Kingdom of Patipi / Prov. Papua Barat – Semenanjung Onin

The kingdom of Patipi is located on the peninsula Onin, District of Fak Fak, prov. Papua Barat.

District of Fak Fak

* Foto kings on Papua today: link
* Foto kings on Papua in the past: link
* Foto old sites on Papua: link
* Foto peoples of Papua: link

* Video history Papua, century-2 AD until today: link


About the king

The king in 2009: Achmad Iba

History of Patipi

In the east of the Bomberay peninsula in Papua lies the area of ​​Namatota, or Kowiai. The king of Namaotota lived in the capital Namatota
One of the former vazal states of the kingdom of Rumbati was Patipi. It had its own ruler for a long time. This royal dynasty is the 2nd dynasty, which once ruled Patipi.
The first royal dynasty was still ruling in the 20th century and delivered 2 kings at the time, when the 2nd dynasty was already ruling. The king is now only regent-king of Patipi; Ahmad Iba and is considered the 16th ruler of Patipi. When his brother King Uthman Iba died, he became regent, because the crown prince (the son of the deceased king) was still studying: Atarai Iba’s Young King. It is not known, when the crown putetra will be sworn in as the new king. 

King  Oesmaila of Patipi 1902

List of kings of Patipi

* ……. – 200?:  Usman Iba (d. 200.)
* 2003 – …… :  Achmad Iba (b. 1939)

– Source:

Kingdoms on the peninsula Onin
On the Onin Peninsula, prov. West Papua there are three traditional kingdoms, namely:
– kingdom of Rumbati
– kingdom of Fatagar, and
– kingdom of Atiati.
The Kingdom of Rumbati is from the Bauw clan. At first the centres of the three kingdoms was located on the peninsula Onin, but because of the war that arose between the kingdom of Rumbati on the one hand against the kingdom of Fatagar and the kingdom of Atiati on the other side in 1878 (Cator l942: 81), the kingdom of Fatagar and the kingdom of Atiati moved their power center to the island of Ega.
Sometime later there was another dispute between the king of Fatagar and the king of Atiati, causing the king of Atiati to move his power center to a place on the shore of Onin Peninsula, which was then called Atiati, opposite the island of Ega. While the king of Fatagar moved his power center to a place called Merapi, located east of the city of Fakfak now.
In addition to the three kingdoms mentioned above there were also several other kingdoms that were originally under the rule of the kingdom of Rumbati, but later managed to gain recognition as its own kingdom especially in the early days pax neerlandica (1898):

kerajaan Patipi,
kerajaan Sekar,
kerajaan Wertuar

Arguni kingdom.

In 1952 the raja of Patipi died and not directly a new raja could be installed, so the districtchief of Kokas (left) became the temporary-raja for a short time. Sumber foto: donald tick, Facebook

Kingdoms on West Papua

1) District Kaimana

Kerajaan Kaimana
Kerajaan Aiduma
Kerajaan Kowiai/kerajaan Namatota

2) District Fak Fak

Kerajaan Fatagar (marga Uswanas)
Kerajaan Rumbati (marga Bauw)
Kerajaan Atiati (marga Kerewaindżai)
Kerajaan Patipi
Kerajaan Sekar (marga Rumgesan)
Kerajaan Wertuar (marga Heremba)
Kerajaan Arguni

3) District Raja Empat

Kerajaan Waigeo
Kerajaan Misool/Lilinta (marga Dekamboe)
Kerajaan Salawati (marga Arfan)
Kerajaan Sailolof/Waigama (marga Tafalas)
Kerajaan Waigama

The history of the kingdoms of Prov. West Papua

Google translation

According to Kakawin Nagarakretagama written between September-October 1365, Wwanin / Onin (Fakfak District) was an area of ​​influence of Majala Majapahit Kingdom, this region may be part of the Hindu kingdom colonies in the Maluku Islands recognized by Majapahit conquest.

In his book “Neiuw Guinea”, WC. Klein also explained the early facts of the influence of the Bacan kingdom on Papua. There he writes: in 1569 Papuan leaders visited the kingdom of Bacan. According to the oral history of the Biak people, there was a relationship and marriage between their tribal chiefs and the sultans of Tidore. The Biak tribe was the largest Melanesian tribe that spreads on the northern coast of Papua, therefore the Biak language is also the most widely used and considered as the language of Papuan unity. Due to the relation of coastal areas of Papua to the Sultan-Sultan of Maluku there were several local kingdoms (pertuanan), which indicate the entry of feudalism system which is not the original culture of ethnic Papua.

In the Raja Ampat Islands located off the coast of Papua there are 4 traditional kingdoms belonging to the mandala territory of Bacan and the sultanate of Ternate, each of which was the kingdom of Waigeo, with its central power in Wewayai, Waigeo island; Salawati kingdom, with a power center in Samate, the island of Salawati Utara; the Sailolof empire with the center of power in Sailolof, South Salawati island, and the kingdom of Misol, with the center of power in Lilinta, Misol island.

In 1660, the VOC had signed an agreement with the Tidore sultan in which Tidore recognized the Dutch protectorate of the people of West Irian. This agreement clearly covered the inhabitants of the islands between Maluku and Irian. Obviously, Tidore never actually controlled Irian. So the Dutch protectorate is just a legal fiction.

Tidore considered himself the superior of Biak. At that time, Malay traders began to visit the island of Irian. It is precisely this view of Tidore which is the reason the Dutch consider the western part of the island is part of the Dutch East Indies.

Since the 16th century, in addition to the Raja Ampat Islands belonging to the Sultan of Bacan and the Sultan of Ternate, other areas of Papua are the coastal areas of Papua from the island of Biak (as well as the Biak distribution areas) until Mimika is part of the mandala territory of Tidore Sultanate, a a large empire adjacent to the territory of Papua.
In 1826 Pieter Merkus, the Dutch governor of Maluku, heard rumors that England began to enter the coast of Irian in the east of the Aru Islands. He decided the group to explore the beach until Dolak Island. Two years later, the Dutch built the Fort Du Bus, which is now the city of Lobo, with the ultimate goal of blocking other European powers landed in western Irian. Fort Du Bus was abandoned in 1836.
In 1872, Tidore recognized the authority of the Kingdom of the Netherlands upon him.

The Dutch returned to Irian in 1898. Irian was divided between the Netherlands, Germany (northern part of eastern Irian) and England (southern part of eastern Irian). The arc line 141 is recognized as the eastern boundary of western Irian. In 1898 – 1949, western Papua was known as Dutch New Guinea.

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: