Kingdom of Kluet / Sumatera – Prov. Aceh, Aceh selatan

The kingdom of Kluet is located on Sumatra, District Aceh Selatan, prov. Aceh.
During the sultanate of Aceh this kingdom was a vassal or subordinate to the sultan of Aceh and was led by the king who had the title of Uleebalang.
After the end of the Aceh War, in 1914, Kluet entered Onderafdeling Tapak Tuan, as “swapraja”.

District Aceh Selatan

* Foto sultanate of Aceh Darussalem: link
* Foto kings of small kingdoms in Aceh: link
Foto Aceh in the past: link
Foto war Aceh-netherlands (1873-1903): link

* Foto sultans and kings today on Sumatera: link
* Foto sultans and kings on Sumatera in the past: link
* Foto kingdoms in Simalungun area: link
* Foto old sites on Sumatera: link

King of the kingdom of Kluet sekarang (2017)

Teuku Meurah Adam. king of Kluet 1924

History of Kluet

Google translation

The history of Kluet begins with the arrival of a group from Pasai Ocean led by an Imam named Imam Geredung in the 13th Century.
After seeing the fertility of the land of Kluet, the priest decided to settle in a place called Peparik. Government at that time was led by the datuk-datuk of the three tribes that exist.
These 3 tribes were: Pinem tribe, Selian tribe, and the tribe of Pelis plus Chaniago tribe who for then as a guest tribe who supposedly came from West Sumatra. The Priest of the Pinem tribe became their first leader.

Some time later the throne of the Kluet Kingdom was occupied by a king named Kilap Fajar in the 16th century.
Kilap Fajar was a descended from Sultan Alauddin Riayatsah Alkahar or known by the Kluet with Marhum Kahar. Sultan Alauddin Riayatsah is from Aceh / Pasai.

At that time the Kingdom of Kluet covered three districts namely: Bakongan, Kluet Selatan, and Kluet Utara. Today the Kluet tribe inhabits only four settlements: the mukim of Peace and the Makmur mukim in South Kluet, the Mukim Sejahtera and the Manggamat mukim in North Kluet.
As the people of Aceh in general are in the margins of Manggamat community forest is very high dependence on forests, the majority of them are farmers.
Since the first regulation of life and the environment laid with local indigenous wisdom was very closely related to the Islamic Shari’a as the only religion they profess.

During the sultanate of Aceh this kingdom was a vassal or subordinate to the sultan of Aceh and was led by the king who had the title of Uleebalang.
After the end of the Aceh War, in 1914, Kluet entered Onderafdeling Tapak Tuan, as “swapraja”.

Kluet Traditional House (Rungko) is located in Koto Kluet Village Central and was established on January 1, 1861 by King Menggamat Imam Hasbiyallah Muhummad Teuku Nyak Kuto

List of rulers

1. Teuku Kilat Fajar, 1539
2. Teuku Penjalo
3. Teuku Keujruen Tembun
4. Teuku Keujruen Bungkuk
5. Teuku Keujruen Abur
6. Teuku Keujruen Sagub ( Wan Serun)
7. Teuku Keujruen Ambun
8. Teuku Keujruen Naib Amansyah, samapai 1910
9. Teuku Keujrun Raja Mukmin, 1910 – 1926
10.Teuku Keujruen T.Meurah Adam, 1926 – 1942

– Source:

About the small kingdoms under the sultanate of Aceh

* List of Uleebalang, 1914: link
* List of Uleebalang, 1940: link

The western part of the kingdom of Aceh Darussalam was opened and built in the 16th century on the initiative of Sultan Saidil Mukamil (Sultan of Aceh who lived between 1588-1604), followed by Sultan Iskandar Muda (Sultan of Aceh who lived in 1607-1636) the Acehnese Rayeuk and Pidie.
The first bustling area was at Meulaboh bay (Pasi Karam) ruled by a king who was titled Teuku Keujruen Meulaboh, and Negeri Daya (District Jaya) which at the end of the 15th century had established a kingdom with its king is Sultan Salatin Alaidin Riayat Shah with the title Poteu Meureuhom Daya.
The area of West Aceh at the end of the 17th century had developed into several small kingdoms led by a Uleebalang, namely: Kluang; Lamno; Kuala Lambeusoe; Kuala Daya; Kuala Unga; Babah Awe, and many more.

The structure of government of the small kingdoms

1) Gampong, the leader was called Geucik or Keuchik. The smallest territorial area of the government structure in Aceh was the Gampong. A Gampong consisted of groups of houses adjacent to each other.
The leader of the gampong was called Geucik or Keuchik, who was assisted by a proficient in religious matters, as Teungku Meunasah.
2) Mukim, the leader was called Imum Mukim. The larger territorial area of government was the Mukim. The Mukim was a combination of several gampongs, which were located nearby.
The leader of Mukim was called Imum Mukim. He was the one who coordinated the village (gampong) heads or Keuchik-Keuchik.
3) Sago or Sagoe, the leader was called Commander Sagoe or Panglima Sagi. In the Aceh region of Rayeuk (District Aceh Besar now), was a form of government called Sagoe or Sagi. The entire region of Aceh Rayeuk was incorporated into three Sagi, which can be regarded as three federations. The three Sagoe or Sagi were named:
1. Sagi XXII Mukim, consisted of 22 mukim.
2. Siva XXV Mukim, consisted of 25 mukim
3. Sagi XXVI Mukim, consisted of 26 Mukim
The leader was called Panglima Sagoe or Panglima Sagi, from generation to generation, they also hold the title of Uleebalang.
They were appointed as Panglima Sagi by the Sultan of Aceh, who gave them a stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh known as Cap Sikureung.
4) Nangroe, the leader was called Uleebalang. Another form of royal territory found in Aceh was called Nangroe or Negeri. This Nangroe was actually a conquered area of the Kingdom of Aceh and was located outside Aceh Inti or Aceh Rayeuk.
The leadership of Nangroe was called Uleebalang, which was established by tradition for generations.
Uleebalang was the Head of State of the small kingdoms who were very powerful. However, when they assume the position of Uleebalang in their area, they had to be approved by the Sultan of Aceh. The Appointment Letter was called Sarakata and stamped with the stamp of the Kingdom of Aceh, Cap Sikureung.
5) The Sultan. The highest level in the government structure of the Kingdom of Aceh was the central government based in the royal capital, formerly known as Bandar Aceh Dar as Salam. The head of the central government was the Sultan who had the title of Tuanku.

Map of the Uleebalang (small kingdoms) in Aceh 1917

Source Kluet (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan Kluet:
– Daftar penguasa Kluet:
Tentang Suku Kluet:

Source (only indon. language)

– Uleebalang di Aceh:
– Uleebalang di kesultanan Aceh:
– Sejarah Uleebalang:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Struktur pemerintahan kesultanan Aceh:
– Tentang uleebalang:


Teuku Raja Angkasah, king of Kluet, 1945-19..

Left: king of Samalangan,right: king of Kluet.

Teuku Meurah Adam. king of Kluet 1924

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: