Kingdom of Kendahe / Isl. of Sangihe – Prov. Sulawesi Utara

The kingdom of Kendahe was located on the island of Sangihe, Kab. Kepulauan Sangihe, provinsi Sulawesi Utara.

Location Sangihe

Island of Sangihe










Foto’s kingdoms of the archipelago Sangihe: link

History of the kingdom of Kendahe

Google translation

After 1400 the Kingdom of Tampunganglawo was divided into 2 parts, namely the Northern part called Sahabe (Lumango) and the Southern part named Manuwo (Salurang).

After 1530 these two kingdoms were reunited by king Makaampo (Makaampo Wawengehe) with its territory from Sahabe, Kuma, Kuluhe, Manalu, Salurang to Lapango, and this kingdom was called RIMPULAENG; the government center was in Salurang (Moade). This kingdom ended in 1575, because Makaampo had been killed by Ambala, a hero from Mantelagheng (Tamako).
After the end of Rimpulaeng, in Tampunganglawo arose again 3 kingdoms:
– The kingdom of Tahuna (Malahasa), centered in Tahuna (Bukide), with its king Ansaawuwo also called Tatehe or Tatehewoba (1580-1625).
– The kingdom of Manganitu, based in Kauhis, with its King Boo or also called Liung Tolosang (1600-1630).
– The kingdom of Kendahe, based in Makiwulaeng, with its King Egaliwutang (1600-1640).

Kandhar-Taruna were two neighboring kingdoms on the island of Sangihe, but then merged into one kingdom.
Kandhar or often written also Kandahar or Kandar, is better known as Kendahe. The kingdoms were small kingdoms.
The kingdom of Kandhar was located northwest of Sangihe island.
Prior to joining the Kandhar kingdom was ruled by king Daniel Peter Ambat Janis, who ruled since 25 July 1861.
In 1894 he died and a replacing king was not appointed. To run a temporary administration Jogugu Salmon Ponto was appointed.
In the kingdom of Taruna, the last king was Egenos Laurens Tamarol Rasubala. King Egenos ascended the throne by signing the van Verband Act 31 December 1880, replacing king Martens Jacobz and reigning until 1898.
For the efficiency reasons Kandhar and Taruna were united in 1898 with the consent of their heads, with the name of the kingdom of Kandhar-Taruna.
King Taruna Salmon Dumalang who had begun to serve under king Egenos Rasubala as Jogugu, was chosen to be the first king of Kandhar-Taruna kingdom.

List of king of Kendahe

* 1570-1600: Raja Wagania
* 1600-1640: Raja Egaliwutang,
* 1640-1688: Raja Wuisan,
* 1688-1711: Raja Samensi alang / Sam Syah Alam,
* 1711-1729: Raja Kalambuta / Karambut,
* 1729- 1769: Raja Andris Maanabung / Tasensulung,
* 1771-1793: Raja Manuel Manabung / Makaado,
* 1793-1827: Raja Johanis Karambut / Ansawuwo,
* 1827-1845: Raja Frederik Karambut,
* 1845-1893: Raja Daniel Petrus Ambat Janis

– Source:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html

History of the kingdoms on the island of Sangihe

Google translation

Since the 15th century in P. Sangihe emerged local / traditional government. The first time, evidenced by the records of Magellan clerk in 1421, Antonio Pigaffeta. At Sangihe, Pigafetta noted there were four kings. Two in Siau and one in Tagulandang. But the source of history three centuries later, the results of the writings of F. Valentijn, who came to Sangihe early 18th century, mentioned initially only two kingdoms in Sangihe, namely Tabukan and Kalongan. According to him, later about the year 1670 appeared nine kingdoms in Sangihe, namely:
* Kerajaan Kendahe,
* Kerajaan Taruna,
* Kerajaan Kolongan,
* Kerajaan Manganitu (Kauhis),
* Kerajaan Limau,
* Kerajaan Tabukan,
* Kerajaan Sawang (Saban) dan
* Kerajaan Tamako.

However, the last kingdom (Tamako) became part of Siau. Meanwhile, the king of Limau crushed troops dispatch Padtbrugge. This kingdom was destroyed. And, Sawang joined the kingdom of Taruna and the kingdom of Kolongan. And Kauhis joined Manganitu.
In 1898 the kingdom of Kendahe and the kingdom of Taruna merged into one. It was in these two regions that in 1919king Soleman Ponto ruled with its center in the present city of Tahuna. In the 1900’s the remaining four kingdoms were: Tabukan, Manganitu, Siau and Kendahe-Taruna.

Source kingdoms on Sangihe (only indon. language)

Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
– Raja raja Sangihe Talaud:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Sulawesi Utara:

Old maps of the islands of Sangihe, Talaud dan Tagulandang

Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1700.


Islands Sangir (Sangir) and Talaud, 1724


Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1894