Kingdom of Rokan IV Koto / Sumatera – Prov. Riau, Kab. Rokan Hulu

The Kingdom of Rokan IV Koto was located on Sumatera, District Rokan Hulu, province of Riau.

District Rokan Hulu

* Foto sultans and kings today on Sumatera: link
* Foto sultans and kings on Sumatera in the past: link

* Foto kingdoms in Simalungun area: link
* Foto small kingdoms in Aceh in the past: link

* Foto Minangkabau People: link
* Foto Batak People: link
* Foto old sites on Sumatera: link

History of the kingdom of Rokan IV Koto

Formerly, Rokan Hulu area was known as Rantau Rokan or Luhak Rokan Hulu, because it was an area where the tribes of Minangkabau in the area of West Sumatra
During the Dutch colonial period, the Rokan Hulu region was divided into two regions:
* Rokan Kanan region consisting of the kingdom of Tambusai, kingdom of Rambah and the kingdom of Kepenuhan.
* Rokan Kiri region consisting of the kingdoms of Rokan IV Koto, and Kunto Darussalam and some villages of the kingdom of Siak (Tandon state and Kabaga Kabalian).
The kingdoms above are now known as the Lima Lukah.
In 1905, the above kingdoms made a treaty with the Dutch. These kingdoms became a landscape. Every rule that the kingdom made was approved by the Dutch.
Rokan area

List of kings

* 1340-1381: Sultan Seri Alam
* 1381-1454: Tengku. Raja Rokan
* 1454-1519: Tengku Sutan Panglima Dalam
* 1519-1572: Tengku Sutan Sepedas Padi
* 1572-1603: Tengku Sutan Gemetar Alam
* 1603-1645: Yang Dipertuan Sakti Mahyuddin (Raja Pertama dari Pagaruyung)
* 1645-1704: Yang Dipertuan Sakti Lahid
* 1704-1739: Tengku Sutan Rokan (Pemangku)
* 1739-1805: Yang Dipertuan Sakti Selo
* 1805-1817: Andiko Yang Berempat (Wakil)
* 1817-1837: Dayung Datuk Mahudun Sati (Pemangku)
* 1837-1859: Yang Dipertuan Sakti Ahmad
* 1856-1880: Yang Dipertuan SaktiHusin
* 1880-1903: Tengku Sutan Zainal (Pemangku)
* 1903-1942: Yang Dipertuan Sakti Ibrahim

– Source:

History of the kingdoms in Rokan area

Google translation

Rokan is the name of a river that divides the island of Sumatra in the middle, empties to the North of the Island (the Strait of Malacca). This area is the area of ​​the kingdom of Rokan Tua, known to exist in the 13th century, when it was recorded in the “Kertagama Country” by Prapanca, written in 1364 AD.
Until now the name Rokan also still exists as can be seen in the development of Rokan Tua’s kingdom until now. According to Muchtar Lutfi, Wan Saleh in the history of Riau, who became the King of Rokan in the 14-15th century were descendents from Sultan Sidi, brother of Sultan Sujak, described in the book Sulalatus Salatin, which states that the king of Rokan is the son of Sultan Sidi brother of Sultan Sujak.
The Rokan Kingdom is based in Koto Intan, a place near Kotolamo and moved to Pekaitan and eventually moved to Rantau Kasai (in Siarang-arang). After that there is no mention of the name Rokan Kingdom again.
Rokan region was divided in Rokan Hilir and Rokan Kanan.

(Nb: kerajaan = kingdom)

Rokan Hilir was split up into 3 kingdoms:
* Kerajaan Kubu, in Teluk Merbau,
* Kerajaan Bangko in Bantaian,
* Kerajaan Tanah Putih, in Tanah Putih.

Rokan Hulu was split up into 5 kingdoms:
* Kerajaan Tambusai in Dalu-dalu,
* Kerajaan Rambah in Pasirpengarayan,
* Kerajaan Kepenuhan in Kototongah,
* Kerajaan Rokan IV Koto, in Rokan,
* Kerajaan Kuntodarussalam in Kotolamo.

During the colonial period Rokan Hulu was changed into 2: Rokan Kanan and Rokan Kiri.
In Rokan Kanan there were 3 kingdoms:
* Kerajaan Tambusai,
* Kerajaan Rambah,
* Kerajaan Kepenuhan.

In Rokan Kiri there were 2 kingdoms:
* Kerajaan Rokan IV Koto,
* Kerajaan Kuntodarussalam.

Kingdoms in Riau, 19th century (incl. Bangko)

Source (only indon. language)

Daftar raja Rokan IV Koto:
– Asal muasal kerajaan Rokan IV Koto:
Tentang Istana Rokan IV Koto:

– Sejarah Kab. Rokan Hulu:
– Kab. Rokan Hulu di Wiki:
– Asal mulanya Kab. Rokan Hulu:

– Sejarah Kab. Rokan Hilir:
– Kab. Rokan Hilir di Wiki:
– Sejarah Rokan Hilir:

– Kerajaan kerajaan di riau, riau daily: link
Sejarah Rokan di riaudaily: link

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: