Kingdom of Tampunganlawo / Isl. of Sangihe – Prov. Sulawesi Utara

The kingdom of Tampunganlawo was located on the island of Sangihe, Kab. Kepulauan Sangihe, provinsi Sulawesi Utara.

Location Sangihe


Location Sangihe

* Foto kingdoms on the island of Sangihe: link

History of the kingdom of Tampunganlawo 

The Kingdom of Tampo Lawo existed in the 13th century; the first king was named Gumansalangi and his queen Konda Wulaeng / Sangiang conda (princess Khayangan). Prince Gumansalang came from Sangil / Sanghi tribe; Sangir kingdom in Kotabato Mindanauw south is now Fhilipina. Gumansalangi was a child of Tumudai / Tuwondai and queen Bintang Keramat from Ternate. The royal territory included Sangihe, North Maluku to Mindanaau.
After Year 1400 the kingdom of Tampunganglawo was divided into 2 parts, namely the Northern part called Sahabe (Lumango) and the Southern part named Manuwo (Salurang).

After 1530 these two kingdoms were reunited again by the king of Makaampo (Makaampo Wawengehe); the territory was Sahabe, Kuma, Kuluhe, Manalu, Salurang to Lapango, and this kingdom was called RIMPULAENG with its administrative center in Salurang (Moade) and ended to 1575, because Makaampo had been killed by Ambala a hero from Mantelagheng (Tamako); he was a friend of Hengkeng U Naung, hero from Siau who was ordered by the king of Siau named Pontowuisang (1575-1612).

List of kings of Tampunganlawo

* 1295-1355: Kulano Gumansalangi
* 1355-1415: Kulano Melintangnusa
* 1415-1475: Bulegalangi
* 1475-1530: Matandatu, Tabukan selatan, Saluhe
* Pahawonseke, Tabukan Utara, Sahabe
* Mamattanusa.

A brief history of the kingdoms on the Sangihe Islands

Between 1000 and 1600 the Sangihe archipelago had 4 kingdoms (Kararatuang) which existed before the arrival of the Portuguese, Spanish and Dutch, namely:

1) Bowongtehu Kingdom,
2) Kingdom of Tamungan Lawo (Sangihe),
3) Mohonsohowang Kingdom,
4) Karangetang Kingdom (Siau).

Around 1670 nine kingdoms appeared in Sangihe, namely:

– Kendahe Kingdom,
– Kingdom of Taruna,
– Kingdom of Kolongan,
– Manganitu Kingdom,
– The Kingdom of Kauhis,
– The Kingdom of Limes,
– The Kingdom of the Tabs,
– Kingdom of Sawang (Saban) and
– Tamako Kingdom.

However, the last kingdom (Tamako) became part of Siau.
Meanwhile, the king of Limau was defeated by Padtbrugge’s troops. This kingdom was destroyed.
Sawang joined the Taruna Kingdom and the Kolongan Kingdom.
Kauhis joined Manganitu.

In 1898 the Kendahe Kingdom and the Taruna Kingdom were merged into one. In these two regions, in 1919, King Soleman Ponto ruled with his center in the present-day Kota Tahuna.

In the 1900s only six kingdoms emerged:

– The Kingdom of Tabukan,
– Kingdom of Manganitu,
– Kingdom of Siau,
– Kingdom of Kendahe and
– Kingdom of Tagulandang Kingdom, Talaud in 1922,
– Kingdom of Kandhar Taruna.

Source Tampunganglawo (only indon. language)

– Cerita tentang Tampunganglawo:
– Sejarah kerajaan Tampunganglawo:
– Sejarah kerajaan Tampunganglawo:
– Sejarah kerajaan Tampunganglawo:

– Daftat raja Tampunganlawo:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html

Source kingdoms on Sangihe (only indon. language)

Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
– Raja raja Sangihe Talaud:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Sulawesi Utara:

Old maps of the islands of Sangihe, Talaud dan Tagulandang

Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1700.


Islands Sangir (Sangir) and Talaud, 1724


Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1894

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: