Kingdom of Wajo / Prov. Sulawesi Selatan – Kab. Wajo

The kingdom of Wajo (1399-1957) was located South Sulawesi. The Wajo Kingdom was founded around the 15th century and turned into an Islamic sultanate after being conquered by the Gowa-Tallo sultanate in the 17th century. Entering the 18th century, the kingdom of Wajo reached its peak of glory when it succeeded in replacing the greatness of the Sultanate of Bone.
Before the kingdom of Wajo there was the kingdom of Cinnongtabi.
The title of the king is Arung.

District Wajo

* Foto kingdom of Wajo: link
* Foto palace “Saoraja Mallangga”kingdom of Wajo: link

Line of kingdoms on Sulawesi: link

Foto kingdoms on Sulawesi

* Foto kings on Sulawesi today: link
* Foto kings on Sulawesi in the past: link
* Foto old sites on Sulawesi: link

Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi

– Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi, 40.000 BC – 2018: link
– Video history kingdoms on South Sulawesi, 1AD – 2020: link
– Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi Tenggara, 50.000 BC – 2020: link
– Video history kingdoms on North Sulawesi, 4000 BC – today: link


About the king

Present dynasty-chief: Arung Matoa La Koro Batara Wajo, Raja Wajo ke XLI.
Title of the king: Arung Matoa.

There is no foto.

History of the kingdom of Wajo

The Kingdom of Wajo was founded around 1399, in the territory of South Sulawesi. Its ruler is called “King of Wajo”. Wajo is a continuation of the previous kingdom of Cinnotabi.
Wajoq, also spelled Wajo, Wajo’, or Wajok, was a Bugis elective principality in the eastern part of the South Sulawesi peninsula. It was founded in the 15th century, and reached its peak in the 18th century, when it briefly became the hegemon of South Sulawesi replacing Boné. Wajoq retained its independence until it was subdued in the early 20th century by the Dutch colonial government. It continued to exist in some form up to the mid-20th century, when the self-governing entity was transformed into Wajo Regency in the newly independent Republic of Indonesia.
– For an extensive history, see:

A geopolitical map of South Sulawesi around 1590, depicting the division of the peninsula between Gowa-Talloq and the Tellumpocco alliance

Map of kingdom of Wajo end 19th and begin 20th century:

Luwu akhir abad ke-19 dan awal abad ke-20

List of kings

Kingdom pre-Wajo named Cinnongtabi

– La Paukke Arung Cinnotabi I,
– We Panangngareng Arung Cinnotabi II,
– We Tenrisui Arung Cinnotabi III,
– La Patiroi Arung Cinnotabi IV.
– Source:
Wajo kingdom

1) 1474-1481: La Palewo to Palippu
2) 1481-1486: La Obbi Settiriware
3) 1486-1491: La Tenriumpu to Langi
4) 1491-1521: La Tadampare Puangrimaggalatung; Lowong 3 years
5) 1524-1535: La Tenri Pakado To Nampe
6) 1535-1538: La Temmassonge
7) 1538-1547: La Warani To Temmagiang
8) 1547: La Malagenni
9) 1547-1564: La Mappauli To Appamadeng
10) 1564-1567: La Pakoko To Pa’bele’
11) 1567-1607: La Mungkace To Uddamang
12) 1607-1610: La Sangkuru Patau Mulajaji
13) 1612-1616: La Mappepulu To Appamole
14) 1616-1621: La Samalewa To Appakiung
15) 1621-1626: La Pakallongi To Alinrungi
16) 1627-1628: To Mappassaungnge
17) 1628-1636: La Pakallongi To Alinrungi
18) 1636-1639: La Tenri lai to Udamang
19) 1639-1643: Isigajang To Bunne
20) 1643-1648: La Makkaraka To Patemmui
21) 1648-1651: La Temmasonge
22) 1651-1658: La Paramma To Rewo
23) 1658-1670: La Tenri Lai To Sengngeng
24) 1670-1679: La Palili To Malu’
25) 1679-1699: La Pariusi Daeng Manyampa
26) 1699-1702: La Tenri Sessu
27) 1702-1703: La Mattone’
28) 1703:1712: La Galigo To Sunnia
29) 1712-1715: La Tenri Werung
30) 1715-1736: La Salewangeng To Tenriruwa
31) 1736-1754: La Maddukkelleng Daeng Simpuang
32) 1754-1755: La Mad’danaca
33) 1758-1761: La Passaung
34) 1761-1767: La Mappajung puanna salowo
35) 1767-1770: La Malliungeng; Lowong
36) 1795-1817: La Mallalengeng; Lowong 4 tahun
37) 1821-1825: La Manang; Lowong 14 tahun
38) 1839-1845: La Pa’dengngeng; Lowong 9 tahun
39) 1854-1859: La Pawellangi PajumperoE
40) 1859-1885: La Cincing Akil Ali
41) 1885-1891: La Koro (±1885-1891)
42) La Patongai Datu Lompulle Korte Veklaring 1906 causing the changing status of the kingdom of Wajo to become part of the Dutch colony and the transformation of the royal structure into Onder-Afdeling Wajo under Afdeling Bone,
43) 1900-1916: Ishak Manggabarani Krg Mangeppe; Lowong,10 tahun
44) 1926-1933: A. Oddangpero Datu Larompong
45) 1933-1949: A. Mangkona Datu Mario Pjs Arung Matowa (peralihan)
1) 1949: A. Sumangerukka datu pattojo (ex patola putra AMW 44)
2) 1949: A. Ninnong (ex ranreng tuwa)

Pemerintah Daerah era transisi (1950-1957)
1) A.Pallawarukka (ex pilla)
2) A. Magga Amirullah (ex sulewatang pugi)
3) A. Pallawarukka (second time)

La Tenri Oddang ( La Oddang PEro ) Datu Larompong Arung Matoa Wajo XLIV, ruled 1926-1933.

Palace: Saoraja Mallangga

This palace was build around 1933.
At the beginning of its construction, this palace served as the residence of the king of Arung Bettempola and was not surrounded by fences and the building was not too high. So that every Wajo resident who came, will not hesitate to convey his opinion to Arung Matoa at that time.
Because this palace kept many relics of the Wajo Kingdom, the palace was renewed by installing a fence around it.
Inside this palace are several large cabinets containing lontara manuscripts, spears, kris, books, bossara or trays of cake legs which currently function as songkok holders on it.

* Foto palace “Saoraja Mallangga”: link

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: