Kingdom of Poso / Prov. Sulawesi Tengah – Kab. Poso

The kingdom of Poso was located on Sulawesi, in the District Poso. Prov. Central Sulawesi. The coastal area of this kingdom was directly controlled by the Dutch East Indies in 1899, and was placed under Afdeling Gorontalo, Manado Residency. In 1906, the entire Poso area was taken over and became fully part of the Dutch East Indies.

District Poso

* Foto kingdom of Poso: link
* Foto kingdoms in the region of Poso: link

Line of kingdoms on Sulawesi: link

Foto kingdoms on Sulawesi

* Foto kings on Sulawesi today: link
* Foto kings on Sulawesi in the past: link
* Foto old sites on Sulawesi: link

Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi

– Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi, 40.000 BC – 2018: link
– Video history kingdoms on South Sulawesi, 1AD – 2020: link
– Video history kingdoms on Sulawesi Tenggara, 50.000 BC – 2020: link
– Video history kingdoms on North Sulawesi, 4000 BC – today: link


About the king today (2020)

There is no information about the king or descendents today.

King of Poso: Talasa. Sumber: Pramaartha Pode‎, fb

History of the kingdom

About the early history of the kingdom, there is no information.

At first people, who lived in the area of Poso, were under the authority of the Government of kings, who consisted of the Kings Poso, Napu, Mori, Tojo, Una Una and Bungku.

These six kingdoms were under the influence of three kingdoms, namely:
Southern Region was subject to the Luwu Kingdom, domiciled in Palopo,
Northern Territory was subject to the King of Sigi, domiciled in Sigi (Regional Donggala),
Eastern Region, which includes the islands Bungku area, was subject to the Kingdom of Ternate.
Since 1880 the Dutch government in Northern Sulawesi begun to dominate South Sulawesi and gradually was trying to remove the influence of the King of Luwu and King of Sigi in Poso area.
In 1905 – 1918 the region of Poso was divided by the dutch into two areas:
Residency of Manado area, as Onderafdeling (kewedanan) Kolonodale and Bungku, while the kings retained their authority as Bestuure SelfGabieden.

Part of Central Sulawesi (incl. Poso)  1909

List of kings
1919-1947: Mokole Talasa,  Raja Posso VIII

1947-1985: Raja Posso ke IX

Source (only indon. language)

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: