Kingdoms in Mandailing region / Prov. Sumatera Utara

The region of the Mandailing People is located in the Prov. of North Sumatera.

Region of the Mandailing People

Provinsi of North Sumatera

About Mandailing traditional kingdoms
Google translation
Mandailing is generally grouped into three geographical regions: Mandailing Jae, Mandailing Godang and Mandailing Julu.
Mandailing Jae and Mandailing Godang are ruled by kings. The king was in power from generation to generation. The territory of the kingdom ranges from village to village combined. Traditionally, the king and his assistant were called as Namora-Natoras.
There are also, who divide Mandailing in two major groups, namely Mandailing Godang and Mandailing Julu. Mandailing Godang is dominated by the Nasution Clan. They occupy the area bordering Sihepeng (north), Maga (south), and Muarasoma and Muara Parlampungan (west).
Meanwhile, Mandailing Julu is dominated by the Lubis Clan. They occupy the area from Laru and Tambangan to Pakantan and Hutagodang.
In addition to the clan Nasution and Lubis, Mandailing also was inhabited by clans like Pulungan, Rangkuti, Batubara, Daulay, Matondang, Parinduri, Hasibuan, and others. Although these clans differed entirely into Mandailing, no one wanted to be referred to as immigrants. All of them feel as Mandailing natives.
The regions of Mandailing, led by the Panusunan Kings are:

1) The Mandailing Godang area with the clan of Nasution, descendants of Sutan Diaru. There are 10 Panusunan  (kingdoms):

  • Penyabungan Tonga.
  • Huta Siantar.
  • Pidoli Dolok.
  • Gunung Tua.
  • Gunung Baringin.
  • Penyabungan Julu.
  • Maga.
  • Aek Nangali.
  • Muara Soma.
  • Muara Parlampungan.

2) The Mandailing Julu area, from the Clan Lubis, descendents of Namora Pande Bosi; there are 7 Panusunan (kingdoms):

Structure of the traditional Mandailing government
There are 3 Functionaries:
  1. Raja (king).
  2. Namora Natoras.
  3. Assistents of the king Raja and others.

1) The king

There are several kind of kings, with their own duty and task.
1) King of the Panusunan (Koeriahoofd).
The highest king of the Huta (village)  and at the same time as King Huta in his own Huta.
2) Raja Ihutan (Onderkoeria). He is king of Huta (village) under the King of Panusunan.
3) King Pamusuk (Kampoenghoofd). The king who leads a Huta (village) under King Ihutan and King of Panusunan.
4) King Sioban Ripe. He is under King Pamusuk, who dwells together in one Huta.
5) Suhu. He is under King Pamusuk and King Sioban Ripe.

In 1906 the title of King of Ihutan (Onderkoeria) and King Sioban Ripe was abolished by the Dutch Government and Ihutan (Onderkoeria) was designated the Chief of the Curia (Koeriahoofd).

Until now there are only:
1) King of the Panusunan. King Panusunan is the highest ruler of several villages (Huta); he has the authority to oversee some of the King of Pamusuk (Head of Kampung).
2) King Pamusuk. King Pamusuk is a subordinate of King of Panusunan and submits to King Panusunan both in terms of custom and in terms of government. King Pamusuk in carrying out his duties is autonomous within his own village.

 2) Namora Natoras
Namora Natoras serves as the king’s companion in making decisions, when discussing or completing a covenant involving the interests of his unity of huta, and accompanying the king in running his government.
King and Namora Natoras play an important role in a covenant to take a decision called: Domu Ni Tahi.