Kingdom of Klungkung / Bali

The kingdom of Klungkung: 1668–1950. Located in the district of  Klungkung, province of Bali.

Location of Klungkung

* Foto kingdom of Klungkung: link
Foto old palace of Klungkung, Kerta Gosa: link
* Video cremation queen of Klungkung (2014): link

Present Cokorda (King): Tjokorda Gde Agung Semaraputra
Installed october 2010.

History of the kingdom of Klungkung, 1668–1950
Klungkung kingdom was a kingdom in the southern part of Bali which, was established around the mid 14th century.At the time of the kingdom, Klungkung became the centre of the balinese kings.  The kings of Klungkung were the direct heirs and descendants of the dynasty Krishna Kepakisan. Therefore the Klungkung history is closely linked with the kings, who ruled in Samprangan and Gelgel. During the Kepakisan dynasty, the centre of the kingdom was moved twice. (1350-1908 years):
First from Samprangan to Gelgel, 14th century. Ruling kings: Dalem Ketut Nglesir,Dalem Waturenggong, Dalem Bekung, Dalem Segening, and Dalem DiMade.
Second: from Gelgel to the center of Klungkung kingdom in Semarapura  (century 17-20) with the kings Dewa Agung Jambe, Dewa Agung Made, Dewa Agung Di Madya, Sri Agung Sakti, Sri Agung Putra Kusamba, and Dewa Agung Istri Kania.
The Klungkung kingdom reached its peak from the 14- 17th century under the rule of Dalem Waturenggong with center at the royal palace Gelgel;  it had jurisdiction to Lombok and Blambangan.
The Dutch intervention in Bali in 1908 marked the final phase of Dutch colonial control over the island of Bali in Indonesia. It was the seventh and last military intervention in Bali, following the Dutch intervention in Bali (1906).
The dutch  intervention was triggered by a Balinese revolt against a Dutch attempt to impose an opium monopoly in their favour. The raja of Karangasem opposed the monopoly, leading to riots in the capital of Klungkung. Riots also erupted in Gelgel, when the Balinese killed a Javanese opium dealer.
The Dutch sent troops to quell the riots. In Gelgel, they killed 100 Balinese, forcing the Raja to flee to Klungkung. The Dutch then bombarded the city of Klungkung.
Kingdoms on Bali in the 19th century

List of kings (Dewa Agung)

1) 1686-c. 1722: Dewa Agung Jambe I
2) c. 1722-1736: Dewa Agung Gede
3) c. 1722-1736: Dewa Gede Agung
4) 1736-c. 1760: Dewa Agung Made
5) c. 1760-1790: Dewa Agung Śakti
6) c. 1790-1809: Dewa Agung Putra I Kusamba
7) 1809-1814: Regent: Gusti Ayu Karang
8) 1814–1850: Dewa Agung Putra II
9) 1851–1903: Dewa Agung Putra III Bhatara Dalem
10) 1903–1908: Dewa Agung Jambe II
11) 1929–1950: Dewa Agung Oka Geg

– Sumber:

Palaces in Klungkung

There are 2 palaces in Klungkung:

1) Puri Agung Semarapura

The Klungkung Palace, officially Puri Agung Semarapura, is a historical building complex situated in Semarapura, the capital of the Klungkung Regency (kabupaten) on Bali, Indonesia. The palace (puri) was erected at the end of the 17th century, but largely destroyed during the Dutch colonial conquest in 1908. Today the basic remains of the palace are the court of justice, the Kertha Gosa Pavilion, and the main gate that bears the date Saka 1622 (AD 1700). Within the old palace compound is also a floating pavilion, the Bale Kembang. The descendants of the rajas that once ruled Klungkung today live in Puri Agung, a residence to the west of the old palace, which was built after 1929.

* Foto of the old palace of Klungkung, Kerta Gosa: link


2) Puri Agung Klungkung

Puri Agung Klungkung is the private seat of the king of Klungkung

Pintu gerbang Puri Agung Klungkung. di sebelah utara Kertagosa.


– History of Klungkung:
– About the Kertagosa Palace:

– History of Bali:
– History kingdoms on Bali:

– Intervention of the Dutch, 1906:
– Intervention of the Dutch in 1849:
– Dutch intervention on Bali (general):