Kingdom of Beutong / Sumatera – Prov. Aceh, Kab. Nagan Raya

The kingdom of Beutong is located on Sumatra, District Nagan Raya, prov. Aceh.
During the sultanate of Aceh this kingdom was a vassal or subordinate to the sultan of Aceh and was led by the king who had the title of Uleebalang.
After the end of the Aceh War, in 1914, Beutong entered Onderafdeling Meulaboh, as “swapraja”.

Location prov. of Aceh

District Nagan Raya

* Foto Aceh: Sultanate of Aceh Darussalem: link
* Foto Aceh: kings of small kingdoms in Aceh: link
Foto Aceh: Aceh in the past: link
Foto Aceh: War Aceh-belanda (1873-1903): link

About the king today (2017)

There is no name of the king available.

History of the kingdom

In the past the country was ruled by a non-Muslim king originally from North Sumatra (Swamp / Batak 27). And by asking for guidance and protection from Allah SWT, Teuku Raja Beutong Benggalang using tactics and strategies without war, managed to make the king and the royal officials ran away from the land.
Soon Teuku Raja Beutong Benggalang began to lead the country with wisdom and justice. Then he gave a new name for the country, namely Beutong, which he took from the name of one country in the kingdom of Pedir (Pidie District).

After the end of the Aceh War, in 1914, Beutong entered Onderafdeling Meulaboh, as “swapraja”.
At the time of the Japanese occupation (1942-1945M), Teuku Raja Beutong Banta Tjut was still recognized as the leader of Beutong kingdom called as Beutong Son or Sonco Beutong. During this period there were kings who were killed by Japanese occupation troops, like Teuku Chik Ali Akbar (king of Meulaboh) and Teuku Ben (king of Seunagan).

List of kings

1) The first king and founder of Beutong Kingdom was Teuku Peusunu or Teuku Raja Beutong Benggalang. According to history from the kingdom of Pedir (Now Pidie District) at the end of the Sultanate of Atjeh Darussalam in order by Sultan Alaidin Johan Shah 1735-1760.
2) The second king of Beutong kingdom was Teuku Lundeh or Teuku Raja Beutong Chik, who was the biological child of Teuku Raja Beutong Benggalang.
3) The third king of Beutong kingdom was Teuku Raja Beutong Dalam, one of the sons of Teuku Raja Beutong Chik (second King).
4) The fourth king of Beutong Kingdom was Teuku Raja Beutong Abdullah, who was the son of Teuku Raja Beutong Dalam (third King).
5) The fifth king of Beutong Kingdom was Teuku Raja Beutong Ali Nafiah, or called Ampon Beutong Ali. He was the son of Teuku Raja Beutong Abdullah (fourth King).
6) The sixth king (last) of Beutong Kingdom was Teuku Raja Beutong Banta Tjut and called Ampon Beutong Banta. He was the son of Teuku Raja Beutong Abdullah (fourth King).

– Full story:

About the small kingdoms under the sultanate of Aceh

* List of Uleebalang, 1914: link
* List of Uleebalang, 1940: link

The western part of the kingdom of Aceh Darussalam was opened and built in the 16th century on the initiative of Sultan Saidil Mukamil (Sultan of Aceh who lived between 1588-1604), followed by Sultan Iskandar Muda (Sultan of Aceh who lived in 1607-1636) the Acehnese Rayeuk and Pidie.
The first bustling area was at Meulaboh bay (Pasi Karam) ruled by a king who was titled Teuku Keujruen Meulaboh, and Negeri Daya (District Jaya) which at the end of the 15th century had established a kingdom with its king is Sultan Salatin Alaidin Riayat Shah with the title Poteu Meureuhom Daya.
The area of West Aceh at the end of the 17th century had developed into several small kingdoms led by a Uleebalang, namely: Kluang; Lamno; Kuala Lambeusoe; Kuala Daya; Kuala Unga; Babah Awe, and many more.

The structure of government of the small kingdoms

1) Gampong, the leader was called Geucik or Keuchik. The smallest territorial area of the government structure in Aceh was the Gampong. A Gampong consisted of groups of houses adjacent to each other.
The leader of the gampong was called Geucik or Keuchik, who was assisted by a proficient in religious matters, as Teungku Meunasah.
2) Mukim, the leader was called Imum Mukim. The larger territorial area of government was the Mukim. The Mukim was a combination of several gampongs, which were located nearby.
The leader of Mukim was called Imum Mukim. He was the one who coordinated the village (gampong) heads or Keuchik-Keuchik.
3) Sago or Sagoe, the leader was called Commander Sagoe or Panglima Sagi. In the Aceh region of Rayeuk (District Aceh Besar now), was a form of government called Sagoe or Sagi. The entire region of Aceh Rayeuk was incorporated into three Sagi, which can be regarded as three federations. The three Sagoe or Sagi were named:
1. Sagi XXII Mukim, consisted of 22 mukim.
2. Siva XXV Mukim, consisted of 25 mukim
3. Sagi XXVI Mukim, consisted of 26 Mukim
The leader was called Panglima Sagoe or Panglima Sagi, from generation to generation, they also hold the title of Uleebalang.
They were appointed as Panglima Sagi by the Sultan of Aceh, who gave them a stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh known as Cap Sikureung.
4) Nangroe, the leader was called Uleebalang. Another form of royal territory found in Aceh was called Nangroe or Negeri. This Nangroe was actually a conquered area of the Kingdom of Aceh and was located outside Aceh Inti or Aceh Rayeuk.
The leadership of Nangroe was called Uleebalang, which was established by tradition for generations.
Uleebalang was the Head of State of the small kingdoms who were very powerful. However, when they assume the position of Uleebalang in their area, they had to be approved by the Sultan of Aceh. The Appointment Letter was called Sarakata and stamped with the stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh, Cap Sikureung.
5) The Sultan. The highest level in the government structure of the Kingdom of Aceh was the central government based in the royal capital, formerly known as Bandar Aceh Dar as Salam. The head of the central government was the Sultan who had the title of Tuanku.

Map of the Uleebalang (small kingdoms) in Aceh 1917

Source (only indon. language)

– Uleebalang di Aceh:
– Uleebalang di kesultanan Aceh:
– Sejarah Uleebalang:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Tentang uleebalang: