Kingdom of Linge / Sumatera – Prov. Aceh

The kingdom of Linge  was a kingdom on Sumatra, Aceh province, District Aceh Tengah; founded in 1025.
During the sultanate of Aceh the small kingdoms in Aceh were the vassal or subordinate sultan of Aceh and led by a king who holds Uleebalang.
After the end of the Aceh War, in 1914, Linge (Linggo) entered Onderafdeling Takengon, as “swapraja”.

District Aceh Tengah

Line history kingdoms on Sumatera: link

Foto sultanate of Aceh

* Foto sultanate of Aceh: link
* Foto kings of small kingdoms in Aceh: link
Foto Aceh in the past: link
Foto war Aceh-netherlands (1873-1903): link

Foto kingdoms / sultanates on Sumatera

* Foto sultans and kings today on Sumatera: link
* Foto sultans and kings in the past on Sumatera: link

Video history of the kingdoms / sultanates on Sumatera

* Video history kingdoms on Sumatera, 75.000 BC – today: link
* Video history kingdoms on North Sumatera, 0 AD – today: link
Video history kingdoms on West Sumatera, 0 AD – today, link


About the king

January 2013
Tengku Iklil Ilyas Leube, fourth son of Tengku Ilyas Leube has been named Reje Linge XX, Monday (28/1/2013) in Buntul Linge, Linge Sub-district, Central Aceh District.

July 2015
Tengku Iklil Ilyas Leube, Reje Linge XX, died 31 July 2015.

History of the kingdom of Linge, founded 1025

Google translation

The kingdom of Linge was an ancient kingdom in Aceh. The kingdom was established in the year 1025 AD, the first king was Adi Genali. Adi Genali (Kik Betul) had four children, namely: Empuberu, Sibayak Linge, Merah Johan, Merah Linge.
Reje Linge I left to their offspring a sword and a ring, which originated from Sultan Peureulak Makhdum Berdaulat Mahmud Syah (1012-1038 M). This heritage was given, when Adi Genali founded Negeri Linge at Buntul Linge, together with the prime-minister, whose name was Shyekh Sirajuddin, with the title who holds Cik Serule.

During the Dutch colonial period the Linge kingdom became a keujreun led by a keujreun with the title Reje. In 1919 the Keujrun Linge was led by Aman Cahyamani; after his death he was replaced by Sasa Aman Talib. Photo source: Donald Tick, Facebook

List of kings

1. Reje Linge Ke I Ahmad Syarief
2. Raja Linge Ke II Meurah Ishaqsyah
3. Raja Linge Ke III Meurah Jernang
4. Raja Linge Ke IV Adi Genali
5. Reje Linge Ke V Johansyah
6. Raja Linge Ke VI Bujang Lano
7. Raja Linge Ke VII Kejurun Jagong
8. Raja Linge Ke VIII Uyub
9. Raja Linge Ke IX Hud
10.Raja Linge Ke X Mahmud
11.Raja Linge Ke XI M.Saleh
12.Raja Linge Ke XII Lhut
13.Raja Linge Ke XIII Bukit
14.Raja Linge Ke XIV Alisyah
15.Raja Linge Ke XV Aman Nyak
16.Raja Linge Ke XVI Cut
17.Raja Linge Ke XVII Sasa
18.Raja Linge Ke XVIII Abdul Muthalib

– Source:

About the small kingdoms in Aceh

* List of Uleebalang, 1914: link
* List of Uleebalang, 1940: link

The western part of the kingdom of Aceh Darussalam was opened and built in the 16th century on the initiative of Sultan Saidil Mukamil (Sultan of Aceh who lived between 1588-1604), followed by Sultan Iskandar Muda (Sultan of Aceh who lived in 1607-1636) the Acehnese Rayeuk and Pidie.
The first bustling area was at Meulaboh bay (Pasi Karam) ruled by a king who was titled Teuku Keujruen Meulaboh, and Negeri Daya (District Jaya) which at the end of the 15th century had established a kingdom with its king is Sultan Salatin Alaidin Riayat Shah with the title Poteu Meureuhom Daya.
The area of West Aceh at the end of the 17th century had developed into several small kingdoms led by a Uleebalang, namely: Kluang; Lamno; Kuala Lambeusoe; Kuala Daya; Kuala Unga; Babah Awe, and many more.

The structure of government of the small kingdoms

1) Gampong, the leader was called Geucik or Keuchik. The smallest territorial area of the government structure in Aceh was the Gampong. A Gampong consisted of groups of houses adjacent to each other.
The leader of the gampong was called Geucik or Keuchik, who was assisted by a proficient in religious matters, as Teungku Meunasah.
2) Mukim, the leader was called Imum Mukim. The larger territorial area of government was the Mukim. The Mukim was a combination of several gampongs, which were located nearby.
The leader of Mukim was called Imum Mukim. He was the one who coordinated the village (gampong) heads or Keuchik-Keuchik.
3) Sago or Sagoe, the leader was called Commander Sagoe or Panglima Sagi. In the Aceh region of Rayeuk (District Aceh Besar now), was a form of government called Sagoe or Sagi. The entire region of Aceh Rayeuk was incorporated into three Sagi, which can be regarded as three federations. The three Sagoe or Sagi were named:
1. Sagi XXII Mukim, consisted of 22 mukim.
2. Siva XXV Mukim, consisted of 25 mukim
3. Sagi XXVI Mukim, consisted of 26 Mukim
The leader was called Panglima Sagoe or Panglima Sagi, from generation to generation, they also hold the title of Uleebalang.
They were appointed as Panglima Sagi by the Sultan of Aceh, who gave them a stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh known as Cap Sikureung.
4) Nangroe, the leader was called Uleebalang. Another form of royal territory found in Aceh was called Nangroe or Negeri. This Nangroe was actually a conquered area of the Kingdom of Aceh and was located outside Aceh Inti or Aceh Rayeuk.
The leadership of Nangroe was called Uleebalang, which was established by tradition for generations.
Uleebalang was the Head of State of the small kingdoms who were very powerful. However, when they assume the position of Uleebalang in their area, they had to be approved by the Sultan of Aceh. The Appointment Letter was called Sarakata and stamped with the stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh, Cap Sikureung.
5) The Sultan. The highest level in the government structure of the Kingdom of Aceh was the central government based in the royal capital, formerly known as Bandar Aceh Dar as Salam. The head of the central government was the Sultan who had the title of Tuanku.

Map of the small kingdoms in Aceh 1917

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan Linge di Wiki:
Kerajaan Linge didirikan pada tahun 986 ?:
– Kerajaan Linge di Gayo:
Misteri kerajaan Linge:
Daftar Raja:


Installation king of Linge XX.

In the Dutch colonial period the Linge kingdom became a keujreun led by a keujreun titled Reje. In 1919 Linge keujrun was Aman Cahyamani after he was replaced by Sasa Aman Talib. Photo source: Donald Tick, Facebook.

Cap (seal) Reje (king) Linge

Pusaka Keris wrapped in gold rings engraved carving typical Batak Nias Silver-glossed, King Leube Cut Pusaka (King Linge XVI), Koleksi – Kassah Hakim

Grave of king of Linge

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: