Kingdom of Landak – Prov. Kalimantan Barat

The Kingom of Ismahayana Landak, 1275 – 1945. Located on Kalimantan, in the District of Landak, province of West Kalimantan.
The title of the king: Pangeran Ratu, in 2015 the title became king.

District of Landak

Province of West Kalimantan 

* Foto kingdom of Landak:  link
* Foto palace Ismahayana Landak: link
* Video changing title from pangeran ratu to king (2015): link

Revival of the kingdom in 2000

24 jan. 2000: Revival of the kingdom of Landak, marked by the inauguration of the heir to the kingdom of Landak: Pangeran Ratu Drs. Gusti Suryansah.
The king died on 14 oktober 2016.

Oktober 2016: The son of former king Gusti Suryansah, Pangeran Ratu Setia Iswaramahayana Pangeran  Ratu Setia Ishmahayana Gusti Fiqri became his successor.

History of the kingdom

The kingdom of Ismahayana Landak is a kingdom, which is located in Kab. Landak, West Kalimantan. Landak kingdom was founded by the eldest son of Brawijaya, the first ruler (1294-1309 AD) of the great Hindu-Javanese kingdom Majapahit (1294-1478). The kingdom then had seven Hindu rulers, the last of which married a local woman, Putri Dara Hitam. Her son, Raden Ismahayana, ruled from 1472 until 1542. It was he who converted to Islam and became the first sultan of Landak under the new name Raden Abdul Kahar. His seat of governance was Mungguk, a later sultan moved to Bandong near Mungguk, and finally Pangeran Sanca Nata Kesuma had his palace built in Ngabang on the present site of Keraton Ismahayana.
The last sultan, Pangeran Raden Gusti Abdul Hamid, was killed by the Japanese and buried in Mandor. A caretaker then governed until the kingdom of Landak was abolished through Indonesia’s independence.
However, archaeological evidence in the form of building of the palace and royal attributes, we can still see up to now.  The book
Indoek Lontar Keradjaan Landak, written by Gusti Soeloeng Lelanang (king the 19th) in 1942 offers sufficient evidence to prove the long history of this kingdom. There are 2 phases in this history, which started in 1275: namely the Hindu period and the Islamic period, started in 1472 until today.

The history of the kingdom can be divided into four periods of two phases, namely:

Fase Hindu

  • 1292–1472: Kingdom Landak di Ningrat Batur

Fase Islam

  • 1472–1703: Kingdom Landak at Mungguk Ayu
  • 1703–1768: Kingdom Landak at Bandong
  • 1768–today: Kingdom Landak at Ngabang

Kingdoms in West Kalimantan

List of Kings

Fase Hindu

Kerajaan Landak di Ningrat Batur (1292 – 1472)

  1. Ratu Sang Nata Pulang Pali I
  2. Ratu Sang Nata Pulang Pali II
  3. Ratu Sang Nata Pulang Pali III
  4. Ratu Sang Nata Pulang Pali IV
  5. Ratu Sang Nata Pulang Pali V
  6. Ratu Sang Nata Pulang Pali VI
  7. Ratu Sang Nata Pulang Pali VII

Fase Islam

  • Kerajaan Landak di Mungguk Ayu (1472–1703)
  1. 1472–1542: Raden Iswaramahayan Raja Adipati Karang Tanjung Tua atau Raden Abdul Kahar (Islam came to the kingdom of Landak in this periode)
  2. 1542–1584: Raden Pati Karang Raja Adipati Karang Tanjung Muda
  3. 1584–1614: Raden Cili (Tjili) Pahang Tua Raja Adipati Karang Sari Tua
  4. 1614–1644: Raden Karang Tedung Tua (vice) king Adipati Karang Tedung Tua
  5. 1644–1653: Raden Cili (Tjili) Pahang Muda Raja Adipati Karang Sari Muda
  6. 1679–1689: Raden Karang Tedung Muda (vice king) Raja Adipati Karang Tedung Muda
  7. 1679–1689: Raden Mangku Tua (vice king) Raja Mangku Bumi Tua
  8. 1689–1693: Raden Kusuma Agung Tua
  9. 1693–1703: Raden Mangku Muda (vice king) Pangeran Mangku Bumi Muda
  • Kerajaan Landak di Bandong (1703–1768)
  1. 1703–1709: Raden Kusuma Agung Muda
  2. 1709–1714: Raden Purba Kusuma (vice king) Pangeran Purba Kusuma
  3. 1714–1764: Raden Nata Tua Pangeran Sanca Nata Kusuma Tua
  4. 1764–1768: Raden Anom Jaya Kusuma (vice king) Pangeran Anom Jaya Kusuma
  • Kerajaan Landak di Ngabang (1768–today), with head of state holding the title Panembahan and head of government titled Paduka Pangeran

NB: Pangeran = Prince

  1. 1768–1798: Raden Nata Muda Pangeran Sanca Nata Kusuma
  2. 1798–1802: Raden Bagus Nata Kusuma (vice king) Ratu Bagus Nata Kusuma
  3. 1802–1807: Gusti Husin (vice king) Gusti Husin Suta Wijaya
  4. 1807–1833: Panembahan Gusti Muhammad Aliuddin
  5. 1833–1835: Haji Gusti Ismail (vice panembahan) Pangeran Mangkubumi Haji Gusti Ismail
  6. 1835–1838: Panembahan Gusti Mahmud Akamuddin
  7. 1838–1843: Ya Mochtar Unus (vice panembahan) Pangeran Temenggung Kusuma
  8. 1843–1868: Panembahan Gusti Muhammad Amaruddin Ratu Bagus Adi Muhammad Kusuma
  9. 1868–1872: Gusti Doha (vice panembahan)
  10. 1872–1875: Panembahan Gusti Abdulmajid Kusuma Adiningrat
  11. 1875–1890: Haji Gusti Andut Muhammad Tabri (vice panembahan) Pangeran Wira Nata Kusuma
  12. 1890–1895: Gusti Ahmad (vice panembahan) Pangeran Mangkubumi Gusti Ahmad
  13. 1895–1899: Panembahan Gusti Abdulazis Kusuma Akamuddin
  14. 1899–1922: Gusti Bujang Isman Tajuddin (vice panembahan) Pangeran Mangkubumi Gusti Bujang
  15. 1922–1943: Panembahan Gusti Abdul Hamid
  16. 1943–1945: Gusti Sotol (vice panembahan)
  17. Haji Gusti Mohammad Appandi Ranie (vice panembahan) Pangeran Mangkubumi Gusti Mohammad Appandi Ranie Setia Negara (1946, ruled only 4 months)
  18. Pangeran Ratu Haji Gusti Amiruddin Hamid (?)
  19. 2000–2016: Drs. Gusti Suryansyah Amiruddin, M.Si. Pangeran Ratu Keraton Landak.
    Raja kerajaan Landak, Pangeran Ratu Drs. Gusti Suryansah, died 14 oktober 2016.

– Source: link

Palace of the kingdom: Keraton Ismahayana

Keraton Ismahayana Landak is the Royal Palace of Landak, located in Ngabang, Kab. Porcupine, Prov. West Kalimantan. It is not known exactly when the palace was build.
This royal palace was restored and renovated around the 1950s and 1960s, after a fire that caused damage in some parts of the palace building. The condition of Keraton Complex at this time is result of restoration of year 2000.

 Kingdoms on West Kalimantan 1800

Kerajaan-kerajaan Kalimantan Barat, tahun 1800.

Kingdoms on West Kalimantan barat, 19th  and beginning 20th century

Keraajaan di Kalimantan barat, abad ke-19 dan awal abad ke-20

Source (english)

– History of Landak: link

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan Landak di Wiki: link
Sejarah kerajaan Landak di Melayuonline: link
– Sejarah kerajaan Landak:
Awal berdirinya kerajaan Landak:
Tentang istana:
Daftar Raja:

Raja Landak wafat (2016):
– Video: Raja Landak tutup usia (2016):