their use in the Kraton is more restrained.

The palace also has a somewhat neglected small museum with a restricted display of wayang, kris, cannon, furniture, Portuguese armour, and ancient royal clothes. In a separate nearby building the very elaborate Kereta Singabarong, a 17th-century gilded coach, may be seen along with a modern duplicate carriage used on official occasions.