Kingdom of Kaimana / Prov. Papua Barat – Kab. Kaimana

The kingdom of Kaimana is located in District Kaimana, prov. Papua Barat.

Provinsi Papua Barat

Location of Kaimana (red circle)

* Foto ancient sites on Papua: link
* Foto old Papua: link

About the king today (2018)

King today: Rat Umis Abdul Hakim Achmad Aituarauw dari Kaimana.


History of Kaimana

Google translation

Umar Sabuku, Mangkubumi Kaimana, reveals, the kingdom of Sran Eman Muun is estimated to exist around the beginning of the 12th century. Since its establishment, this kingdom had moved three times the government center from Weri / Tunas Gain in the area of ​​Fak-Fak Regency, then moved to Borombouw on Adi Island of Arafuru sea waters of Kaimana Regency. In the period from 1498 to 1808, there was the Hongi War and a split within the royal family so that Nduvin, King Sran Kaimana IV in 1808, moved the capital to the area that is now the village of Sran, Kaimana.
“The kingdom of Sran Eman Muun was split into a number of small kingdoms in Kaimana to Fak-Fak, for example, through marriage of royal families such as the Namatota Kingdom on Namatota Kaimana Island,” he said. According to Umar Sabuku, who is also imam Masjid Nurul Falah, Kampung Bumi Surmai (Bumsur), Kaimana District, the entry of Islam was first brought by Imam Dhikr at Borombouw in 1405.
In 1898, the development of Islam grew larger when Naro’E, replacing Nduvin, his father, became king Sran Kaimana V. At that time, Naro’E married the chief son of Kaimana. Islam in Kaimana had existed since the 16-17th century, result of trading activities, especially spices in this area. Although Islam had existed since the 16th century, according to Muridan, there was no significant development until the end of the first centenary of 20th century. The kingdoms in Kaimana and Fak-Fak were loose and the king got the legitimacy of the larger kingdom in the area, namely the Tidore Sultanate. “Basically the so-called kings are brokers or intermediaries as well as traders (sellers and collectors). They got the title of king from Tidore Sultanate, but with tribute reward, “said Muridan.

List of kings of Kaimana

Rulers (title Rat, from c.1898 Raja)

* …. – ….:  Umis I Imaga
* …. – ….:  Umis II Basir Onin
* …. – ….:  Umis III Woran
* 18..    – 1898: Umis IV Nduvin
* 1898 – 1923:  Umis V Naro’E
* 1923 – 1966:  Umis VI Achmad Aituarauw
* 1966 – 1980:  Umis VII Muh Achmad Rais Aituarauw (+1980)
* 1980 – …:       Umis VIII Abdul Hakim Achmad Aituarauw

– Source:
– Penjelasan raja Kaimana:

Kingdoms on Prov. West Papua

kerajaan = kingdom
marga = Clan

1) Peninsula Bomberai

Kerajaan Aiduma
Kerajaan Kowiai/kerajaan Namatota

2) Peninsula Onin

Kerajaan Fatagar (marga Uswanas)
Kerajaan Rumbati (marga Bauw)
Kerajaan Atiati (marga Kerewaindżai)
Kerajaan Patipi
Kerajaan Sekar (marga Rumgesan)
Kerajaan Wertuar (marga Heremba)
Kerajaan Arguni

3) Raja Empat

Kerajaan Waigeo
Kerajaan Misool/Lilinta (marga Dekamboe)
Kerajaan Salawati (marga Arfan)
Kerajaan Sailolof/Waigama (marga Tafalas)
Kerajaan Waigama

4) Papua Barat, kab. Kaimana

Kerajaan Kaimana

The history of the kingdoms of Prov. West Papua

Google translation

According to Kakawin Nagarakretagama written between September-October 1365, Wwanin / Onin (Fakfak District) was an area of ​​influence of Majala Majapahit Kingdom, this region may be part of the Hindu kingdom colonies in the Maluku Islands recognized by Majapahit conquest.

In his book “Neiuw Guinea”, WC. Klein also explained the early facts of the influence of the Bacan kingdom on Papua. There he writes: in 1569 Papuan leaders visited the kingdom of Bacan. According to the oral history of the Biak people, there was a relationship and marriage between their tribal chiefs and the sultans of Tidore. The Biak tribe was the largest Melanesian tribe that spreads on the northern coast of Papua, therefore the Biak language is also the most widely used and considered as the language of Papuan unity. Due to the relation of coastal areas of Papua to the Sultan-Sultan of Maluku there were several local kingdoms (pertuanan), which indicate the entry of feudalism system which is not the original culture of ethnic Papua.

In the Raja Ampat Islands located off the coast of Papua there are 4 traditional kingdoms belonging to the mandala territory of Bacan and the sultanate of Ternate, each of which was the kingdom of Waigeo, with its central power in Wewayai, Waigeo island; Salawati kingdom, with a power center in Samate, the island of Salawati Utara; the Sailolof empire with the center of power in Sailolof, South Salawati island, and the kingdom of Misol, with the center of power in Lilinta, Misol island.

In 1660, the VOC had signed an agreement with the Tidore sultan in which Tidore recognized the Dutch protectorate of the people of West Irian. This agreement clearly covered the inhabitants of the islands between Maluku and Irian. Obviously, Tidore never actually controlled Irian. So the Dutch protectorate is just a legal fiction.

Tidore considered himself the superior of Biak. At that time, Malay traders began to visit the island of Irian. It is precisely this view of Tidore which is the reason the Dutch consider the western part of the island is part of the Dutch East Indies.

Since the 16th century, in addition to the Raja Ampat Islands belonging to the Sultan of Bacan and the Sultan of Ternate, other areas of Papua are the coastal areas of Papua from the island of Biak (as well as the Biak distribution areas) until Mimika is part of the mandala territory of Tidore Sultanate, a a large empire adjacent to the territory of Papua.
In 1826 Pieter Merkus, the Dutch governor of Maluku, heard rumors that England began to enter the coast of Irian in the east of the Aru Islands. He decided the group to explore the beach until Dolak Island. Two years later, the Dutch built the Fort Du Bus, which is now the city of Lobo, with the ultimate goal of blocking other European powers landed in western Irian. Fort Du Bus was abandoned in 1836.
In 1872, Tidore recognized the authority of the Kingdom of the Netherlands upon him.

The Dutch returned to Irian in 1898. Irian was divided between the Netherlands, Germany (northern part of eastern Irian) and England (southern part of eastern Irian). The arc line 141 is recognized as the eastern boundary of western Irian. In 1898 – 1949, western Papua was known as Dutch New Guinea.

Source (only indon. language)

Sejarah kerajaan Kaimana:
– Sejarah kerajaan Kaimana:
Daftar Raja Kaimana:

Sejarah kerajaan2 Papua Barat:
– Kerajaan2 Islam di Papua:
– Kerajaan2 di Semenanjung Onin:
– Sistem kerajaan2 tradisional di Papua:
– Sejarah kerajaan2 di Papua Barat:
– Kerajaan2 di Semenanjung Bomberai:
Kerajaan2 di kepulauan Raja empat:
– Sejarah kepulauan Raja empat:


Rat Umis Abdul Hakim Achmad Aituarauw

Marriage in the raja family of Kaimana.A son of the raja of Kaimana marries;Raja Abdul Hakim Ach. Aituarauw. Arwan Heremba Andrea Borella . Kaimana is a principlaity in the kabupaten of Kaimana in W Papua. Sumber: Ruhullah Syahal Aituarauw

Raja Rat Umis VI Achmad Aituarauw

From left to right: the raja of Fatagar, the raja of Rumbati, a former raja of Sekar, the raja of Arguni, a raja-muda (son of the ruler) of Kaimana and the Rat Umis of Kaimana. Source: donald tick, FB

Raja Rat Umis VII Muhammad Achmad Aituarauw