Kingdom of Dolog Silou / Prov. Sumatera Utara

The Kingdom of Dolog Silou was a kingdom of the Simalungun People, Purba Tambak clan. Located in District Simalungun. Prov. of North Sumatera. 14th Century.

District Simalungun

* Foto kingdom of Dolog Silou: link
* Foto kings in Simalungun area in the past: link

Line history kingdoms on Sumatera: link

Foto kingdoms / sultanates on Sumatera

* Foto sultans and kings today on Sumatera: link
* Foto sultans and kings in the past on Sumatera: link

Video history of the kingdoms / sultanates on Sumatera

* Video history kingdoms on Sumatera, 75.000 BC – today: link
* Video history kingdoms on North Sumatera, 0 AD – today: link
Video history kingdoms on West Sumatera, 0 AD – today, link


The king today (2017)

King of Dolog Silou: Tuan Tanjargaim Purba Tambak.
Foto sept. 2017.

The kingdom of Simalungun was finally able to attend the Festival of Keraton Nusantara (FKN) XI held in Cirebon city from 15 to 19 September 2017. The three heirs of King Simalungun who came from the Kingdom of Dologsilou – clan Purba Tambak, Kingdom Raya – Saragih Garingging and Siantar Kingdom – the Damanic clan.
There was an interesting thing that happened at the Welcome Dinner which was held on Friday night (15/9/2017) to welcome all participants of Kraton Nusantara XI Cirebon Festival. Because of the new participants, there was a sense of curiosity from the people who attended to meet and take selfie photos with the kings of the Simalungun kingdom. The participation of 3 royal heirs from Simalungun at this festival is a historic moment for the royal family of Simalungun and for the people of Simalungun generally.

From left to right – king of Dolog Silou, king of Raya Tuan Artalim Saragih Garinggin, king of Siantar, Tuan Sang Nuan Damanik

History of the kingdom of Dolog Silou, 14th century

Google translation

In the XIV century civil war broke out in the Silou Kingdom among sons of Silou king, and the Kingdoms of Panei and Dologsilou were founded, from the Clan Purba Sidasuha and the Clan Purba Tambak Lombang.

The kingdom of Silou is one of the oldest kingdoms in East Sumatra. As the successor of the Kingdom of Nagur it changed its name to Nagur Bolag Silou and founded a confederation state. From this confederation of Aceh came four kingdoms: Silou, Panei, Siantar, and Batang iou (Tanoh Jau became later Tanah Jawa). The split within Silou’s empire led to the emergence of four new smaller powers: Dolog Silou, Silimakuta, Purba and Raya.
Thus there were seven kingdoms in Simalungun until the Dutch occupation of Dolog Silou, Silimakuta, Purba, Raya, Panei, Siantar and Tanah Java.

Tuan Bandar Alam Purba Tambak, last ruling king of Dolog Silou

The Purba clan is a name, used for the ancestors of the kingdom of Silau.
The first descendants of the Purba Tampak were named Jigou with the title Penghulu Tambak Bawang.
The second ancestors also had the title Penghulu Tambak Bawang, until the installation of the king of Silau, was had his seat in Silau Bolak.
The king of Dolo Silau the 13th had the title Tuan Bandar Alam Purba Tambak and was the last king, because of the social revolution in 1946.

The old kingdoms today in District Simalungun

Kingdoms in the Simalungun area

Google translation

In its history there are 3 (three) phases of kingdoms, that once ruled and reigned in Simalungun.
The first phase is the two kingdom phase (harajaon na dua):

NB: Marga = Clan

* Kingdom of Nagur (marga Damanik) dan
* Kingdom of Batanghio (marga Saragih).

The second phase is the phase of 4 kingdoms:

* Kingdom of Siantar (marga Damanik),
* Kingdom of Panai (marga Purba Dasuha),
* Kingdom of Silau (marga Purba Tambak), dan
Kingdom of Tanoh Jawa (marga Sinaga).

The third phase is the phase of 7 kingdoms:

* Kingdom of Siantar (marga Damanik),
Kingdom of Panai (marga Purba Dasuha),
* Kingdom of Silau (marga Purba Tambak),
Kingdom of Tanoh Jawa (marga Sinaga),
Kingdom of Raya (marga Saragih Garingging),
Kingdom of Purba (marga Purba Pakpak) dan
* Kingdom of Silimakuta (marga Purba Girsang) (Damanik, 2010:1-2).

This third phase begins with the actions of the Dutch government to form a government in the Simalungun region, by treating Belsuit Governor General of the Dutch East Indies Stbl. No 531 of 1906 with the arrangement of seven Kingdoms, called “Napal Kings”.

Map of kingdoms in Sumatera Utara, 19th century

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan Dolog Silou:
Pembagian marga Purba, bentuknya Dolog Silou:
Ritual kerajaan Dolog Silou:

– Sejarah kerajaan Simalungun:
Sejarah kerajaan Simalungun:
– Sejarah kerajaan Simalungun:
– Sejarah Suku Simalungun di Wiki: Wiki
Marga marga Simalungun: link
Sejarah marga Purba di Wiki: Wiki
Sejarah marga Saragih di Wiki: link
Sejarah marga Sinaga di Wiki: link
Sejarah marga Damanik di Wiki: link
Asal usul bangsa Simalungun: link

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: