Principality of Manunggul / Prov. Kalimantan Selatan

The Principality of Manunggul, 1780 – 1905. Located in Kalimantan, the region of the district Tanah Bumbu.

District of Tanah Bumbu

* Foto sultans and kings, still on Kalimantan: link
* Foto sultans and kings in the past: link
Foto of palaces on Kalimantan: link
* Foto of the Dayak People: link
* foto of Kalimantan in the past: link

History of the principality

Manunggul was a part of the kingdom of Tanah Bumbu, whose territory included Daerah Aliran Sungai Manunggul in South Kalimantan; since 1846 it was a part of the Dutch government in East Borneo. Manunggul country was an area of the civilian government headed by a bumiputera, who belonged to  the Dutch East Indies colonial administration in charge of East Borneo territories under the control of GH Dahmen Resident Assistant based in Samarinda.
Regional autonomous government was delegated to a chief bumiputera:  Prince Muhammad Arifillah (Aji Samarang).
Manunggul country was a landschap in the Afdeeling Pasir and Tanah Boemboe, according Staatblaad 1898 no. 178. Its area is now kecamatan Sungai Durian, Kotabaru District, South Kalimantan.

List of rulers

* 1780-1800: Pangeran Prabu (Sultan Sepuh) as king of Bangkalaan, Sampanahan, Manunggul and Cengal.
* 1800-1820: Pangeran Nata (Ratu Agung) bin Pangeran Prabu as king of Bangkalaan, Sampanahan and Manunggul. During this time Cengal was given to Pangeran Seria.
* 1800-?): Pangeran Seria bin Pangeran Prabu as king of Bangkalaan, Sampanahan, Manunggul and Cengal.
* 1820-1830 (atau 18xx-1825): Gusti Besar binti Pangeran Prabu as king of Bangkalaan, Sampanahan, Manunggul, Cengal, Cantung, Batulicin. Gusti Besar domiciled in Cengal.
* Kepala Cengal, Manunggul, Sampanahan installed by the Sultan of Pasir.
* 1825-1840: Aji Jawi (1840) (son of Gusti Besar)(1825-1840): Pangeran Aji Jawi/Aji Djawa (1840-1841) Sampanahan yang diangkat Sultan Pasir. Bangkalaan, Sampanahan, Manunggul, Cengal, Cantung dan Batulicin.
* 1845: Aji Tukul (Ratu Intan II/Ratu Agung) bin Aji Jawi(1845). Around 1846 as king of Bangkalaan, Manunggul and Cengal.
* 1845-1846: Aji Pati (Pangeran Agung) bin Sultan Sulaiman from Pasir as king of Bangkalaan, Manunggul and Cengal.
* 1846: Aji Samarang (Pangeran Muda Muhammad Arifbillah) bin Aji Pati Pangeran Muda or full Pangeran Muda Mohammad Arifillah Aji Samarang as king of Bangkalaan, Manunggul, Cengal.
* Pangeran Syarif Hasyim al-Qudsi, (Besluit dd. 24 Maret 1864 no. 15 en als no.104).
* Aji Mas Rawan (king Arga Kasuma) bin Aji Samarang(1884-1905) as king of Bangkalaan, Manunggul, and Cengal.

– Source: Wiki

Small kingdoms under the Sultanate of Banjar.

Under the Sultanate of Banjar there were several small kingdoms in the region of Tanah Bumbu and Pulau Laut. They were semi-independent. Because government services were not covered by the Sultanate, these kingdoms kingdoms were given authority to rule within their region.
Small kingdoms under the rule of the Sultanate Bandar in Tanah Bumbu and Pulau Laut are:

1. The kingdom of Pagatan,
2. The Kingdom of Kusan,
3. The Kingdoms of Cengal Manunggul and Bangkalaan,
4. The Kingdoms of Cantung and Sampanahan,
5. The Kingdom of Sebamban,
6. The kingdom of Batulicin,
7. The Kingdom of Pasir,
8. The Kingdom of Kotabaru.
9. Kingdom of Tanah Bumbu

Old maps of Kalimantan (Borneo)

For old maps of Kalimantan(1570, 1572, 1594, 1601, 1602, 1740, 1747, 1760, 1835), click here.

Kalimantan (Borneo),1601

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan Manunggul di Wiki:
Daftar penguasa Cengal, Manunggul: Wiki

– Kerajaan kecil yang dibawah kekuasaan Kesultanan Banjar: link


Kerajaan Batu Licin: link
Kerajaan Cantung: link
Kerajaan Kusan: link
Kerajaan Pagatan: link
Kerajaan Bangkalaan: link
Kerajaan Sampanahan: link


Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: