Kingdom of Taramanuq / Prov. Sulawesi Barat – Kab. Polewali Mandar

The kingdom of Taramanuq is a kingdom of the Mandar People on Sulawesi, District Polewali Mandar, prov. Sulawesi Barat.
The Mandar People are originating from West Sulawesi.

District Polewali Mandar

* Foto sultans and kings today on Sulawesi: link
* Foto sultans and kings in the past on Sulawesi: link

* Foto kingdoms in the region of Poso: link
* Foto Bugis People: link
Foto Toraja People: link
* Foto old sites on Sulawesi: link

History of the kingdom

The core area of the Balanipa kingdom consisted of:

1) Appeq Banua Kaiyyang: the four great lands,
2) Annang Banua Manassa: six autonomous countries, and
3) The special area or center of the Balanipa kingdom.

While the areas outside the core area of the Balanipa kingdom consisted of:

1) Tallu Bocco: three autonomous countries or kingdoms
2) Tallumbanua: three autonomous regions
3) Paliliq Arua: as well as eight conquered areas.

Tallu Banua Bocco (three countries or autonomous kingdoms) consisted of:

– Alu Kingdom,
Taramanuq and
– Tuqbi.

Taramanu Kingdom, together with Allu, members of Bocco Tallu (Sendana, Allu, Taramanu), did not joined Baqba Binanga and had a separate agreement with the Balanipa Kingdom, ruled by a Maraqdia Taramanu with Hadat, Paqbicara Taramanu and Paqbicara Kaiyang, and its territory consisted of:

Tapparang (Pappuangan),
Tibung (Pappuangan),
Ratte (Pappuangan) and
Bulo-bulo (Pappuangan).

17 Kingdoms of the Mandar Region

Mandar tribe consists of 17 kingdoms: 7 kingdoms called “Pitu Ulunna Salu”, 7 kingdoms called “Pitu ba’bana binanga” and 3 kingdoms called “Kakarunna Tiparittiqna Uhai”.
The seven kingdoms belonging to Persekutuan Pitu Ulunna Salu are:

1 Kingdom of Rante Bulahang
2 Kingdom of Aralle
3 Kingdom of Tabulahan
4 Kingdom of Mambi
5 Kingdom of Matangnga
6 Kingdom of Tabang
7 Kingdom of Bambang

Seven (7) kingdoms belonging to Persekutuan Pitu Baqbana Binanga are :

1 Kingdom of Balanipa
2 Kingdom of Sendana
3 Kingdom of Banggae
4 Kingdom of Pamboang
5 Kingdom of Tapalang
6 Kingdom of Mamuju
7 Kingdom of Binuang.

Three (3) kingdoms belonging to Kakaruanna Tiparittiqna Uhai or the region of Lembang Mappi are:

1. Kingdom of Allu
2. Kingdom of Tuqbi
3. Kingdom of Taramanuq


Old maps of Sulawesi

For old maps of Sulawesi (1606, 1633, 1683, 1700, 1757, 1872, abad ke-19): klik here

 Sulawesi and Maluku, 1683

Source (english)


Source (only indon. language)

– Suku Mandar:
– Tentang Suku Mandar:
– Tentang Suku Mandar:

Pitu Ulunna Salu:
Pitu Ulunna Salu:
– Pitu Ulunna Salu:

Pitu Baqbana Binanga:


Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: