Sultanate of Dompu / Isl. of Sumbawa – Prov. Nusa Tenggara Barat

The sultanate of Dompu is located on the island of Sumbawa, in the district of Dompu. Dompu’s birth as the forerunner of the kingdom has started since the 7th century, namely during the Srivijaya era.

District Dompu


Location of Sumbawa

Foto sultanate Dompu

* Foto sultanate Dompu: link
* Foto palace sultanate of Dompu: link

Foto kingdoms on Sumbawa

* Foto kings in the past on Sumbawa: link
* Foto kings still on Sumbawa: link
* Foto palaces on Sumbawa: link

* Foto old sites on Sumbawa: link

* Video history of Sumbawa and NTB, 40.000 BC – today: link

* Line of kingdoms on Sumbawa: link

About the sultan today (2020)

8 march 2020
Sultan of Dompu, Ayahanda Kahrul Zaman died 8 March 2020.
His son, Ama Ka’u Diwantara Aruzziqi, wil later be installated.

Ama Ka’u Diwantara Aruzziqi


Sultan of Dompu the 4th: Sultan Kahrul Zaman died 8 march 2020

History of the sultanate of Dompu

Google translation

In the history Dompu is mentioned as the forerunner to the kingdom in the 7th century, this was at that time the era of Sriwijaya.

Based on historical records in Dompu, before the formation of a kingdom in the area, there were some ruling tribal chiefs referred to as “Ncuhi” or small kings.
Ncuhi was comprised of four people namely Ncuhi Hu`u, who were in power in Hu’u area (now Hu’u District), Ncuhi Soneo in power in Soneo and surrounding areas (now Woja and Dompu Subdistricts). Next Ncuhi Nowa came to power in Nowa and surrounding areas and Ncuhi Tonda came to power in Tonda (now Riwo Village District Woja Dompu). Of the four Ncuhi the best known is Ncuhi Hu`u.
According to local folklore, in the land of Woja was ruling a Ncuhi Kula, who had a daughter named Komba Rawe. Ncuhi is then known by the name Ncuhi Patakula.
Local folklore mentions, that the son of king Tulang Bawang stranded in the Woja, precisely in the eastern Woja region. Then the son of the Tulang Bawang king was married to daughter Ncuhi Patakula. Next the Ncuhi agreed to crown the son of the king of Tulang Bawang as the first Dompu king.

In the 19th century there were weak kings in Dompu.  The kingdom was disrupted by rebellions in 1803.
On April 5-12, 1815, Mount Tambora erupted, finally a third of the population died and another third managed to escape.
Sultan Abdul Rasul II moved the Bata Palace which was the Doro Bata Site located in Kandai I Subdistrict of Dompu Subdistrict to the new Bata Palace, hence it is called Bata Bou title. He was replaced by his son, Sultan Muhammad Salahuddin.e resident to intervene.

Sultan Abdull Azis, son of Sultan Abdullah, who later was replaced, was not able to do much to advance his kingdom.
The whole kingdom between 1810-1814 was threatened by pirates who destroyed villages in Dompu region at that time. In about 1809 Governor-General Daendels ordered Governor Van Kraam to renew the agreement with Dompu. The agreement was held in Bima.

Like the previous sultans, Salahuddin remained in contact with the Dutch colonial government., Since an agreement with the Company in about the year 1669. Sultan Muhammad Salahuddin replaced his son namely Sultan Abdullah. During his government he signed a long contract in 1886 ago. He was subsequently replaced by his son Sultan Muhammad Siradjuddin who renewed the contract in about 1905.

Kingdoms on Sumbawa

List of Kings

1. Dewa Bat. Dompu Indera Kumala
2. Dewa Ind. Dompu
3. Dewa Mbora Dompu
4. Dewa Mbora Balada
5. Dewa yang punya kuda
6. Dewa yang mati di Bima (exiled because he was despotic)
7. Dewa Mawaa La Patu (Raja Bima with the title Mawaa Laba)
8. Dewa Mawaa Taho Dadela Nata Joharmani

Below the list of sultans, after the kingdom of Dompu became a sultanate.

9. Sultan Samsuddin
10. S. Jamaluddin (Putri syeh Nurdin dari Mekkah) Mawaa Tunggul Manuru Dorongao
11. S. Sirajuddin putri Sultan Goa Manuru Bata
12. S. Ahmad Manuru Kilo
13. S. Abdul Rasul I Manuru Laju
14. S. Usman Mawaa Parabo
15. S. Abdul Kahar Mawaa Hidi (son of Raja Kendari)
16. S. Samsuddin
17. S. Ahmad Syah
18. S. Abdul Kadir Mawaa Sampela Mawaa Kambu Mawaa Alus (Kamaluddin Mawaa Iha)
Exiled because despotic.
18. S. Abdul Kadir Mawaa Alus
19. S. Abdurrahman
20. S. Abdul Wahab Manuru Kempo Mawaa Cau
21. S. Abdullah
22. S. Muhammad Tajul Arifin 1
23. S. Abdul Rasul II Mawaa Saninu Mawaa Mbere Bata Bou S. Yakub
24. S. Muhammad Salahuddin (exiled because not healthy) Mawaa Adil
25. S. Abdullah
26. S. Abdul Aziz
27. S. Muhammad Sirajuddin (exiled to Kupang by Kompeni)
28. S. Muhammad Tajul Arifin II (1947-1957, ob. 1963).


Below a foto of the Palace of Dompu from 5 Agustus 1932, 2 years before Sultan M. Sirajuddin was exiled to Kupang, NTT.
– Sumber:

* Foto istana kesultanan Dompu: link

Short history of the island of Sumbawa

The 14th-century Nagarakretagama mentioned several principalities identified to be on Sumbawa; Dompu, Bima, Sape and Sang Hyang Api volcanic island just offcoast of northeast Sumbawa. Four principalities in western Sumbawa were dependencies of the Majapahit Empire of eastern Java. Because of Sumbawa’s natural resources, it was regularly invaded by outside forces – from Javanese, Balinese, Makassarese, Dutch and Japanese. The Dutch first arrived in 1605, but did not effectively rule Sumbawa until the early 20th century.
The Balinese kingdom of Gelgel ruled western Sumbawa for a short period as well. The eastern parts of the island were also home to the Sultanate of Bima, an Islamic polity that had links to Bugis and Makasarese people of South Sulawesi, as well as other Malay-Islamic polities in the archipelago.Historical evidence indicates that people on Sumbawa island were known in the East Indies for their honey, horses, sappan wood for producing red dye, and sandalwood used for incense and medications. The area was thought to be highly productive agriculturally.

In the 18th century, the Dutch introduced coffee plantation on the western slopes of Mount Tambora, a volcano on the north side of Sumbawa, thus creating the Tambora coffee variant.
Tambora’s colossal eruption in 1815 was one of the most powerful of all time, ejecting 150 cubic kilometres (36 cu mi) of ash and debris into the atmosphere. The eruption killed up to 71,000 people and triggered a period of global cooling known as the “Year Without a Summer” in 1816. It also apparently destroyed a small culture of Southeast Asian affinity, known to archaeologists as the “Tambora culture”.

Old maps of island of Sumbawa (Cambaua)

For old maps of Sumbawa island (1598, 1606 Sumbawa / Nusantara, 1614, 1615, 1697 Sumbawa / Nusantara 1800-an, 1856, 1856, 1910), Klik here

Island of Sumbawa 1615

Source (english)

– Sultanate of Dompo (engl.): link
Several versions of list of kings: link

Source (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kesultanan Dompu di Wiki:
Sejarah kesultanan Dompu:
– Terbentuknya kerajaan Dompu:
– Sejarah Kab. Dompu:
– Daftar raja dan Sultan Dompu:
Daftar raja dan Sultan Dompu:
– Istana Dompu:
– Biografi Sultan pertama Dompu, Sultan Syamsuddin:
Suku Dompu:

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: