Kingdom of Batanghio / Prov. Sumatera Utara

The Kingdom of Batanghio is a kingdom of the Simalungun people, Saragih Clan, located in Kabupaten Simalungun, prov. of north Sumatera.

District of Simalungun

Provinsi of North Sumatera

* Foto’s kingdoms in Simalungun region: link

History of the kingdom

Google translation

Regarding the Kingdom of Batanghio, Tideman (1922) writes in his report on Simalungun. This kingdom is located in Tanah Jawauri (Tanoh Jawa) (Tideman, 1922, Kroesen 1904: 557). Batanghio was originally believed to be a partuanon of Nagur, but later Batanghio’s status was elevated to the kingdom of the Saragih clan. The kingdom of Nagur and the kingdom of Batanghio on top of that is then commonly called the two kingdoms (harajaon na dua) as the first phase. Around the year 1293-1295, the kingdom of Nagur and Batanghio invaded the kingdom of Singasari during the reign of the king Kertanegara. The expedition, known as the Pamalayu expedition, then established the Kingdom (Dolog) Silou at the end of the XIV century (Damanik, 2008: :2-3).

Map District of Simalungun with the boundaries of the kingdoms

About the Saragih Clan

Google translation

Saragih is a clan from the Simalungun tribe originally from an area called Simalungun in the province of North Sumatra.
Several versions of historical sources state, that the Saragih ancestors came from South India, who traveled to East Sumatra to Aceh, Langkat, Bangun Purba area, to Bandar Kalifah to Batubara.
Due to local tribal urges, they then moved to the suburbs of Toba and Samosir.
The first Saragih clan (Hasusuran-1) itself arose, when one of the Panglima (Panglima) of the Nagur kingdom was made a son-in-law by King Nagur and subsequently established a new kingdom in Raya (around the area now called Pematang Raya, Simalungun).

Kingdoms in the Simalungun area

Google translation

In its history there are 3 (three) phases of kingdoms, that once ruled and reigned in Simalungun.
The first phase is the two kingdom phase (harajaon na dua):

NB: Marga = Clan

* Kingdom of Nagur (marga Damanik) dan
* Kingdom of Batanghio (marga Saragih).

The second phase is the phase of 4 kingdoms:

* Kingdom of Siantar (marga Damanik),
* Kingdom of Panai (marga Purba Dasuha),
* Kingdom of Silau (marga Purba Tambak), dan
Kingdom of Tanoh Jawa (marga Sinaga).

The third phase is the phase of 7 kingdoms:

* Kingdom of Siantar (marga Damanik),
Kingdom of Panai (marga Purba Dasuha),
* Kingdom of Silau (marga Purba Tambak),
Kingdom of Tanoh Jawa (marga Sinaga),
Kingdom of Raya (marga Saragih Garingging),
Kingdom of Purba (marga Purba Pakpak) dan
* Kingdom of Silimakuta (marga Purba Girsang) (Damanik, 2010:1-2).

This third phase begins with the actions of the Dutch government to form a government in the Simalungun region, by treating Belsuit Governor General of the Dutch East Indies Stbl. No 531 of 1906 with the arrangement of seven Kingdoms, called “Napal Kings”.

Map of kingdoms in Sumatera Utara, 19th century

Source (only indonesia language)

– Kerajaan Batanghio:

– Sejarah kerajaan Simalungun:
Sejarah kerajaan Simalungun:
– Sejarah kerajaan Simalungun:
– Suku Simalungun di Wiki: Wiki
Marga marga Simalungun:
Sejarah marga Purba di Wiki: Wiki
Sejarah marga Saragih di Wiki: Wiki
Sejarah marga Sinaga di Wiki:  Wiki
Sejarah marga Damanik di Wiki: Wiki
Asal usul bangsa Simalungun: link