Kingdom of Makiwulaeng / Isl. of Sangihe – Prov. Sulawesi Utara

The kingdom of Makiwulaeng was located on the island of Sangihe, Kab. Kepulauan Sangihe, provinsi Sulawesi Utara.

Location Sangihe

Island of Sangihe









Island of Sangihe

* Foto kingdoms on the island of Sangihe: link

History of the kingdom of Makiwulaeng 

The kingdom of Makiwulaeng was the first kingdom before the kingdom of Kendahe. The first king of Makiwulaeng emerged from the sky and was named Mehegelangi. It was also believed by the Kendahe community, that this King was called Egaliwutang, son of Sultan Ahmad of Mindanao, the Philippines. Egaliwutang married a woman named Timbangsehiwu granddaughter of king Tatehewoba from the kingdom of Tahuna. From this marriage of Egaliwutang with Timbangsehiwu was born a child named Wuisang.
King Wuisang often sailed to Lajangas and Davao to visit his family there. Once he was too long in the Philippines, and cheated on his wife Uwo ļawewe with Pamundaļeng son of Jogugu Mangapeng from Hiung Siau. Because he was hurt, king Wuisang went to Minahasa and never came back. The position of king Wuisang was replaced by his son named Syam Shah Nature. People in Makiwulaeng often refer to it as “Samangsialang”.

During the reign of king Samangsialang, Makiwulaeng kingdom reached its glory. King Samangsialang established a magnificent palace in Tanjung Maselihe. Its territory covered all areas of Kendahe to Lipaeng Island.
Tanjung Maselihe where the founding of the Makiwulaeng kingdom is drowned, all that remains is a small land which is now the island of Lipaeng.

– Source:

History of the kingdoms on the island of Sangihe

Google translation

Since the 15th century in P. Sangihe emerged local / traditional government. The first time, evidenced by the records of Magellan clerk in 1421, Antonio Pigaffeta. At Sangihe, Pigafetta noted there were four kings. Two in Siau and one in Tagulandang. But the source of history three centuries later, the results of the writings of F. Valentijn, who came to Sangihe early 18th century, mentioned initially only two kingdoms in Sangihe, namely Tabukan and Kalongan. According to him, later about the year 1670 appeared nine kingdoms in Sangihe, namely:
* Kerajaan Kendahe,
* Kerajaan Taruna,
* Kerajaan Kolongan,
* Kerajaan Manganitu (Kauhis),
* Kerajaan Limau,
* Kerajaan Tabukan,
* Kerajaan Sawang (Saban) dan
* Kerajaan Tamako.

However, the last kingdom (Tamako) became part of Siau. Meanwhile, the king of Limau crushed troops dispatch Padtbrugge. This kingdom was destroyed. And, Sawang joined the kingdom of Taruna and the kingdom of Kolongan. And Kauhis joined Manganitu.
In 1898 the kingdom of Kendahe and the kingdom of Taruna merged into one. It was in these two regions that in 1919king Soleman Ponto ruled with its center in the present city of Tahuna. In the 1900’s the remaining four kingdoms were: Tabukan, Manganitu, Siau and Kendahe-Taruna.

Source Makiwulaeng (only indon. language)

– Sejarah kerajaan Makiwulaeng:

Source kingdoms on Sangihe (only indon. language)

Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
Sejarah kerajaan di Sangihe:
– Raja raja Sangihe Talaud:×600-normal-0-false-false-false-en.html
– Sejarah kerajaan-kerajaan di Sulawesi Utara:

Old maps of the islands of Sangihe, Talaud dan Tagulandang

Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1700.


Islands Sangir (Sangir) and Talaud, 1724


Islands Sangihe (Sangir), Talaud and Tagulandang, 1894