Kingdom of Wijayapura / Prov. Kalimantan Barat

The kingdom of Wijayapura was located in the province of West Kalimantan, in the district of Sambas.
This kingdom existed 7th century – 9th century.

District of Sambas

* Foto sultans and kings, still on Kalimantan: link
* Foto sultans and kings in the past: link
Foto of palaces on Kalimantan: link
* Foto of the Dayak People: link
* foto of Kalimantan in the past: link

History of the kingdom

Line of history of the hindu kingdoms in Samas region:

  1. Kingdom of Wijaya Pura about 7th – 9 th century
  2. Kerajaan Nek Riuh about 13th – 14th century
  3. Kerajaan Tan Unggal about 15th century
  4. Panembahan Sambas / Old Sambas about the 16th century
  5. Kesultanan Sambas 17th century – 20th century.

In the 7th century in the northern part of West Kalimantan there was a Hindu-Buddhist kingdom, the kingdom of Wijayapura followed by the Kingdom of Nek Riuh (13th – 14th century), the Kingdom of Tan Unggal (15th century) and Panembahan Sambas in the 16th century. The four kingdoms were purely Hindu-Buddhist, but the entry of Islam in West Kalimantan, Panembahan Sambas was the last kingdom in the north of West Kalimantan. After the collapse of Panembahan Sambas in the Old City, there came a new Kingdom, the Sultanate of Sambas with Raden Sulaiman as the first Sultan of Sambas,  Sultan Shafiuddin I Sultan in 1671.

Strong evidence of the existence of this kingdom is the discovery of archaeological objects in the form of pottery, statues of the Hindus, according to archaeologists’ estimates, they originated sometime in the 6th century or 7th century.

Source (only indon. language)

– Kerajaan Wijayapura:
– Kerajaan Wijayapura:
Kerajaaan Wijayapura:

– Kerajaan Sambas Kuno:


Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: