Sultanate of Ternate / Island of Ternate – Prov. Maluku Utara

The Sultanate of Ternate is located on the island of Ternate. The Sultanate of Ternate or also known as the Gapi Kingdom is one of the 4 Islamic kingdoms in the Maluku Islands and is one of the oldest Islamic kingdoms in the archipelago. Founded by Baab Mashur Malamo in 1257. The Sultanate of Ternate had an important role in the eastern region of the archipelago between the 13th century and the 17th century. The Sultanate of Ternate enjoyed glory in the middle of the 16th century thanks to the spice trade and military power. 

Location of Ternate

Location of Ternate

Foto sultanate of Ternate

* Foto sultanate of Ternate: link
* Foto palace sultanate of Ternate: link
* Foto burial Sultan of Ternate, 19-02-2015: link

Video sultanate of Ternate

* Video history sultanate of Ternate, 1257 M – today: link
* Video tradition Dorugam to welcome the sultan of Ternate: link
* Video palace sultanate of Ternate: link
* Video ceown sultanate of Ternate: link
* Video wedding son of Sultan of Ternate (2012): link
* Video Sultan of Ternate in Memoriam, 1935-2015: link


About the sultan

19 febr. 2015: Sultan of Ternate, Mudaffar II Sjah (Sultan the-48) died at the age of 79 years.
Sumber: detiknews.

4 sept. 2016: The new sultan is Syarifuddin Bin Iskandar Muhammad Djabir Sjah, the 49th. Sultan.

History of the sultanate of Ternate

Video history sultanate of Ternate, 1257 M – today: link

There are 5 sultanates in North Maluku: Ternate, Tidore, Bacan, Jailolo and Loloda.

The Sultanate of Ternate is one of the oldest Muslim kingdoms in Indonesia, established by Baab Mashur Malamo in 1257. It reached its Golden Age during the reign of Sultan Baabullah (1570–1583) and encompassed most of the eastern part of Indonesia and a part of southern Philippines. Ternate was a world producer of cloves and a major power in the region from the 15th to 17th centuries.
The dynasty founded by Baab Mashur Malamo continues to the present, as does the Sultanate itself, although it no longer hold any political power. The current sultan is H.H. Sultan Drs. H. Mudaffar II Sya who assumed the title in 1975.

In the 18th century Ternate was the site of a VOC governorship, which attempted to control all trade in the northern Moluccas. By the 19th century, the spice trade had declined substantially. Hence the region was less central to the Netherlands colonial state, but the Dutch maintained a presence in the region to prevent another colonial power from occupying it. After the VOC was nationalised by the Dutch government in 1800, Ternate became part of the Government of the Moluccas (Gouvernement der Molukken). Ternate was occupied by British forces in 1810 before being returned to Dutch control in 1817. In 1824 it became the capital of a residency (administrative region) covering Halmahera, the entire west coast of New Guinea, and the central east coast of Sulawesi. By 1867 all of Dutch-occupied New Guinea had been added to the residency, but then its region was gradually transferred to Ambon (Amboina) before being dissolved into that residency in 1922.

Sultan Haji Muhammad Usman (1896–1914) made a last attempt to drive out the Dutch by instigating revolts in the region; he failed and was dethroned, his wealth being confiscated, and he was exiled to Bandung, where he lived his remaining years until 1927. The throne of Ternate was left vacant from 1914 to 1927, until the board of ministers under the blessing of the Dutch created Crown Prince Iskandar Muhammad Jabir the next Sultan.

Sultan Mudaffar Sjah II died in 2015. The male members of his wife’s family, the Dutch Van Gelders, were named Prince of Ternate in 2012, and rule the island since Mudaffar’s death.

– Source: link

List of Sultans

* 1257-1277: Cico
* 1277-1284: Poit
* 1284-1298: Siale
* 1298-1304: Kalabata
* 1304-1317: Komalo
* 1317-1332: Patsaranga
* 1322-1331: Sidang Arif
* 1331-1332: Paji Ma Lamo
* 1332-1343: Syah Alam
* 1343-1347: Tolu Ma Lamo

* 1347-1350: Boheyat
* 1350-1357: Ngolo Ma Caya
* 1357-1359: Momole
* 1359-1372: Gapi Ma Lamo
* 1372-1377: Gapi Baguna I
* 1377-1432: Komalo Pulu
* 1432-1465: Gapi Baguna II
* 1465-1486: Marhum
* 1486-1500: Zainal Abidin
* 1500-1521: Bayan Sirullah

* 1522-1529: Boheyat
* 1529-1533: Dayal
* 1533-1535: Tabariji
* 1535-1570: Hairun Jamilu
* 1570-1583: Baab Ullah
* 1584-1606: Saidi Barkat
* 1606-1627: Mudaffar
* 1627-1648: Hamza
* 1648-1675: Mandar Sjah Kaicil
* 1675-1690: Sibori Amsterdam

* 1692-1714: Said Fatuddin Toloko
* 1751-1752: Safiuddin Kaicil Raja Laut
* 1752-1754: Outhoorn Ayan Sjah
* 1755-1764: Syah Mardan
* 1765-1774: Jalaluddin Kaicil
* 1774-1781: Arun Sjah
* 1781-1796: Aharal
* 1796-1801: Sarkan
* 1801-1807: Muhammad Jasin

* 1807-1821: Muhammad Ali
* 1821-1823: Sarmole Van Der Parra
* 1823-1859: Muhammad Zain
* 1861-1876: Muhammad Arsad
* 1879-1900: Ayanhar
* 1902: Muhammad Ilham
* 1904-1914: Muhammad Usman Sjah
* 1929-1975: Iskandar Muhammad Djabir Sjah
* 1975-19 febr. 2015: Drs. H. Mudaffar Sjah, Bc.HK. M.SI

The Palace

The palace is lined by a wall of more than 3 meters high, which resembles a fortress. In this palace there is also a complex of settlements of kings and their families, and the tomb complex of the imperial predecessors. This European-style palace overlooking the sea, is in a complex with an imperial mosque founded by Sultan Hamzah, the 9th Sultan of Ternate.


– History of the sultanate on Melayuonline: link
– History of the sultanate on Wiki:
History of the sultanate: link
List of Sultans: link
– Political resurrection of the king: link

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: