Kingdom of Lhokseumawe / Sumatera – Prov. Aceh

The kingdom of Lhokseumawe is located on Sumatera, prov. of Aceh, between Banda Aceh dan Medan.
During the sultanate of Aceh the small kingdoms were vassal or subordinate to the sultan of Aceh and were led by the king who had the title of Uleebalang.
After the end of the Aceh War, in 1914, the small kingdoms entered a Onderafdeling “swapraja”.

City Lhokseumawe

* Foto sultanate of Aceh Darussalem: link
* Foto kings of small kingdoms in Aceh: link
Foto Aceh in the past: link
Foto war Aceh-netherlands (1873-1903): link

* Foto sultans and kings today on Sumatera: link
* Foto sultans and kings on Sumatera in the past: link
* Foto kingdoms in Simalungun area: link
* Foto old sites on Sumatera: link

About the king today (2016)

King today (2016) Teuku Khamil, king of Lhok Seumawe. Sumber foto: teuku khamil, fb

History of the kingdom

The existence of this area can not be separated from the emergence of the Kingdom of Samudera Pasai around the 13th century, then this region became part of the sovereignty of the Sultanate of Aceh since 1524.
Before the 20th century, the country was ruled by Uleebalang Kutablang. In 1903 after the resistance of the Aceh fighters against the Dutch colonialists weakened, Aceh began to be mastered.
After the end of the Aceh War, in 1914, Lhokseumawe entered Lhokseumawe Onderafdeling (Telok Seumawe), as “swapraja”. Lhokseumawe became a conquered area and from that time the status of Lhokseumawe to Bestuur Van Lhokseumawe with Zelf Bestuurder was Teuku Abdul Lhokseumawe subject under Aspireleur Aspiration and in Lhokseumawe domiciled also Wedana and Assistant Resident or Regent.

About the small kingdoms under the sultanate of Aceh

* List of Uleebalang, 1914: link
* List of Uleebalang, 1940: link

The western part of the kingdom of Aceh Darussalam was opened and built in the 16th century on the initiative of Sultan Saidil Mukamil (Sultan of Aceh who lived between 1588-1604), followed by Sultan Iskandar Muda (Sultan of Aceh who lived in 1607-1636) the Acehnese Rayeuk and Pidie.
The first bustling area was at Meulaboh bay (Pasi Karam) ruled by a king who was titled Teuku Keujruen Meulaboh, and Negeri Daya (District Jaya) which at the end of the 15th century had established a kingdom with its king is Sultan Salatin Alaidin Riayat Shah with the title Poteu Meureuhom Daya.
The area of West Aceh at the end of the 17th century had developed into several small kingdoms led by a Uleebalang, namely: Kluang; Lamno; Kuala Lambeusoe; Kuala Daya; Kuala Unga; Babah Awe, and many more.

The structure of government of the small kingdoms

1) Gampong, the leader was called Geucik or Keuchik. The smallest territorial area of the government structure in Aceh was the Gampong. A Gampong consisted of groups of houses adjacent to each other.
The leader of the gampong was called Geucik or Keuchik, who was assisted by a proficient in religious matters, as Teungku Meunasah.
2) Mukim, the leader was called Imum Mukim. The larger territorial area of government was the Mukim. The Mukim was a combination of several gampongs, which were located nearby.
The leader of Mukim was called Imum Mukim. He was the one who coordinated the village (gampong) heads or Keuchik-Keuchik.
3) Sago or Sagoe, the leader was called Commander Sagoe or Panglima Sagi. In the Aceh region of Rayeuk (District Aceh Besar now), was a form of government called Sagoe or Sagi. The entire region of Aceh Rayeuk was incorporated into three Sagi, which can be regarded as three federations. The three Sagoe or Sagi were named:
1. Sagi XXII Mukim, consisted of 22 mukim.
2. Siva XXV Mukim, consisted of 25 mukim
3. Sagi XXVI Mukim, consisted of 26 Mukim
The leader was called Panglima Sagoe or Panglima Sagi, from generation to generation, they also hold the title of Uleebalang.
They were appointed as Panglima Sagi by the Sultan of Aceh, who gave them a stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh known as Cap Sikureung.
4) Nangroe, the leader was called Uleebalang. Another form of royal territory found in Aceh was called Nangroe or Negeri. This Nangroe was actually a conquered area of the Kingdom of Aceh and was located outside Aceh Inti or Aceh Rayeuk.
The leadership of Nangroe was called Uleebalang, which was established by tradition for generations.
Uleebalang was the Head of State of the small kingdoms who were very powerful. However, when they assume the position of Uleebalang in their area, they had to be approved by the Sultan of Aceh. The Appointment Letter was called Sarakata and stamped with the stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh, Cap Sikureung.
5) The Sultan. The highest level in the government structure of the Kingdom of Aceh was the central government based in the royal capital, formerly known as Bandar Aceh Dar as Salam. The head of the central government was the Sultan who had the title of Tuanku.

Map of the Uleebalang (small kingdoms) in Aceh 1917

Source Lhokseumawe (only indon. language)

Sejarah Lhokseumawe:
Sejarah Lhokseumawe:
Sejarah Lhokseumawe:

Source (only indon. language)

– Uleebalang di Aceh:
– Uleebalang di kesultanan Aceh:
– Sejarah Uleebalang:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Tentang uleebalang:


Maharaja Mangkoeboemi Lhokseumawe, 1894

Kings of small kingdoms in Aceh, under them the king of Lhoksameuwe

Permit for shipping issued by Tengku Maharaja Mangkubumi, ruler of Samawi Bay, to Master Teuku Mat Amin. As noted, the letter was issued in 1826, and the seal of Teungku Maharaja Mangkubumi Bandar Samawi Bay which is spiked on the shipping license. Encryption: “This’ alamah (cap?) Bandar Teluk Samawi

Map of Lhoksameuwe, 1887.

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: