Kingdom of Fatagar / Prov. Papua Barat – Semenanjung Onin

The kingdom of Fatagar is a kingdom of the Uswanas clan. Located on the peninsula Onin, in the district of Fakfak, prov. of West Papua.

prov. of West Papua

Location city of Fak Fak

* Foto kings on Papua today: link
* Foto kings on Papua in the past: link
* Foto old sites on Papua: link
* Foto peoples of Papua: link

* Video history Papua, century-2 AD until today: link


About the king today (2020)

The king today: Taufiq Heru Uswanas.

29 des. 2009
King Said Arobi Uswanas died.

31 des. 2009
King Taufiq Heru Uswanas was installed on 31-12-2009. He was the son of  king Said Arobi Uswanas, who died 26-12-2009.

Raja Taufiq Heru Uswanas, installed 31-12-2009


29 des. 2009, King Said Arobi Uswanas died.

History of the kingdom of Fatagar

Initially the Fatagar kingdom was in Onin, but due to conflict with the Rumbati kingdom, this kingdom moved to Ega Island. Then moved back to Merapi until now. The first king was named Maraitat. During Tidore’s reign, the king was a trading agent for Tidore’s interests, and was subject to Tidore. After the Dutch came to power, the kings were confirmed by the Dutch and given a salary. They became partners for the Dutch government, although in almost every aspect the Netherlands intervened.

In the 1880s it was one of the most important kingdoms in the Fak Fak area. At that time the Papuans had the right to go to live on the island of Seram, where they also had families there. Then the ancestors of the king of Fatagar returned and were crowned as kings. All the kings who ruled Fatagar were known to be quite good and wise kings. Now he is an important politician in Fak Fak district, namely Raja Said Arobi Uswanas from the Fatagar kingdom.

Most of the kingdoms here were ruled by dynasties descended from the Rumbati dynasty, or created locally semi-kingdoms (later independent) by Rumbati. Fatagar is one of the royal roots and dynasty descended from the Rumbati dynasty.

List of kings (Kapitan, dari 1899 Raja)

* 18.. – c.1880: Kanumbas (d. c.1880)
* 1880 – 1899:  Kurkur (d. 1899)
* 1899 – Feb 1942:  Mafa (b. 1872 – d. 1942)
* 1942 – 1943: Kamarudin (d. 1943)
* 1943 – 1956:  ….
* 1956 – 26 Dec 2009: Said Arobi Uswanas
* 31 Dec 2009 – : Taufiq Heru Uswanas


Kingdoms on West Papua

1) District Kaimana

Kerajaan Kaimana
Kerajaan Aiduma
Kerajaan Kowiai/kerajaan Namatota

2) District Fak Fak

Kerajaan Fatagar (marga Uswanas)
Kerajaan Rumbati (marga Bauw)
Kerajaan Atiati (marga Kerewaindżai)
Kerajaan Patipi
Kerajaan Sekar (marga Rumgesan)
Kerajaan Wertuar (marga Heremba)
Kerajaan Arguni

3) District Raja Empat

Kerajaan Waigeo
Kerajaan Misool/Lilinta (marga Dekamboe)
Kerajaan Salawati (marga Arfan)
Kerajaan Sailolof/Waigama (marga Tafalas)
Kerajaan Waigama

The history of the kingdoms of Prov. West Papua

Google translation

According to Kakawin Nagarakretagama written between September-October 1365, Wwanin / Onin (Fakfak District) was an area of ​​influence of Majala Majapahit Kingdom, this region may be part of the Hindu kingdom colonies in the Maluku Islands recognized by Majapahit conquest.

In his book “Neiuw Guinea”, WC. Klein also explained the early facts of the influence of the Bacan kingdom on Papua. There he writes: in 1569 Papuan leaders visited the kingdom of Bacan. According to the oral history of the Biak people, there was a relationship and marriage between their tribal chiefs and the sultans of Tidore. The Biak tribe was the largest Melanesian tribe that spreads on the northern coast of Papua, therefore the Biak language is also the most widely used and considered as the language of Papuan unity. Due to the relation of coastal areas of Papua to the Sultan-Sultan of Maluku there were several local kingdoms (pertuanan), which indicate the entry of feudalism system which is not the original culture of ethnic Papua.

In the Raja Ampat Islands located off the coast of Papua there are 4 traditional kingdoms belonging to the mandala territory of Bacan and the sultanate of Ternate, each of which was the kingdom of Waigeo, with its central power in Wewayai, Waigeo island; Salawati kingdom, with a power center in Samate, the island of Salawati Utara; the Sailolof empire with the center of power in Sailolof, South Salawati island, and the kingdom of Misol, with the center of power in Lilinta, Misol island.

In 1660, the VOC had signed an agreement with the Tidore sultan in which Tidore recognized the Dutch protectorate of the people of West Irian. This agreement clearly covered the inhabitants of the islands between Maluku and Irian. Obviously, Tidore never actually controlled Irian. So the Dutch protectorate is just a legal fiction.

Tidore considered himself the superior of Biak. At that time, Malay traders began to visit the island of Irian. It is precisely this view of Tidore which is the reason the Dutch consider the western part of the island is part of the Dutch East Indies.

Since the 16th century, in addition to the Raja Ampat Islands belonging to the Sultan of Bacan and the Sultan of Ternate, other areas of Papua are the coastal areas of Papua from the island of Biak (as well as the Biak distribution areas) until Mimika is part of the mandala territory of Tidore Sultanate, a a large empire adjacent to the territory of Papua.
In 1826 Pieter Merkus, the Dutch governor of Maluku, heard rumors that England began to enter the coast of Irian in the east of the Aru Islands. He decided the group to explore the beach until Dolak Island. Two years later, the Dutch built the Fort Du Bus, which is now the city of Lobo, with the ultimate goal of blocking other European powers landed in western Irian. Fort Du Bus was abandoned in 1836.
In 1872, Tidore recognized the authority of the Kingdom of the Netherlands upon him.

The Dutch returned to Irian in 1898. Irian was divided between the Netherlands, Germany (northern part of eastern Irian) and England (southern part of eastern Irian). The arc line 141 is recognized as the eastern boundary of western Irian. In 1898 – 1949, western Papua was known as Dutch New Guinea.

Source Fatagar (only indon. language)

Tentang kerajaan Fatagar:
Sejarah kerajaan Fatagar dalam sejarah di kerajaan2 di Fakfak:
– Tentang kerajaan Fatagar:
Daftar raja Fatagar:
– Raja Fatagar meninggal (26 dec. 2009): link
Raja Fatagar meninggal (26 dec. 2009): link

Source Papua (only indon. language)

Sejarah kerajaan2 Papua Barat:
– Kerajaan2 Islam di Papua:
– Kerajaan2 di Semenanjung Onin:
– Sistem kerajaan2 tradisional di Papua:
– Sejarah kerajaan2 di Papua Barat:
– Kerajaan2 di Semenanjung Bomberai:
Kerajaan2 di kepulauan Raja empat:
– Sejarah kepulauan Raja empat:

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: