Kingdom of Manganitu / Isl. of Sangihe – Prov. Sulawesi Utara

The kingdom of Manganitu is located on the island of Sangihe, Kab. Sangihe Islands, North Sulawesi province.
The Kingdom of Manganitu or also called the Kauhis Kingdom, was centered in Paghulu in 1600 under the reign of King Tolesan or also Liantolosang’s son-in-law of Kulane Ansiga of the Salurang Kingdom.

Location of Sangihe

Location of Sangihe

* Foto kingdom of Manganitu: link
* Foto palace kingdom of Manganitu: link

* Foto kingdoms on the island of Sangihe: link

History of the kingdom of Manganitu

The kingdom of Manganitu was a formerly the Kejoguguan Kauhis, ruled by Jogugu Naleng, who was under the rule of the kingdom Tabukan. Jogugu Naleng was the son of queen Lohoraung, who ruled the kingdom of Taghulandang. He should become the Jogugu of Kauhis, because married with Kaengpatola, a child of Kulano Makalupa in Salurang Tabukan.
Makalupa was married with Kinding Sangiang, a child of Kulano Menentonau. From the marriage of Naleng and Kaengpatola  there were 2 children: Liungtolosang and Mawirangpakele. When Tolosang should become Jogugu of Kauhis, the King of Tabukan, named Wuatengsemba, changed the jogugu Kauhis into a Kingdom. Tolosang later became the first King the kingdom of Manganitu.
King Manganitu, Willem Mocodompis and queen Ella


List of kings

1) 1600-1645: Tolosang (Liungtolosang)
First king of Manganitu centered in Bowongtiwo.
2) 1645-1670:  Tompoliu (putra raja Tolosang)
Moved the centre of the kingdom to Tatahikang
Died 1670 and burried in Tiala
3) 1670-1675: Bataha Santiago / nama sasahara (Putra raja Tompoliu)
Baptis name Don Sint Jugov Santiago
Born 1622
Moved the centre of the kingdom from Tatahikang to Bowongtiwo.
4) 1675-1694: Charles Diamanti ( Adik dari Bataha Santiago)
Moved the centre of the kingdom from Bowongtiwo to Paghulu
Made a contract with Holland on 10 Desember 1677.
During this time Manganitu was under the rule of Holland.
5) 1694-1725: Marthin Joutulong Takaengetang
Son of the king of Tabukan named Don Fransiskus Makaampo Yuda I.
At this time the center of the kingdom was moved again from Paghulu to Tatahikang. The kingdom of Manganitu received a new territory in the southern part of Manganitu, with the boundary from Batumpuikang to Bitungmahangu. King Takaengetang ordered the people to dig the canal Batunang area and then became the birth of the island Batunderang.

6) 1725-1750: Marthin Don Lazaru
At this time the center of the kingdom was moved from Tatahikang to Paghulu.
At the same time, Paghulu was changed to Karatung.
In 1750 King Lazaru was involved in beheading people and arrested by the Dutch and then exiled to Kaap de Goede Hoop; then moved to Madagascar with 45 families. In old age Lazaru moved to Java until death and buried dikompleks the tomb of the king in Cirebon.

7) 1750-1770: Salmon Grahun Darunaling Katiandagho
At this time the center of the kingdom was moved from Paghulu to Manganitu.
8) 1770-1785: Marthin Lombangsuwu Katiandagho
Son of king S.G.D. Katiandagho.
Died on the island of Balut because he helped his brother, who was at war.
9) 1785-1792: Daniel Katiandagho Darunualing II
Burried in Tabukan.
10) 1785-1792: Bagunda Katiandagho
Younger brother of king Daniel Katiandagho
11) 1817-1848: Dirk Mokodompis Lokombanua III
Son of Jogugu Darongke
12) 1846-1855: Jacob Bastian Tamarol – Tampungan
13) 1855-1860: Hendrik Corneles Jacob Tamarol – Nonde
His grave is under the Mimbar Church Petra Manganitu.
14) 1860-1864: Jacob Laurens Tamarol – Kasehang
Burried in Lapepahe – south Manganitu
15) 1864-1880: Manuel Mokodompis Hariraya – Tanawata

