Kingdom of Malinggaheng / Isl. of Sangihe – Prov. Sulawesi Utara

The kingdom of Malinggaheng was located on the island of Sangihe, centered in Makiwulaeng (Kendahe/Talawide), Kab. Kepulauan Sangihe, provinsi Sulawesi Utara.

Location of Sangihe


Location of Sangihe

* Foto kingdoms on the island of Sangihe: link

History of the kingdom of Malinggaheng

Google translation

Malinggaheng Kingdom was a part of the Tapung Lawo kingdom. The first king of Malinggaheng was named Balanaung (son of king Mindanaauw) with his queen (Boki Siti Bai), the grandchild of king Gumansalangi. Kendahe royal territory was the  islands of  Lipang, Kawaluso, Kawio, Komboleng, Sulu, Kaluwulang, Saranggani and Matutuang (Balut). Later this kingdom turned into the kingdom of Kendahe (Candahar).

Formerly the kingdom of Malinggaheng was centered in Makiwulaeng (Kendahe / Talawide) ruled by king Samensi Arang, married with Bulaeng Tanding. This kingdom was drowned by Dimpuluse (ie thick black clouds gathered together, heavy water) in 1654. Remnants of this royal heritage is Tajung Maselihe where there are golden seats and the crown of the king buried in the seabed, supposedly guarded by sharks (Tanggihiang).

– Source:

History of the kingdoms on the island of Sangihe

Google translation

Since the 15th century in P. Sangihe emerged local / traditional government. The first time, evidenced by the records of Magellan clerk in 1421, Antonio Pigaffeta. At Sangihe, Pigafetta noted there were four kings. Two in Siau and one in Tagulandang. But the source of history three centuries later, the results of the writings of F. Valentijn, who came to Sangihe early 18th century, mentioned initially only two kingdoms in Sangihe, namely Tabukan and Kalongan. According to him, later about the year 1670 appeared nine kingdoms in Sangihe, namely:
* Kerajaan Kendahe,
* Kerajaan Taruna,
* Kerajaan Kolongan,
* Kerajaan Manganitu (Kauhis),
* Kerajaan Limau,
* Kerajaan Tabukan,
* Kerajaan Sawang (Saban) dan
* Kerajaan Tamako.

However, the last kingdom (Tamako) became part of Siau. Meanwhile, the king of Limau crushed troops dispatch Padtbrugge. This kingdom was destroyed. And, Sawang joined the kingdom of Taruna and the kingdom of Kolongan. And Kauhis joined Manganitu.
In 1898 the kingdom of Kendahe and the kingdom of Taruna merged into one. It was in these two regions that in 1919king Soleman Ponto ruled with its center in the present city of Tahuna. In the 1900’s the remaining four kingdoms were: Tabukan, Manganitu, Siau and Kendahe-Taruna.

Source Malinggaheng (only indon. language)

Sejarah kerajaan Malinggaheng:
Sejarah kerajaan Malinggaheng:
– Kerajaan Kendahe:

Source kingdoms on Sangihe (only indon. language)

Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
– Raja raja Sangihe Talaud:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Sulawesi Utara:

Old maps of the islands of Sangihe, Talaud dan Tagulandang

Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1700.


Islands Sangir (Sangir) and Talaud, 1724


Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1894

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: