Kingdom of Wanagiri / Java – Cirebon

The kingdom of Wanagiri was located on di Jawa, in the District of Cirebon.
This kingdom was a colony of the kingdom of Tarumanagara, but later it was under the control of the Sunda Kingdom.
In the 15th century, the Wanagiri kingdom was divided into four kingdoms, namely the Cirebon Girang kingdom, the Japura kingdom, the Surantaka kingdom, and the Sing Apura kingdom.

District of Cirebon

Line of kingdoms on Jawa: link

Foto kingdoms on Jawa

* Foto sultans and raja’s, still on Jawa link
* Foto keratons (palaces) still on Jawa: link
* Foto Batavia (Jakarta) in the past: link
* Foto Jawa in the past: link
* Attack on Batavia by Sultan Agung, 1628/1628: link
* Foto Diponegoro war, 1825: link
* Foto old sites on Jawa: link

Video history kingdoms on Jawa

– Video rulers of the sultanate of Mataram, 1556 – 2020: link
– Video history of the sultanate of Mataram, 1576-2020: link
– Video history of the kingdom of Medang Mataram Hindu, 752 – 1045: link
– Video history of the kingdom of Majapahit, 1293 – 1527: link
– Video rulers of Majapahit until the sultanate of Mataram, 1293 – 1587: link
– Video history of kingdoms on East Jawa, 1.5 million BC – 2020: link
– Video history of kingdoms on West Jawa, 3000 BC – 2020: link
– Video history of kingdoms on Central Jawa, 1.5 million BC – 2020: link


History of the kingdom of Wanagiri, under the kingdom of Tarumanagara, 358 – 699

Google translation

This kingdom was located in the middle of western Java. At the beginning of its establishment the kingdom was a  vasal of the kingdom of Tarumanagara (358-699) while later it became under the rule of the Sunda Kingdom.

At the time of Cakrawarman’s rebellion in Tarumanagara, the territory of the Wanagiri kingdom was once the base camp of the rebel army. Due to the Cakrawarman plot supported by well-respected figures and large numbers of troops, the Wanagiri Kingdom could not do much, when Cakrawarman established a “headquarters” to wage a riot around the Wanagiri area.
After the combined forces of Tarumanagara with several other subordinate kingdoms managed to drive Cakrawarman’s gang from Wanagiri, finally the Wanagiri Kingdom began to play a role in helping Tarumanagara eradicate the Cakrawarman rebels and their followers. The form of that role was by sending a messenger named Babarkalih to join the troops Tarumanagara royal leadership Indraprahasta in the attack to the headquarters of Cakrawarman in Girinata. The attack succeeded in crushing the Cakrawarman revolt movement completely.

In further development, especially after Tarumanagara was divided into two, the Wanagiri Kingdom became part of the Indraprahasta Kingdom. The king who ruled the Kingdom of Wanagiri was then named Duke of Kosala. He was the husband of Ganggakirana (the youngest daughter of Padmahariwangsa / king of 13th Indraprahasta).

When the kingdom of Indraprahasta was destroyed by Sanjaya with the combined forces of the Kingdom of Sunda, the Kingdom of Mataram, and the Kingdom of the Mummy of Sembara, finally the Kingdom of Wanagiri became independent. In fact, Duke of Kosala, entrusted by Sanjaya to rule in the former territory of this Indraprahasta Kingdom.
Later, precisely in the 15th century, the Kingdom of Wanagiri was divided into four kingdoms, namely the Kingdom of Cirebon Girang, Kingdom of Japura, Kingdom of Surantaka, and Kingdom of Sing Apura. 

Old maps of Jawa

For old maps of Jawa (1598,  1612, 1614, 1650, 1660, 1800-an, abad ke-18, 1840) klik here

Jawa, tahun 1650

Source (only indon. language)

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: