Sultanate of Panai / Prov. Sumatera Utara – kab. Labuhan Batu

The Sultanate of Panai was located on Sumatera, District Labuhan Batu, province of north Sumatera.

Provinsi of North Sumatera

District Labuhanbatu

* Foto kingdoms on Sumatera: link
* Foto ancient sites on Sumatera: link

History of the sultanate

Dutch invaders entered the region Labuhan Batu in 1825.
Prior to entering the area Labuhan Batu, the system of government of Labuhan Batu was a monarchy. The Head of State was called Sultan or King, assisted by Bendahara Paduka Sri Maharaja, who served as Chief of daily administration (sort of the Prime Minister).
Sultanates in this region at that time consisted of four of kingdoms, namely:
1) Sultanate of Kota Pinang, based in the city of Kota Pinang,
2) Sultanate of Kualuh, located in Tanjung Pasir,
3) Sultanate of Panai based in Labuan Bilik,
4) Sultanate of Bila, located in Negeri Lama.
Plus a Half-Bestuur Kingdom Kampung Raja, located in Tanjung Medan.

Labuhanbilik or Panai was founded by Sultan Kaharuddin (Marhum Kaharuddin), King of the Kingdom of the 4th, around 1815.
Previous royal center was still in the upper river. The kingdom was founded by Raja Murai Perkasa Alam.
Ten centuries ago, before there was a Kingdom of Panai, the name Pannai Panai already exested. This name was found in 1030 AD in an inscription.
This Pannai was probably located nea the river Barumun (Panai), East Sumatra region.

Kingdoms on North Sumatera, 19th century

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kesultanan Panai:
Sejarah kesultanan Panai:
Sejarah Kabupaten Labuhan Batu:
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Labuhan Batu:
– Sejarah Labuhanbatu: