Kingdom of Laboya (Laboja) / Isl. of Sumba – Prov. Nusa Tenggara Timur

The Kingdom of Laboya. Located on Sumba Island, prov. Nusa Tenggara Timur.

Location of Laboya


Location of Sumba

* Video history kingdoms on Sumba and NTT, 40.000 BC – today: link

* Foto kings, today on Sumba: link
* Foto kings on Sumba in the past: link
* Foto old sites on Sumba: link


About the kingdom of Laboya

The kingdom of Laboya was confirmed by “Korte Verklaring” on December 23, 1913. In the same year Kedu Moto was appointed as king. Like Royal Louli, the Kingdom of Lamboya also consisted of three customary domains of Lamboya Deta, Lamboya Wawa and Patiyala. In 1915, Garo or Gaura area that was located in the territory of the Kingdom of Mbangedo was released and merged with the territory of Lamboya Kingdom.
In this region there had been popular resistance under the leadership of Tadu Moli in reaction to high taxes and forced labor. Lieutenant de Neeve was killed in this place while collecting taxes. In 1924, the king of Kedu Moto was involved in a lawsuit and dumped out of the island. From that time each custom area was ruled by an auxiliary king or regent: Eda Bora at Lamboya Deta, Jewu Gara at Lamboya Wawa and Dead Kaba in Patiyala.
They are part of a Royal Government Commission of Lamboya. After World War II, the surviving king Edu Bora was later replaced by his son, Songa Lero.

– Source:

Wifes of king of Laboya, Edo Bora.
From left to right: 1. Second wife Dorkas Rauna Wawo 2. YM Eda Bora 3. first wife Maria Maga Toda 4. Third wife Rahel Toro Boga. Sumber: donald tick, FB

List of kings

1892 Kerajaan Lamboja founded.

* 1892 – 1906: Mati Koja
* 1906 – 1908: Jawa Kalaga
* 1908 – 1924: Kedu Moto
* 1924 – 1951: Eda Bora
* 1951 – 1962: Songa Lero (d. 1996)

– Source:

King Edo Bora of Lamboya, ruled since 1928. Died 1970. Sumber: donald tick, FB

 The kingdoms on Sumba

Google translation

The people of Sumba generally have no kingdom in their traditional system of government. There are only villages led by a head of each village, customary rules that apply in each village. However, during Dutch colonial rule, to facilitate control, the Dutch began to establish relationships with village heads. They entered into a contract of cooperation, in which each traditional ruler who signed the contract (often called the Short Placard Contract or Korte Verklaring) was officially recognized and called the king and given stick as a sign of power. From here tokko (stick) became popular. There are two types of rods of gold-headed stick (tokko ndoko) given to the main king, and silver-headed stick (tokkoamaho kaka) for auxiliary king.

The king, who had the approval of the Dutch government had to recognize the sovereignty of the Dutch authorities and one of his important duties was to tax the Dutch interests. Thus their sovereignty has actually been under the control of other nations, but de facto the kings remain sovereign and highly respected by their people and through them the Dutch powers the entire community. At first there were the heads of the villages, who did not bow to and against the Dutch government, but because of the strong military strength they finally surrendered and submitted to the power of the Dutch.
– Source:

The kingdoms on Sumba are:

Kodi Bangedo: kingdom on south west Sumba
Kodi Bokol: kingdom on south west Sumba
Kodi: kingdom on south west Sumba
Laura: kingdom on south west Sumba
Waijewa: kingdom on south west Sumba
Lauli: kingdom on west Sumba
Wanokaka: kingdom on west Sumba
Gaura: kingdom on west Sumba
Laboya: kingdom on west Sumba
Anakalang, kingdom on central Sumba
Umbu Ratu Nggay: kingdom on central Sumba
Tapundung: kingdom on central Sumba
Mamboru: kingdom on central Sumba
Lawonda: kingdom on central Sumba
Lakoka: kingdom on central Sumba
Rende, Rendi: kingdom on east Sumba
Napu: kingdom on east Sumba
Menyili: kingdom on east Sumba
Melolo: kingdom on east Sumba
Karera: kingdom on east Sumba
Massu: kingdom on east Sumba
Massu Karera: kingdom on east Sumba
Lewa: kingdom on east Sumba
Waijelu: kingdom on east Sumba
Kambera: kingdom on east Sumba
Kanatang: kingdom on east Sumba
Kapunduk, kingdom on east Sumba
Pau, kingdom on east Sumba
Riung, kingdom on east Sumba
Umalulu, kingdom on east Sumba

Traditional domains on Sumba

Old maps of Sumba

For old maps of Sumba, click here

An anonymous map submitted by Arnold de Vlamingh van Oudtshoorn in 1656 double mapping Sumba Island as Nomba and Sandalenbos


Raja Dolfinus Hoga Bora of Lamboya. Sumber foto: donald tick, FB


Right last ruling raja of Lamboya, Raja Soleman Songa Lero with left his brother-succesor Raja Dolfinus Hoga Bora. Sumber foto: donald tick, FB


Wives of king Edo Bora. Left to right… 1. Second wife DORKAS RAUNA WAWO 2. YM EDA BORA 3. first wife MARIA MAGA TODA 4. Third wife RAHEL TORO BOGA.  Source: donald tick, FB


Camat-subdistrictchief Timotius T Ragga-grandson(via male line)of Raja Eda Bora of Lamboya(1928-51). Source: donald tick, FB


Raja Edo Bora of Lamboya,who ruled since 1928.He died in 1970. Source: donald Tick, FB

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan  Laboya:
– Kerajaan Laboya dan kerajaan lain di Sumba:
Sejarah Kodi dan Laboya:
– Daftar raja:


– Kerajaan kerajaan di Sumba:
Sejarah kerajaan Sumba barat:
Sejarah Sumba:
– Sumba masa kolonial:
– Tentang pulau Sumba:
– Suku Sumba:
Suku Sumba:

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: