Keraton of Kacirebonan / Prov. West Jawa – Kab. Cirebon

The Keraton of Kacirebonan is one of the 4 keratons in Cirebon. Keraton Kacirebonan exists since 1807. Located in the city of Cirebon on Jawa.

Location of Cirebon

* Foto keraton Kacirebonan: link

* Foto sultans and kings, today on Jawa: link
* Foto keratons (palaces) on Jawa: link
* Foto Batavia (Jakarta) in the past: link

* Foto Jawa in the past: link
* Attack of Batavia by Sultan Agung, 1628/1628: link
* Foto Diponegoro – war, 1825: link

* Foto old sites on Jawa: link

There are 4 Keratons in Cirebon

Keraton Kacirebonan: present Pangeran: KGPH Abdulgani Nata Diningrat Dekarangga.
Keraton Kasepuhan,
Keraton Kanoman,
Keraton Kaprabonan

Location Cirebon

About the King of Keraton Kacirebonan

Present Pangeran Kacirebonan (2017): KGPH Abdulgani Nata Diningrat Dekarangga.

History of the partition of the sultanate of Cirebon

The Sultanate of Cirebon was established in 1552 by the commander of the sultanate of Demak, then the Sultan of Cirebon died in 1570 and was succeeded by his son who was very young at that time.
Throughout the 16th and 17th centuries, the sultanate thrived and became a major regional centre of trade and commerce, as well as a prominent centre of Islamic learning. The sultanate split into three royal houses in 1677, and a fourth split off in 1807, each with their own separate lines of descent and kratons; Keraton Kasepuhan, Kraton Kanoman, Keraton Kacirebonan, and Keraton Keprabonan

1677: first split of the Sultanate of Cirebon, occurred during the crowning of three sons Panembahan Girilaya, Sultan Sepuh, Sultan Anom, and Panembahan Cirebon in 1677. This is a new chapter for the palace of Cirebon, in which the empire was split into three and each ruling and lowers the next emperor. Thus, the next rulers of Cirebon Sultanate were:

  • Sultan Kasepuhan, Prince Martawijaya, with the title Sultan Muhammad Samsudin Makarimi Sepuh Abil (1677-1703)
  • Sultan Kanoman, Prince Kartawijaya, with the title Sultan Muhammad Badrudin Makarimi Anom Abil (1677-1723)
  • Prince of Kaprabonan, Panembahan Prince Wangsakerta, as Panembahan Cirebon with the title of Prince Abdul Kamil Muhammad Nasarudin or Panembahan Tohpati (1677-1713). Prince Wangsakerta not appointed but only Panembahan. He did not have his own palace, but stands as Kaprabonan (paguron), which is a place for learning for palace the intellectuals.

1807: Second split of the sultanate of Cirebon. The succession of the Cirebon sultans generally went well, until the reign of Sultan Anom IV (1798-1803), when there was a split because one of his sons, Prince Raja Kanoman, wanted to separate and build his own sultanate under the name of the Sultanate of Kacirebonan. This happened in 1807.

Partition of the sultanate of Cirebon

3) List of kings

* 1808-1814: Sultan Kacirebonan I, Pangeran Carbon Amir Mukminin
* 1814-1851: Sultan Kacirbonan II, Pangeran Raja Madenda Hidayat
* 1851-1914: Sultan Kacirebonan III, Pangeran Raja Madenda Wijaya
* 1914-1931: Sultan Kacirebonan IV, Pangeran Raja Madenda Partadiningrat
* 1931-1950: Sultan Kacirebonan V, Pangeran raja Madenda Raharjadiningrat
* 1950-1956: Sultan Kacirebonan VI, Pangeran Sidik Ardjadiningrat
* 1960-1968: Sultan Kacirebonan VII, Pangeran Harkat Natadiningrat
* 1968-1994: Sultan Kacirebonan VIII, Pangeran Madenda Mulyono Amir Natadiningrat
* 1994-sekarang (2015): Sultan Kacirebonan IX, Pangeran Raja Abdul Ghani Natadiningrat S.E

#Sultan Kacirebonan VII was the younger brother of Sultan Kacirebonan VI because Sultan Kacirebonan VI had no children.

The Palace “Keraton”

Kacirebonan palace was built in 1807 during the second split of the Sultanate.
Architecture and interior are a blend of Sundanese, Javanese, Islamic, Chinese, Dutch styles with European architectural.

* Foto keraton Kacirebonan: link


Sultanate of Cirebon:
Keraton Kacirebonan:


Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: