Kingdom of Tahuna / Isl. of Sangihe – Prov. Sulawesi Utara

The kingdom of Tahuna was located on the island of Sangihe, province of North Sulawesi. The centre of this kingdom was in Kolongan, under the rule of the king Tatohe, in 1580.

Location Sangihe

Island of Sangihe

Foto’s kingdoms of the archipelago Sangihe: link

History of the kingdom of Tahuna

After 1400 the Kingdom of Tampunganglawo was divided into 2 parts, namely the Northern part called Sahabe (Lumango) and the Southern part named Manuwo (Salurang).
After 1530 these two kingdoms were reunited again by the king Makaampo (Makaampo Wawengehe); the territory was from Sahabe, Kuma, Kuluhe, Manalu, Salurang to Lapango, and the kingdom was called RIMPULAENG with its Government Center in Salurang (Moade) and ended in 1575, because Makaampo had been killed by Ambala a Hero from Mantelagheng (Tamako).
After the end of Rimpulaeng, in Tampunganglawo arose again 3 kingdoms:
– The kingdom of Tahuna (Malahasa) was centered in Tahuna (Bukide), with its king Ansaawuwo also called Tatehe or Tatehewoba (1580-1625).
– The kingdom of Manganitu (Kauhis), was based in Kauhis, with its King Boo or also called Liung Tolosang (1600-1630).
– The kingdom of Kendahe was based in Makiwulaeng, with its King Egaliwutang (1600-1640).

King of Tahuna

List of kings of Tahuna

  • 1580-1625: Raja Tatehewoba
  • Raja Buntuang
  • Raja Mathin Tatandang
  • Raja Papahang Sulung (Paparang)
  • Raja Manulung Bansage Paparang
  • Raja Mohonise Paparang
  • Raja Hasubala (Rasubala)
  • Raja Mamatanusa Rasubala
  • Raja Paneke Rasubala
  • Raja Tabaleta Jacobus
  • Raja Saraweta Rasubala
  • Raja M. Belanda Jacobus
  • Raja E.L.T. Rasubala Limampula
  • 1878-1887: Raja Salmon Tuwondai Dumalang
  • 1887-1891: Raja Markus Mohonis Dumalang
  • Raja Soleman Ponto
  • Raja Christiaan Ponto
  • Raja Bastian I
  • Raja Bastian II
  • Raja F.I. Adrian.

King Christiaan Ponto of Tahuna (-1929)

History of the kingdoms on the island of Sangihe

Google translation

Since the 15th century in P. Sangihe emerged local / traditional government. The first time, evidenced by the records of Magellan clerk in 1421, Antonio Pigaffeta. At Sangihe, Pigafetta noted there were four kings. Two in Siau and one in Tagulandang. But the source of history three centuries later, the results of the writings of F. Valentijn, who came to Sangihe early 18th century, mentioned initially only two kingdoms in Sangihe, namely Tabukan and Kalongan. According to him, later about the year 1670 appeared nine kingdoms in Sangihe, namely:
* Kerajaan Kendahe,
* Kerajaan Taruna,
* Kerajaan Kolongan,
* Kerajaan Manganitu (Kauhis),
* Kerajaan Limau,
* Kerajaan Tabukan,
* Kerajaan Sawang (Saban) dan
* Kerajaan Tamako.

However, the last kingdom (Tamako) became part of Siau. Meanwhile, the king of Limau crushed troops dispatch Padtbrugge. This kingdom was destroyed. And, Sawang joined the kingdom of Taruna and the kingdom of Kolongan. And Kauhis joined Manganitu.
In 1898 the kingdom of Kendahe and the kingdom of Taruna merged into one. It was in these two regions that in 1919king Soleman Ponto ruled with its center in the present city of Tahuna. In the 1900’s the remaining four kingdoms were: Tabukan, Manganitu, Siau and Kendahe-Taruna.

Source Tahuna (only indon. language)

Terbentuknya Kerajaan-Kerajaan dan Kulano di Sangihe
– Sejarah raja Tahuna:
– Daftar raja Tahuna:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html

Source kingdoms on Sangihe (only indon. language)

Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
– Raja raja Sangihe Talaud:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Sulawesi Utara:

Old maps of the islands of Sangihe, Talaud dan Tagulandang

Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1700.


Islands Sangir (Sangir) and Talaud, 1724


Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1894