After King‘s death, the kingdom was ruled by Managanitu:
5 people substitute Kings:

1) 1880-1881: S. Tingkue – Pontolaeng
2) 1881-1882: J. Makahekung – Manginteno
3) 1882-1883: D. Katiandagho – Kirahang
4) 1883-1886: Salmon Katiandagho Wintuaheng
5) 1886-1892: Lambert Pontoh

After the reign of king substitutes, there were again kings.
1) 1892-1905: J. E. Mokodompis Tampilang
2) 1905-1944: Wellem Manuel Pandensolang Mokodompis
3) 1945-1949: Alexander Abrosius Darondo (Ambong)

In 1912 the Tamogoyo Territory of the kingdom of Siau was handed over to the Manganitu Kingdom. By King Wellem M.P. Mokodompis, and in 1916 the central kingdom of Manganitu was transferred to Tamako. The name of the kingdom changed into the Manganitu Kingdom of Tamako.
Willem M.P. Mokodompis served as king of Tahuna in 1928-1930 because king Christian Ponto was exiled to Luwuk – Central Sulawesi.
In 1944 King Willem M. P. Mokodompis was arrested by a Japanese soldier named Yamamoto because he was a Dutch spy. January 19, 1945 he was beheaded by Japanese soldiers on the cape of Tahuna.
After King Darondo there was no more King’s appointment.

Willem Manuell Pandensolang Mokodompis, king of Manganitu,

Palace of the kingdom of Manganitu

* Foto palace of Manganitu: link

A brief history of the kingdoms on the Sangihe Islands

Between 1000 and 1600 the Sangihe archipelago had 4 kingdoms (Kararatuang) which existed before the arrival of the Portuguese, Spanish and Dutch, namely:

1) Bowongtehu Kingdom,
2) Kingdom of Tamungan Lawo (Sangihe),
3) Mohonsohowang Kingdom,
4) Karangetang Kingdom (Siau).

Around 1670 nine kingdoms appeared in Sangihe, namely:

– Kendahe Kingdom,
– Kingdom of Taruna,
– Kingdom of Kolongan,
– Manganitu Kingdom,
– The Kingdom of Kauhis,
– The Kingdom of Limes,
– The Kingdom of the Tabs,
– Kingdom of Sawang (Saban) and
– Tamako Kingdom.

However, the last kingdom (Tamako) became part of Siau.
Meanwhile, the king of Limau was defeated by Padtbrugge’s troops. This kingdom was destroyed.
Sawang joined the Taruna Kingdom and the Kolongan Kingdom.
Kauhis joined Manganitu.

In 1898 the Kendahe Kingdom and the Taruna Kingdom were merged into one. In these two regions, in 1919, King Soleman Ponto ruled with his center in the present-day Kota Tahuna.

In the 1900s only six kingdoms emerged:

– The Kingdom of Tabukan,
– Kingdom of Manganitu,
– Kingdom of Siau,
– Kingdom of Kendahe and
– Kingdom of Tagulandang Kingdom, Talaud in 1922,
– Kingdom of Kandhar Taruna.

Source Manganitu (only indonesian language)

Sejarah kerajaan Manganitu:
– Bentuknnya kerajaan Manganitu:
– Tersisa dari kerajaan Manganitu:
– Keluarga raja Manganitu sekarang:
Foto Adele Paulina Mocodompis, cucu raja Willem Manuel Mocodompis:
Daftar Raja Manganitu:
Daftar raja Manganitu:
– Keluarga dan kerabat raja raja Manganitu sekarang:
Makam raja raja Manganitu:

Source kingdoms on Sangihe (only indonesian language)

Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
– Raja raja Sangihe Talaud:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Sulawesi Utara:

Old maps of the islands of Sangihe, Talaud dan Tagulandang

Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1700.


Islands Sangir (Sangir) and Talaud, 1724


Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1894

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: