Kingdom of Tabukan / Isl. of Sangihe – Prov. Sulawesi Utara

The kingdom of Tabukan is located on the island of Sangihe, province of North Sulawesi.

Location of Sangihe


Location of Sangihe

* Foto kingdom of Tabukan: link

* Foto kingdoms on the island of Sangihe: link

History of the kingdom of Tabukan

Antonio Pigafetta (a Magellan clerk in 1421) recorded that on the Sangihe there were four kings. Two on Siau and one on Tagulandang. But three centuries later historical sources, accoring to the writings of F. Valentijn, who came to the Sangihe early 18th century, mentioned only two kingdoms on Sangihe, namely Tabukan and Kalongan. According to him, then approximately in 1670 appeared nine kingdoms on Sangihe, namely: the kingdoms of Kendahe, Taruna, Kolongan, Manganitu, Kauhis, Limau, Tabukan, Sawang (Saban) and the Tamako.
After king Makaampo died, his son, Wuatengsemba, became the first king of Tabukan in the Portuguese and Spanish colonial period 1575-1610. Wuatengsemba married  with Tansekoa daughter, the daughter of the queen Lohoraung. The kingdom covered Selimahe untill Padarehokang, except the Tamako region from Lelapide to Toademanandu, which belonged to the kingdom of Siau during the reign of Makaampo. During his reign the Portugese came to Tabukan.

List of kings

Versi 1 – Source:

* 1530-1575: King don Macaampo / Wawenggehe
* 1575-1610: King Pahawuateng / Wuatengsemba, putera
* 1610-1677: R. Hama / Gamanbanua / Gadma, son. From 1654 Markus Vascoda Filianena (first ruler with the title king)
* 1677-1700: R. Don Francesco/Franciscus Macaampo Juda I/Rolongsego Juda I. (murdered), son
* 1700-1718: R. Mehengkelangki /Matheus Fransicscos Macaampo. Son
* 1718-1722: R. Jacob Markus Dalero. Brother.
* 1722-1757:
A) R. Don Philip Macaampo/Karula. Son 5.
B) Around 1748 t; dari 1748-17.e The king was sick. The Jogugu (district chief) was temporary-ruler: Jacobus Takalima.
* 1757-1782: R. David Johan Philip/ Macaampo Sani/Mawu Sinaka. Grandchild.
* 1782-1785?: Hendrik Daniel Paparang/Pahawuateng II. Grandchild.
* 1……-1847: R. Willem Alexander Paparang/Juda II. Son.

* 1847?-1851: Jacob Nicolaas Paparang/Bebesang. Son
* 1851-1880: Hendrik David Paparang/Kumuku/Mawu Nilawu. Brother
* 1880-1881: Regent Ahogho Paparang/Herman Paparang. Brother
* 1881-1882: Regent L.W. Israel Kakomba
* 1882-1883: Regent Labanasse Manossoh
* 1883: Regent Manganguling Laihad
* 1883: Regent Buli-Wuli (W.) Janis. Ruled 6 months.
* 1883-1885: Regent Ansa Dulage Kansil
* 1885-1892: Regent Cornelis Sirih Darea (1885-1892 (died when he was captured)
* 1892-1922: Raja David Jonathan Papukule Sarapil. Untill 1897 regen.
Had no legal royal children. One son was prince Sarapil, whose descendent after some generations was Raja David Sarapil, who was much praised by the dutch as a superb ruler. Born in 1850.

* 1922-1929: R. Willem Alexander Kahendage Sarapil (exiled to Sulawesi in 1928. .Already ruled 1-9-1922
* 1929-1944: R. Lefinus Israel Petrus Macpal. Killed by the japanese.
* 1944-1946: Temporary-Raja Umar Muhammad (Colonial official from Minahass) (also ruler of Tahuna 1942-1945?)
* 1946: Temp. Raja Abdullah Mohammad (Colonial official From Gorontalo)
* 1949-1951: Rudolf A. Tasin. Former Jogugu)
* 1951-1952: J.M. Laihad; Highest Ruler of the Self Governed State/Pejabat Swapraja
* 1952-1953: Buol Pontoh. Chief / Head of semi-independent state


Versi 2  – Source:

1342-1402: Raja Matandatu from Salurang
1402-1457: Raja Pahawonseke from Sahabe
1457-1512: Raja Mamatanusa
1512-1567: Raja Wuatengsemba
1567-1662: Raja Gamanbanua Nena
1662-1672: Raja Don Franciscus Rolongsenggo Juda I
1672-1712: Raja Franciscus Mehengkenglangi
1712-1722: Raja Jacob Markus Dalero
1722-1757: Raja Don Philip Karula. Around 1748 the Raja was sickly; From 1748 the Jogugu (A District Chief) was temporary-Ruler: Jacobus Takalima
1757-1782: Raja David Johan Philip Sani
1782-1785: Raja Hendrik Daniel Paparang Pahawuateng II
1785-1847: Raja Raja Willem Paparang Juda II
1847- 1851: Raja Jacob Nocolaas Paparang Bebesang
1851-1892: Raja David Paparang Kumuku (mawu nilawu)
1880-1881: Regent Aghogho Paparang
1881-1882: Regent L.W. Israel Kakomba
1882-1883: Regent Labanasse Manossoh 
1883: Regent Manganguling Laihad 
1883: Regent Buli Wuli Janis 
1883-1885: Regent Ansa Dulage 
1885-1892: Regent Cornelis Sirih Darea
1892-1922: Raja Jonathan Papukule Sarapil
1922-1929: Raja Willem Kahendage Sarapil
1929-1944: Raja Lefinus Israel Macpal.

Family of king Sarapil (king of Tabukan), family K.G.F. Steller and Kel G.F Schroder (Penginjil Sangihe)

A brief history of the kingdoms on the Sangihe Islands

Between 1000 and 1600 the Sangihe archipelago had 4 kingdoms (Kararatuang) which existed before the arrival of the Portuguese, Spanish and Dutch, namely:

1) Bowongtehu Kingdom,
2) Kingdom of Tamungan Lawo (Sangihe),
3) Mohonsohowang Kingdom,
4) Karangetang Kingdom (Siau).

Around 1670 nine kingdoms appeared in Sangihe, namely:

– Kendahe Kingdom,
– Kingdom of Taruna,
– Kingdom of Kolongan,
– Manganitu Kingdom,
– The Kingdom of Kauhis,
– The Kingdom of Limes,
– The Kingdom of the Tabs,
– Kingdom of Sawang (Saban) and
– Tamako Kingdom.

However, the last kingdom (Tamako) became part of Siau.
Meanwhile, the king of Limau was defeated by Padtbrugge’s troops. This kingdom was destroyed.
Sawang joined the Taruna Kingdom and the Kolongan Kingdom.
Kauhis joined Manganitu.

In 1898 the Kendahe Kingdom and the Taruna Kingdom were merged into one. In these two regions, in 1919, King Soleman Ponto ruled with his center in the present-day Kota Tahuna.

In the 1900s only six kingdoms emerged:

– The Kingdom of Tabukan,
– Kingdom of Manganitu,
– Kingdom of Siau,
– Kingdom of Kendahe and
– Kingdom of Tagulandang Kingdom, Talaud in 1922,
– Kingdom of Kandhar Taruna.

Source Tabukan (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan Tabukan:
Sejarah kerajaan Tabukan:
Daftar Raja Tabukan:
– Makam raja Tabukan Ampo Wawengeh (1530):

Source kingdoms on Sangihe (only indon. language)

Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
– Raja raja Sangihe Talaud:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Sulawesi Utara:

Old maps of the islands of Sangihe, Talaud dan Tagulandang

Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1700.


Islands Sangir (Sangir) and Talaud, 1724


Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1894

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: