Keraton of Kanoman / Prov. West Jawa – Kab. Cirebon

The Keraton of Kanoman exists since 1678. It is one of the 4 keratons in Cirebon. Keraton Kanoman is located in the city of Cirebon on Jawa.

Location of Cirebon

* Foto keraton Kanoman: link

Line of kingdoms on Jawa: link

Foto kingdoms on Jawa

* Foto sultans and raja’s, still on Jawa link
* Foto keratons (palaces) still on Jawa: link
* Foto Batavia (Jakarta) in the past: link
* Foto Jawa in the past: link
* Attack on Batavia by Sultan Agung, 1628/1628: link
* Foto Diponegoro war, 1825: link
* Foto old sites on Jawa: link

Video history kingdoms on Jawa

– Video rulers of the sultanate of Mataram, 1556 – 2020: link
– Video history of the sultanate of Mataram, 1576-2020: link
– Video history of the kingdom of Medang Mataram Hindu, 752 – 1045: link
– Video history of the kingdom of Majapahit, 1293 – 1527: link
– Video rulers of Majapahit until the sultanate of Mataram, 1293 – 1587: link
– Video history of kingdoms on East Jawa, 1.5 million BC – 2020: link
– Video history of kingdoms on West Jawa, 3000 BC – 2020: link
– Video history of kingdoms on Central Jawa, 1.5 million BC – 2020: link


There are 4 Keratons in Cirebon.

* Keraton Kanoman: Present Sultan Kanoman Cirebon the 12th, Kanjeng Gusti Muhammad Emirrudin.
* Keraton Kasepuhan,
* Keraton Kacirebonan,
* Keraton Kaprabonan.

Location of Cirebon

About the Sultan

Present Sultan: Sultan Kanoman Cirebon the-12: Kanjeng Gusti Muhammad Emirrudin.
Installed 6 March 2003.

History of the partition of the sultanate of Cirebon

The Sultanate of Cirebon was established in 1552 by the commander of the sultanate of Demak, then the Sultan of Cirebon died in 1570 and was succeeded by his son who was very young at that time.
Throughout the 16th and 17th centuries, the sultanate thrived and became a major regional centre of trade and commerce, as well as a prominent centre of Islamic learning. The sultanate split into three royal houses in 1677, and a fourth split off in 1807, each with their own separate lines of descent and kratons; Keraton Kasepuhan, Kraton Kanoman, Keraton Kacirebonan, and Keraton Keprabonan

1677: first split of the Sultanate of Cirebon, occurred during the crowning of three sons Panembahan Girilaya, Sultan Sepuh, Sultan Anom, and Panembahan Cirebon in 1677. This is a new chapter for the palace of Cirebon, in which the empire was split into three and each ruling and lowers the next emperor. Thus, the next rulers of Cirebon Sultanate were:

  • Sultan Kasepuhan, Prince Martawijaya, with the title Sultan Muhammad Samsudin Makarimi Sepuh Abil (1677-1703)
  • Sultan Kanoman, Prince Kartawijaya, with the title Sultan Muhammad Badrudin Makarimi Anom Abil (1677-1723)
  • Prince of Kaprabonan, Panembahan Prince Wangsakerta, as Panembahan Cirebon with the title of Prince Abdul Kamil Muhammad Nasarudin or Panembahan Tohpati (1677-1713). Prince Wangsakerta not appointed but only Panembahan. He did not have his own palace, but stands as Kaprabonan (paguron), which is a place for learning for palace the intellectuals.

1807: Second split of the sultanate of Cirebon. The succession of the Cirebon sultans generally went well, until the reign of Sultan Anom IV (1798-1803), when there was a split because one of his sons, Prince Raja Kanoman, wanted to separate and build his own sultanate under the name of the Sultanate of Kacirebonan. This happened in 1807.

Partition of the sultanate of Cirebon

List of kings

* 1662-1703: Sultan Anom I Badruddin, son of Pangeran Giri Laya
* 1703-1706: Sultan Anom II, son
* 1719-1732: Sultan Anom III Muhammad Alimuddin, son
* 1744-1797: Sultan Anom IV Khairuddin, son
* 1797-1807: Sultan Anom V Imanuddin, son
* 1807-1819: Sultan Anom VI Muhammad Kamaruddin, titular sultan 1819-1851, son

Titular sultans of Kraton Kanoman since 1819

* 1851-1871: Sultan Anom VII Muhammad Kamaruddin, son
* 1871-1879: Pangeran Raja Kaprabon, regent-sultan, brother
* 1879-1934: Sultan Anom VIII Raja Dulkarnain, son of Sultan Anom VII
* 1934-1935: Sultan Anom IX Nurbuat, son
* 1935-1989: Sultan Anom X Muhammad Nurus, son
* 1989-2002: Sultan Anom XI Muhammad Jalaluddin, son
* 2002: Muhammad Saladin, son
* 2003: Sultan XII, Muhammad Emiruddin, brother

About the palace, Keraton Kanoman

* Foto keraton Kanoman: link

Keraton Kanoman was founded by Sultan Anom I in 1677. In the outer area of the palace, the siti inggil, are masonry versions of the classic Javanese pendopo form, as opposed to the more conventional timber structures. Like the Great Mosque in Demak, Chinese ceramics are embedded into the plastered walls. The squat split-gates with pyramidal peaks are a Cirebon emblem.


Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: