Kejurun of Patiambang / Sumatera – Prov. Aceh, Kab. Gayo Lues

The  Kejurun Patiambang was located on Sumatera, prov. Aceh, District Gayo Lues.

District Gayo Lues, Aceh

Line history kingdoms on Sumatera: link

Foto sultanate of Aceh

* Foto sultanate of Aceh: link
* Foto kings of small kingdoms in Aceh: link
Foto Aceh in the past: link
Foto war Aceh-netherlands (1873-1903): link

Foto kingdoms / sultanates on Sumatera

* Foto sultans and kings today on Sumatera: link
* Foto sultans and kings in the past on Sumatera: link

Video history of the kingdoms / sultanates on Sumatera

* Video history kingdoms on Sumatera, 75.000 BC – today: link
* Video history kingdoms on North Sumatera, 0 AD – today: link
Video history kingdoms on West Sumatera, 0 AD – today, link

About the kejurun

In the time of Sultan Iskandar Muda Kingdom the Gayo and Alas regions were formally incorporated into the administrative territory of Aceh. The area of Gayo and Alas were divided into several areas called Kejurun, although far before there were local government systems as Reje and Reje Cik in Gayo Lues, under the rule of the kingdom of Linge.
Gayo and Alas area were divided into eight kejurun. Each kejurun was given a basket, a special stick in place of a decree. After Sultan Muhammad Daudsyah surrendered to the Dutch in 1903, the Aceh Military Governor van Heutsz decided to conquer all of Aceh.
Areas that have not been subjected to that time are Gayo Lues and Alas. after defeating Gayo Laut, Gayo Deret, Van Daalen finally entered Gayo Lues area in a remote village of Kampung Kela (9 March 1904). From here the area of Gayo lues conquered fort after fort. Six in Gayo and two in Tanah Alas. In Gayo namely Kejuruan Bukit, Linge, Main Shi’a, Petimang (read: Patiamabang), Bebesen and Abuk; And in Tanah Alas, Kejurun Batu Mbulan and Bambel. Kejurun Patiambang was based in Penampaan, consisting of the entire area of Gayo Lues.

The dutch conquered the Benteng Pasir (March 16, 1904), Gemuyung (18,19,20 March 1904), Durin (22 March 1904), Rhino (April 4, 1904), Rikit Gaib (21 April 1904), Penosan (May 11, 1904), Tampeng (May 18, 1904). Nearly 4000 people of Gayo and Alas were killed, including Gayo fighters such as Aman Linting, Aman Jata, H Sulaiman, Lebe Jogam, Srikandi Inen Manyak Tri, Dimus and others.

About the small kingdoms under the sultanate of Aceh

* List of Uleebalang, 1914: link
* List of Uleebalang, 1940: link

The western part of the kingdom of Aceh Darussalam was opened and built in the 16th century on the initiative of Sultan Saidil Mukamil (Sultan of Aceh who lived between 1588-1604), followed by Sultan Iskandar Muda (Sultan of Aceh who lived in 1607-1636) the Acehnese Rayeuk and Pidie.
The first bustling area was at Meulaboh bay (Pasi Karam) ruled by a king who was titled Teuku Keujruen Meulaboh, and Negeri Daya (District Jaya) which at the end of the 15th century had established a kingdom with its king is Sultan Salatin Alaidin Riayat Shah with the title Poteu Meureuhom Daya.
The area of West Aceh at the end of the 17th century had developed into several small kingdoms led by a Uleebalang, namely: Kluang; Lamno; Kuala Lambeusoe; Kuala Daya; Kuala Unga; Babah Awe, and many more.

The structure of government of the small kingdoms

1) Gampong, the leader was called Geucik or Keuchik. The smallest territorial area of the government structure in Aceh was the Gampong. A Gampong consisted of groups of houses adjacent to each other.
The leader of the gampong was called Geucik or Keuchik, who was assisted by a proficient in religious matters, as Teungku Meunasah.
2) Mukim, the leader was called Imum Mukim. The larger territorial area of government was the Mukim. The Mukim was a combination of several gampongs, which were located nearby.
The leader of Mukim was called Imum Mukim. He was the one who coordinated the village (gampong) heads or Keuchik-Keuchik.
3) Sago or Sagoe, the leader was called Commander Sagoe or Panglima Sagi. In the Aceh region of Rayeuk (District Aceh Besar now), was a form of government called Sagoe or Sagi. The entire region of Aceh Rayeuk was incorporated into three Sagi, which can be regarded as three federations. The three Sagoe or Sagi were named:
1. Sagi XXII Mukim, consisted of 22 mukim.
2. Siva XXV Mukim, consisted of 25 mukim
3. Sagi XXVI Mukim, consisted of 26 Mukim
The leader was called Panglima Sagoe or Panglima Sagi, from generation to generation, they also hold the title of Uleebalang.
They were appointed as Panglima Sagi by the Sultan of Aceh, who gave them a stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh known as Cap Sikureung.
4) Nangroe, the leader was called Uleebalang. Another form of royal territory found in Aceh was called Nangroe or Negeri. This Nangroe was actually a conquered area of the Kingdom of Aceh and was located outside Aceh Inti or Aceh Rayeuk.
The leadership of Nangroe was called Uleebalang, which was established by tradition for generations.
Uleebalang was the Head of State of the small kingdoms who were very powerful. However, when they assume the position of Uleebalang in their area, they had to be approved by the Sultan of Aceh. The Appointment Letter was called Sarakata and stamped with the stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh, Cap Sikureung.
5) The Sultan. The highest level in the government structure of the Kingdom of Aceh was the central government based in the royal capital, formerly known as Bandar Aceh Dar as Salam. The head of the central government was the Sultan who had the title of Tuanku.

Map of the  small kingdoms in Aceh 1917

Source Gayo Lues (only indon. language)

– Sejarah Gayo Lues:
– Patiambang dan struktur pemerintahan di Gayo Lues:

Source (only indon. language)

– Uleebalang di Aceh:
– Uleebalang di kesultanan Aceh:
– Sejarah Uleebalang:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Tentang uleebalang:

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: