Sultanate of Riau Lingga / Prov. Kep. Riau – Isl. of Lingga

The Sultanate of Riau Lingga was a Malay sultanate that existed from 1824 to 1911, before being dissolved following Dutch intervention.
It was located on the island of Riau, prov. Kepulauan Riau.

Island of Lingga

* Foto sultanate of Riau Lingga: link
* Foto remains old palace Damnah: link
* Foto replika palace Damnah: link


About the king

Tuanku Abdul Rahman III, descendant of the last Sultan of Riau-Lingga. He died in Singapore, mei 2016, at the age of 83.

History of the sultanate

In 1824 there was a Anglo-Dutch treaty, which led to the partition of Johor-Riau, by which the region north of the Singapore Strait including the island of Singapore and Johor were to be under British influence, while the south of the strait along with Riau and Lingga were to be controlled by the Dutch. By installing two sultans from the same kingdom, both the British and the Dutch effectively destroyed the Johor-Riau polity and satisfied their colonial ambitions.
Under the treaty, Tengku Abdul Rahman was crowned as the Sultan of Riau-Lingga, bearing the name of Sultan Abdul Rahman, with the royal seat in Daik, Lingga. Tengku Hussein, backed by the British, was installed as the Sultan of Johore and ruled over Singapore and the Peninsular Johor. He later ceded Singapore to the British in return for their support during the dispute. Both sultans of Johor and Riau acted mainly as puppet monarchs under the guidance of the colonial powers.

Dissolution by the dutch

On the morning of 11 February 1911, when the sultan and the court officials were in Daik to perform the Mandi Safar (a ritual purifying bath), Dutch Naval ships of Java, Tromp and Koetai Torpedo Boat anchored in Penyengat Island and deployed hundreds of marechausse (Dutch: pribumi soldiers) to lay siege to the royal court. This was followed by the arrival of Dutch official K.M Voematra from Tanjung Pinang at the Roesidijah Club headquarters to announce the deposition of Abdul Rahman II. Once the letter of deposition had been read by the Dutch official, he described the crown prince and other members of the Roesidijah Klub as “sebagai orang berniat bermusuhan dengan Sri Padoeka Gouvenrnement Hindia Nederland” (individuals who harbour animosity against his excellency the Governor of Netherlands Indies).
The Dutch officially annexed the sultanate to avoid future claims from the monarchy. Rechtreek bestuur (Dutch: Direct rule) over the Riau Archipelago began in 1913, and the province was administered as Residentie Riouw en Onderhoorigheden (Dutch: Residence of Riau and Dependencies). The Dutch Residence comprised Tanjung Pinang, Lingga, Riau and Indragiri.

The dominion of Riau-Lingga Sultanate in red, which includes many islands in the South China Sea and portion of lands in mainland Sumatra.

List of kings

* 1819-1832: Abdul Rahman
* 1832-1835: Muhammad II
* 1835-1857: Mahmud IV
* 1857-1883: Sulaiman II
* 1885-1911: Abdul Rahman II

The palaces

1) Ruins of Damnah Palace

The Damnah Palace site is one of the historical legacy of the Riau Lingga Kingdom. History records that the Damnah Palace was built in 1860 during the reign of Sultan Sulaiman Badrul Alamsyah II (1857-1883).
* Foto of Damnah palace: link

2) Replika of the Damnah palace

When regional autonomy was implemented in the Riau Islands, the Damnah Palace began to receive the attention of the Provincial Government and the local government. They brought in archaeologists and several researchers, who are experts to conduct and research this Damnah Palace building before. Then after some time doing research, the Government began to build a replica of the Damnah Palace, which is believed to be very similar to the original palace.
* Foto replika Damnah palace: link



Blog at

%d bloggers like this: