Kingdom of Kabalan / Jawa – region of Malang

The kingdom of Kabalan was located on Jawa, region city of Malang, sub-district Kedungkandang. The kingdom of Kabalan was a kingdom under the kingdom of Majapahit. Existed in the 13th century.

Location of the city of Malang

Line of kingdoms on Jawa: link

Foto kingdoms on Jawa

* Foto sultans and raja’s, still on Jawa link
* Foto keratons (palaces) still on Jawa: link
* Foto Batavia (Jakarta) in the past: link
* Foto Jawa in the past: link
* Attack on Batavia by Sultan Agung, 1628/1628: link
* Foto Diponegoro war, 1825: link
* Foto old sites on Jawa: link

Video history kingdoms on Jawa

– Video rulers of the sultanate of Mataram, 1556 – 2020: link
– Video history of the sultanate of Mataram, 1576-2020: link
– Video history of the kingdom of Medang Mataram Hindu, 752 – 1045: link
– Video history of the kingdom of Majapahit, 1293 – 1527: link
– Video rulers of Majapahit until the sultanate of Mataram, 1293 – 1587: link
– Video history of kingdoms on East Jawa, 1.5 million BC – 2020: link
– Video history of kingdoms on West Jawa, 3000 BC – 2020: link
– Video history of kingdoms on Central Jawa, 1.5 million BC – 2020: link


History of the kingdom of Kabalan, 13th century

The eastern sub-area of ​​Malang City on the slopes and valleys of Mount Malang (Buring) had since the X century AD developed into an urban area with a socio-cultural system, that regularly and fairly advanced in his era. That condition was a  factor to choose Kabalon as the center of government (kadatwan) of the vazal-kingdoms (nagari) during the Majapahit era of Hayam Wuruk government. There were two vazal kingdoms of Majapahit in the eastern region of Gunung Kawi (read “Malangraya”), namely: (1) Nagari Kabalan, and (2) Nagari Tumapel.

Thus, in the mid-14th century, Kabalon, originally an agricultural village and a craftsman village, grew significantly into a nagari center, called “Nagari Kabalan”. The pioneers of this nagari, who were of “bhattara” rank, were therefore named “Bhattara i Kabalan” or called shorter “Bhre Kabalan (Bhre = bhra + i)”. The top leaders in Nagari Tumapel were called “Bhattara i Tumapel” or diakronimkam become “Bhre Tumapel”.

Location of the kingdom of Kabalan

Kingdoms under the kingdom of Majapahit

The Majapahit empire was a continuation of Singhasari, comprised of certain areas in the eastern and central parts of Java. This area was ruled by the uparaja called Paduka Bhattara who was titled Bhre or “Bhatara i”. This title was the highest title of royalty. Usually this position was only for kin close relatives. Their job was to manage their kingdoms, levy taxes, and send tributes to the center, and manage defenses at the borders of the regions they lead.
During the reign of Hayam Wuruk (1350 s.d.1389) there were 12 areas in Majapahit, which were run by close kin of kings. The hierarchy in the classification of territory in the Majapahit kingdom is known as follows.

  • Bhumi: kingdom, ruled by a Raja
  • Nagara: ruled by rajya (gubernur), or natha (tuan), or bhre (pangeran or bangsawan)
  • Watek: managing by wiyasa,
  • Kuwu: managing by lurah,
  • Wanua: managing by thani,
  • Kabuyutan: small dusun (village) or holy place.

Source (indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan Kabalan:

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: