Kingdom of Ngali / Isl. of Sumbawa – Prov. Nusa Tenggara Barat

The kingdom of Ngali was located on the island of Sumbawa, prov. Nusa Tenggara Barat, near Labuhan Kures, Lape.

Location of Labuhan Kures, Lape


Location of Sumbawa

Foto kingdoms on Sumbawa

* Foto kings in the past on Sumbawa: link
* Foto kings still on Sumbawa: link
* Foto palaces on Sumbawa: link

* Foto old sites on Sumbawa: link

* Video history of Sumbawa and NTB, 40.000 BC – today: link

* Line of kingdoms on Sumbawa: link


About the kingdom of Ngali

In the 14th and 15th centuries, there were on Sumbawa about 8 kingdoms:

NB: kerajaan = kingdom

1) Kerajaan Utan Kadali di Utan,
2) Kerajaan Seran di Seteluk, KSB,
3) Kerajaan Taliwang, di KSB,
4) Kerajaan Jereweh di KSB,
5) Kerajaan Ngali, di Lape,
6) Kerajaan Sampar Samulan di Moyo Hulu.
7) Kerajaan Gunung Galesa, di Olat Po Moyo Hilir,
8) Kerajaan Gunung Setia di Sumbawa.

The kingdom of Ngali is estimated to exist in the 5th century. This kingdom is the oldest and largest kingdom in Sumbawa at that time with the territory covering the area of East Sumbawa and parts of South Sumbawa. The satellite kingdoms included in Ngali territory were:
1) Kedatuan Tangko in Empang (before ruled by Dompu),
2) Kedatuan Kolong in Brang Kolong,
3) Kedatuan Dongan in
4) Negeri Tepal in Tepal,
5) Kedatuan Petonang in Ropang,
6) Kedatuan Selesek in Selesek, dan
7) Kedatuan Mento in Lantung.

The ruins of the Ngali Kingdom can still be found in Olat Maja which was the seat of the royal power in the form of fortresses and several mosques. The capital of this kingdom was destroyed at the eruption of Mount Tambora in 1815. Part of the community moved to Ngali Bima and formed a new community in the area, a small part spread to Lombok, Java (Malang), while the descendants of King Ngali flee to Unter Tanar Selante.

Kingdoms on Sumbawa

Short history of the island of Sumbawa

The 14th-century Nagarakretagama mentioned several principalities identified to be on Sumbawa; Dompu, Bima, Sape and Sang Hyang Api volcanic island just offcoast of northeast Sumbawa. Four principalities in western Sumbawa were dependencies of the Majapahit Empire of eastern Java. Because of Sumbawa’s natural resources, it was regularly invaded by outside forces – from Javanese, Balinese, Makassarese, Dutch and Japanese. The Dutch first arrived in 1605, but did not effectively rule Sumbawa until the early 20th century.
The Balinese kingdom of Gelgel ruled western Sumbawa for a short period as well. The eastern parts of the island were also home to the Sultanate of Bima, an Islamic polity that had links to Bugis and Makasarese people of South Sulawesi, as well as other Malay-Islamic polities in the archipelago.Historical evidence indicates that people on Sumbawa island were known in the East Indies for their honey, horses, sappan wood for producing red dye, and sandalwood used for incense and medications. The area was thought to be highly productive agriculturally.

In the 18th century, the Dutch introduced coffee plantation on the western slopes of Mount Tambora, a volcano on the north side of Sumbawa, thus creating the Tambora coffee variant. Tambora’s colossal eruption in 1815 was one of the most powerful of all time, ejecting 150 cubic kilometres (36 cu mi) of ash and debris into the atmosphere. The eruption killed up to 71,000 people and triggered a period of global cooling known as the “Year Without a Summer” in 1816. It also apparently destroyed a small culture of Southeast Asian affinity, known to archaeologists as the “Tambora culture”.

Old map of Sumbawa (Cambaua)

Klik here for old maps of Sumbawa 1598, 1606 Sumbawa / Nusantara, 1614, 1615, 1697 Sumbawa / Nusantara 1800-an, 1856, 1856, 1910.

Sumbawa 1615

Source Ngali (only indon. language)

– Tentang kerajaan Ngali:
– Tentang kerajaan Ngali:

Source history island of Sumbawa (only indon. language)

– Sejarah pulau Sumbawa:
– Sejarah pulau Sumbawa:
– Sejarah pulau Sumbawa:
– Sejarah pulau Sumbawa:

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: